We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Ranked #21 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a very good budget hotel , clean and and tidy. Not huge rooms but a decent size.

Good amenities and the the staff were very friendly and helpful. YOu choose to include breakfast in your stay with and additional cost or you can decide on the day to have breakfast. The breakfast is pretty basic and they offer two prices. One (more expensive) for the cooked breakfast and another for continenetal and fruit. It was good to have the choice as the Premier Inn in Manchester does not.

The hotel is in a great location, we came to Manchester to see Goldfrapp at the Albert Hall and the hotel is a 2 minute walk from this venue. And the hotel is right in the center of town to close to shops and most of the main attractions. We hired a car so drove to Salford Quays but could easily take a bus or tram as they seemed pretty regular.

As we were staying in July during the heatwave it was nice to have air conditioning. The Premier inn also offers half an hour of free wifi (would be nice if it was longer or unlimited)

All up a good stay. I would definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralpi, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We're so glad your stay with us here at Manchester Central.

As you say the Hotel is ideally located in the centre of town. Ideal for all shops, bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. The tram runs in front of the Hotel and we have a stop opposite at St Peters Square.

The Hotel has an internal Table Table restaurant which is open from breakfast till late, serving food all day. Or for something lighter we also have a Costa Coffee shop.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. In order to get the best possible rates try and book as early as you can.

Kind regards

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over a weekend. 8 of us and from check in to check out an excellent stay. Rooms wonderful and all together. The Receptionist on check in, Sonia, was extremely friendly and interested in what we were up to - remembered us on check out to ask how we had enjoyed our stay and activities. Great being able to leave bags in secure room if you arrive early or need to leave them prior to departure. Hotel is very near Oxford Road station and an easy walk to the main shops etc. Far enough out however to be quiet at night.
Only issue was breakfast on the 2nd day - no hot food and had to queue for some time to await refill. Having said that it was an extremely busy time and the staff were obviously under some pressure. Will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: The trams run in front of the hotel so if you feel would disturb you request a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Threepiers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralpi, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your recent response following your stay. I hope you and your 7 friends had a lovely time in the City.

My team and I work hard to ensure that every guest has the possible stay so its always nice to hear some feedback.

As you say we are able to store guests bags while they enjoy their last few hours. We don't charge for this service but are currently asking for a donation towards GOSH (Great Ormond Street Hospital) as Premier Inn are fund raising to raise £7.5 million to build a new wing.

I'm sorry you had delays at breakfast but as you can imagine the hotel was full so unfortunately we do occassionaly have small delays.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is opposite the Central Convention Complex which was the former Manchester Central Railway Station that closed in 1969.

It is in a very good location with a tram stop very nearby and a few minutes walk to Manchester Oxford Road station. It is not that far to walk to Manchester Victoria or Piccadily stations.

The hotel was very welcoming, the staff more that helpful and the breakfast great. The bedroom was comfortable and very minimal noise from the trams and traffic nearby. An ideal hotel to spend time in Manchester.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotswhahae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralpi, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us here at the Manchester Central Premier Inn.

As you say the hotel is ideally located in the centre of town, with St Peters tram stop across the road. We are close to all amenties such as restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and visitor attractions.

We apreciate your comments as the team work hard to make everyone feel as welcome as possible.

Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for Ashes cricket @ Old Trafford. Excellent hotel, right beside tram stop out to cricket ground. ALL hotel staff friendly, welcoming and actually know how to smile! Room facilities good, very comfortable bed, good shower. Very adequate breakfast, also dinner in restaurant good value. Comfortable bar. Hotel well situated for visiting this vibrant city centre. Could not fault this Premier. Well done staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralpi, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your recent review. I hope you enjoyed the Ashes.

As you say the Hotel is in a fantastic location, right in the city centre. Ideal for bars, clubs, restaurants, shopping, visotr attractions and yes the cricket ground.

The team work hard at ensuring that each and every guest has the best possible stay so its always nice when this is recognised.

Hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night after flying to Manchester airport and before moving on to start a touring holiday. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and noise was minimal considering its location, just to the south of the city centre (about a ten minute brisk walk to the cathedral).

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and looked after some left luggage after we had checked out, without any difficulty or extra charges.

We didn´t have breakfast here but found the bar area to be very pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralpi, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. My team and I work hard at trying to ensure that every guest has the best possible stay.

As you say we are very located, next to Bridgewater and St Peters Square. Ideal for shopping, bars, restaurants and visitor attractions.

We hope you enjoyed your touring holiday and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Once again we had a very good Premier Inn. The staff are great, very welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately we booked to stay here for a wedding whilst the Ashes were at Old Trafford....so the price shot up to £278 each when booking Friday and Saturday. Saying that the hotel was great and the location is ideal when attending a city wedding.

I would say normally the beds are a bit more firm, which is easier for me, however it is liveable for two nights.

There is not a shower in the disabled room which I do prefer but the bath was easy to get into, with many wall bars. Will use again if in Manchester city again.

Room Tip: There is a thermostat in each room, so you increase/decrease the heat as you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralpi, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for writing your recent review, we hope you had a lovely time at the wedding you were attending.

As you say the Hotel is very centrally located and ideal for all shops, restaurants, bars and visitor attractions. Our rate does fluctuate with occupancy so in order to receive the best possible rate try and book as far in advance as possible.

We have just taken delivery of 86 new beds so hopefully next time you stay you'll get to enjoy one of those. Our mattresses are turned regulary to ensure the best possible nights sleep.

Our disabled rooms don't have a shower but do have baths which are lower than the normal. Alternatively we do have a limited number of rooms that solely have showers. Simply call reception to request which room would suit you. This would depend on availability at time of booking.

We look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked rather late, so couldn't take advantage of any offers. However, the price was still comparable to other central Manchester hotel rooms.

I was allocated a disabled room, due to the shortage of rooms. What this means is you get a large room, containing a double and single bed, pull cords for lights and separate red pull cords to call for assistance.
The bathroom was large, but as it was designed for disabled people, the toilet and wash basin were low. Also the wash basin was small for those of us who wet shave. The shower was over the bath and the shower curtain, unlike those in some of the rooms in other hotels I've stayed in, didn't smell at all.
The bed was very comfortable. A selection of pillows were available.

The air conditioning was effective in cooling down an initially rather hot and stuffy room.

On the first morning, a nice touch was that I was shown around the self-service breakfast area by the person checking names for those who had ordered breakfast. She also asked if I wanted porridge/omelette/poached egg as these are prepared as required.
As regards breakfast, a good selection of hot and continental items, fruit juice etc were available. Plates for the hot items were in a warmer but they were cold, and the hot items were luke warm at best. Used crockery only seemed to be cleared when you vacated your table, rather than when you had finished with them.

The hotel had good conference/meeting facilities though the coffee machine was out of coffee and milk on the first day - this was rectified by the second day.

You need your room pass to get into the corridor where your room is, aswell as the room itself - so it is very secure.

The hotel offers a 15% discount off the 2 Watson street car parks, and the Manchester Central car park, which is under what was previously called G-Mex. The G-Mex car park is the closest one, on Lower Mosley Street itself, though this is not highlighted on the Premier Inn website.

All the staff very friendly.

If I needed a hotel in Manchester then I would certainly return to a Premier Inn, particularly if I could book a room at the bargain prices which are sometimes available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wratty_Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralpi, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. My team and I work hard at trying to ensure that each and every guest has the best possible stay.

On occassion, last minute bookers find that we only have adapted rooms available. These are actually slightly larger in size though do differ as you say by having a lower bed and safety alarms fited.

We do have a meeting room venue on site with 5 meeting rooms available to hire. They have their own reception along with a busines lounge where a self service Costa machine is available to all delegates.

As you mentioned we have a deal with with the NCP car park across the road which is situated under the Central Convention Complex. Simply bring your car park ticket into reception to receive a discount which will be applied when you go to pay.

Thank you again and we look forward to meeting you soon.

Kind regards

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel

Address: 7-11 Lower Mosley Street | Bishopsgate, Manchester M2 3DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#14 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $64 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre, opposite Manchester Central Convention Complex (formerly Gmex) and within walking distance of Bridgewater Hall, Town Hall, Oxford St, Deansgate and city centre shops bars and restaurants. Our Manchester Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect and also boasts a Costa coffee shop, Touchbase business centre with free to use business lounge,free use of the Fitness First Health Club within the hotel and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Gmex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing