We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I normally stay at the Premier Inn in Christie Fields when in Manchester, but it was fully booked so I opted for the Premier Inn Deansgate, The double room I was given was just what you would expect, however when I opened the bathroom door the smell was disgusting, I should have went down to complain but had just driven 350 miles and could not be bothered having just unpacked . I am afraid it did not get any better the room overlooked the Dual Carriageway which had heavy traffic throughout the night which kept me awake most of the night
When I went down for breakfast one of the coffee machines was broken so there was a queue to get coffee, I decided to start my breakfast and wait until the queue dispersed, as soon as saw a gap I nipped up to get my coffee and when I returned Bingo ! the waitress had cleared my table.
I am afraid it was not an enjoyable stay and would not stay here again, I would state however the Staff were very friendly

Room Tip: Don't Bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danermag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    622
    170
    58
    37
See reviews for
382
655
67
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is an OK premier in but there are better in Manchester.
If you get a room that is on the side of the road or on the ground floor near the foot path you may not get a good nights sleep. The better rooms face the car park.
It is good that this hotel has on site parking but it does get full and there are always lots of vans there due to workmen that stay there because of the parking.
I have had a meal once at the hotel but it was not great (a bit of plastic in a salad).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel was very accommodating in all areas, not too far away from the stadium and not too close. The staff at premier inn are always very pleasant and helpful which was the same with this one at Deansgate, breakfast was superb as always and was nice and hot and plenty of it!!! Look forward to next stay at Premier inn which will be in Leeds, Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Rooms are all fine, nice quiet area even after football match at old Trafford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Overnight stay and first ever stay at a Premier Inn. Lots of car parking, very useful in a city centre. Quick, efficient and friendly check in. More than adequate room, large double bed, bathroom a bit small. Kettle was not working in the room, but this was quickly sorted out. Our room faced the car park and so the major road into the city centre where the traffic noise is endless. It is double glazed but we could still hear the traffic. I don't think there is much more they could do about that. We ate in the restuarant in the evening and for breakfast and the food was really good, hot and presented well. The staff again very efficient and courteous. Hotel was in an excellent location for our visit to the Bridgewater Hospital but also very close to the city centre itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULES1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on a Wednesday night when we came to manchester to see a gig. The service was exceptional from the minute we arrived and we got free parking. The room was pristine. On arriving back to the hotel at about 11:30, the staff provided us with takeaway menus for us to order some food as their area was closed by this time. They then rang the room when our takeaway arrived and were very accommodating.
The breakfast in the morning was absolutely amazing with many choices to pick from. Excellent stay would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kik962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

As a family we travelled down to watch the football at old Trafford on the Saturday 2nd March.
The hotel has more than enough parking spaces outside and it's well floodlit.
The Deansgate/ castlefield tram stop is a short walk from hotel with a metro link bus stop just outside for inner city travel, the public transport in Manchester is well thought out.

The staff on reception were very friendly and were helpful with the questions we had as we were planning on walking into china town for a meal at night.

Room was a family room and had a queen bed and single bed in a large room. The room was clean and tidy as you would expect from premier inn.

We paid for the all you can eat buffet for breakfast which had everything you could possibly want or need in a breakfast.

All in all it was another peaceful stay at premier which was stress free and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manaboutown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Couldnt believe the standard and facilities in this hotel will certainly be returning every year! The value itself was unbelievable! It wasnt as close to city centre as hoped but we cant have everything! There were no unpleasant noises or rowdy guests and the bar/resturant area was well designes and laid out.. overall a very good stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
Address: Medlock Street, Manchester M15 5FJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#16 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated close to Old Trafford and just a short walk to main attractions and transport. Ideally positioned next to the free 7 day city centre shuttle bus service. Our Manchester (Deansgate Locks) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel Manchester
Premier Travel Inn Manchester
Manchester Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing