We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sharing platters with friends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucha Libre - CLOSED

Lucha Libre
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sharing platters with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a drink in the oh so trendy and loud bar - nice cocktails although I didn't feel the need for the jam jar... Then we went upstairs to dine. As a large group of us went we had ordered platters of food beforehand. These arrived promptly when we said we were ready to eat and there was plenty of food and a good selection. The food itself was okay, the best being the BBQ chicken wings, some of the meat was a little dry but the different combinations of bitesize bits were good to try a bit of everything and made the meal more sociable. The music was too loud so was hard to catch up with friends but friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetripsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    61
    40
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have been here twice now and the whole experience is most enjoyable. Friendly staff that explain what you are about to eat and tasty cocktails to wash it down with. Well worth a trip!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice meal, Good service, Great drinks, what more could you want?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Having tried to get into Almost Famous for food on Saturday night (we were told there was a 2 hour wait), we made the decision to go to Lucha Libre.

When we walked in we were told that there would be a 40 min wait but as the bar looked very welcoming in we went.

We ordered cocktails which come served in Jam Jars with straws, not my cup of tea, use a glass and stop trying to be too cool for school! Anyway we were just starting our drink when our table was ready.

We ordered the nachos with pulled pork and BBQ wings to share as a started then 4 burgers.

The BBQ wings were good but not very spicy at all the nachos on the other hand…WOW…..

I don’t mind hot food, but if your not a fan AVOID!!

The burgers were good, but again one of our party said it was too spicy for her, I could not comment as after the nachos I could have eaten the Sun without feeling it!

Bill for 4 with 3 rounds of cocktails was £110.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Had a good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We popped into this restaurant by accident, as we were originally planning to go elsewhere but could get in there. We were pleasantly surprised too. The food was great, and we had great help fro, the waiter in helping us choose from the menu. If I had one criticism, it would be that the food took longer than expected to arrive. Other than that, I’d go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Buritto was soggy and unpleasant.
Overpriced soda drink was 75% ice.
Ice cream sundae dessert promised a mixture of different desserts in one, was pathetic - few tiny pieces of Brownie and a sad looking miniscule half donut, I predict about 25p worth of dessert, cost £6.50.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dtmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucha Libre also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing