We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but need to improve in some areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
Ranked #35 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We spent one night here as visiting the comedy store. Good location and free parking. Staff friendly and helpful. Room spaciouis. But ...
It has been unseasonably warm this weekend but the temperature in our room all night was 29 degrees. Staff provided a fan which was welcome but didn't really make a great deal of difference. We had window open but our room was over front door and where people congregate to smoke which mean smoke drifted up to our room.
Cleanliness of room - generally OK but I had to remove a load of hair left by earlier occupants from the bath plug ( yuk!) and the overflow in the bathroom sink was full of black mould.
The fire alarm went off whilst we were having breakfast probably about 8.15. This was a shambles. No one seemed to know what they were doing. Eventually one of the dining room staff said it was for real and we followed her out of the building. Lots of guest were hanging around the front entrance when we noticed the dining room staff were at the back of the carpark which we therefore assumed was the fire assembly point. Other guests were looking out of windows to find out what was happening. There was a man with a high vis jacket and with a megaphone but we never heard him use it.
Eventually we were let back , probably after 15 mins - we went back to our room using the stairs and people were still wandering around upstairs asking if it was for real or a false al;arm.
My husband and I both have experience of being responsible for fire evacuation plans in our places of work and this did not impress in fact it was unbelievably poor. We raised this with a woman at reception who was very defensive and claimed she'd told people to leave the dining room which certainly wasn't seen by us.I would suggest there is a staff training need here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross_j187069, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Thank you for your feedback.

We are really sorry we failed to meet your expectations this time during your stay. At Premier Inn Manchester Deansgate Locks, we always strive to deliver 100% guest satisfaction all the time.

We are very dissapointed that the bathroom cleanliness levels during your stay were not delivered, and that the room temperature was uncomfortable.
We also offer 100% good night guarantee on having a good night sleep. Please feel free to contact me the next time you are staying with us.

Once again we offer our sincere apologies that your visit was not what you expected it to be.

Kind Regards
Ross Johnston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,790)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,647 - 1,653 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel is a good 20/25 minute walk from the city centre and not the easiest to find, ended up walking back to the train station and getting a black cab but the driver took me to the wrong hotel, very worrying that even the taxi driver didn't know where it was. Room was not particularly clean, dusty desk and very obviousbly dirty bathroom. Quite a small room, felt a bit cramped particularly given that I'd booked a family room inc double bed and ended up with a twin, I don't sleep in a single bed at home and so didn't want to sleep in a single bed. Restaurant service good but a little slow.

Nightime receptionist lovely, room was like a sauna and they offered another fan and ice, also when from 2am to 5.30am there was what appeared to be a herd of elephants in the room above, he very quickly got them to be quiet.

I did get a refund but only because I pushed for it as a matter of principle and feeling let down that the hotel was not what I was expecting in distance and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahjayne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross_j187069, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for your feedback.

We are really sorry we failed to meet your expectations this time during your stay. At Premier Inn Manchester Deansgate Locks, we always strive to deliver 100% guest satisfaction all the time.

We are very dissapointed that your room was not the room type you had booked, and the service/cleanliness levels during your stay were not delivered.We also offer 100% good night guarantee on having a good night sleep. Please feel free to contact me the next time you are staying with us.

Once again we offer our sincere apologies that your visit was not what you expected it to be.

Kind Regards
Ross Johnston.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised by how friendly all the staff were to us (even the cleaners). Everyone was very helpful and they couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were large and comfortable and inwill defo stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeltinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross_j187069, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank- you for you kind comments, Here a Premier Inn Manchester Deansgate feedback is so important to us in order to move our business forward. We sincerely appreciate the positive feedback which is forwarded on to all team members who strive to deliver a world class and guest obsessed service culture.
We hope to see you soon again on your return, and always feel free to contact me during your next stay.

Ross Johnston.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Great place to stay
Rooms large and whilst small the bar is well stocked

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshire_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross_j187069, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are absolutely delighted you had a fantastic time during you stay with us at the Premier Inn Manchester Deansgate Locks.We always endevour to deliver a world class product with fantastic value for money and a guest obsessed service culture.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn, and please feel free to contact me during your next visit.

Yours Sincerely.

Ross Johnston
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

From our first moments in the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. As someone new to Manchester she was patient in explaining directions and offering helpful advice. The room was very comfortable. Meals were excellent and very good value for money. I would definitely return to a Premier Inn hotel and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross_j187069, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are absolutely delighted you had a fantastic time during you stay with us at the Premier Inn Manchester Deansgate Locks.We always endevour to deliver a world class product with fantastic value for money and a guest obsessed service culture.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn, and please feel free to contact me during your next visit.

Yours Sincerely.

Ross Johnston
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Travelled from London to Manchester for an overnight stay with my wife. Was looking for a functional & good value hotel close to University area with parking that would have a good size bed. Hotel fulfilled every need except the bed was too bouncy for a couple (fine for one person) - so didn't sleep well. Didn't eat there. Mostly similar to the ads on TV but less glamourous (Deansgate doesn't do it for me).

Room Tip: Get quieter side - non motorway
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dominic1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross_j187069, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for your feedback.

We are really sorry we failed to meet your expectations this time during your stay. At Premier Inn Manchester Deansgate Locks, we always strive to deliver 100% guest satisfaction all the time.

We offer a 24 hour reception service where all amenities are avaliable, and also 100% good night guarantee on having a good night sleep. Please feel free to contact me the next time you are staying with us.

Once again we offer our sincere apologies that your visit was not what you expected it to be.

Kind Regards
Ross Johnston.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This particular Premier Inn was not as good in the upkeep and the service as London branches. The third bed was not made up when we checked in. They had to be reminded. No veggie sausages at breakfast. The value rooms are always located at the other end of the entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank umapednekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross_j187069, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for your feedback.

We are really sorry we failed to meet your expectations this time during your stay. At Premier Inn Manchester Deansgate Locks, we always strive to deliver 100% guest satisfaction all the time.

We are very dissapointed that your room was not ready on arrival, and the sercice levels during breakfast were not delivered.We also offer 100% good night guarantee on having a good night sleep. Please feel free to contact me the next time you are staying with us.

Once again we offer our sincere apologies that your visit was not what you expected it to be.

Kind Regards
Ross Johnston.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,852 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.5 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#47 of 120 in Manchester
1,684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel

Address: Medlock Street, Manchester M15 5FJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#16 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $64 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated close to Old Trafford and just a short walk to main attractions and transport. Ideally positioned next to the free 7 day city centre shuttle bus service. Our Manchester (Deansgate Locks) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel Manchester
Premier Travel Inn Manchester
Manchester Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing