We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and atmosphere”
Review of Tea 42 Restaurants - CLOSED

Tea 42 Restaurants
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: European, French, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Described by Manchester Evening News as 'one to watch for 2014'. Situated on the bustling High Street, 42 Restaurant & Bar at Tea 42 is a quirky spot providing a unique casual fine dining environment in the evening with food prepared by the Michelin Star trained Head Chef and his team. During the day the restaurant pays homage to the beloved British tradition of tea-drinking and Afternoon Tea as well as lunch prepared by the same fine dining chefs. The restaurant offers an excellent wine list and a full bar. Guests can enjoy a gluten-free version of every single menu item.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Really enjoyed lunch at Tea 42 today. Had the Caesar salad and a coffee while meeting up with some business associates from London. Great atmosphere, the service was good and it was convenient for those coming from Picadilly Station.

Plus the cakes looked amazing! Would definitely try again or recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea42Manager, Owner at Tea 42 Restaurants, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear A S,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Tea 42 and for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards The Team at Tea 42
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    114
    59
    52
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Inspiring.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I visited this establishment earlier today for a working business brunch and was quite literally bowled over! (Pardon the pun).
As well as a tasty menu and staff who quite simply could not do enough, the ambience was as uplifting as it was inspiring. Having selected coffee, and fabulous cakes, our colleagues then sampled some seriously fabulous soup and salads before re-booking a repeat visit next week.
Nice work!
Louise

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisepppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea42Manager, Owner at Tea 42 Restaurants, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Louisepppp,

Thank you for dining at Tea 42 and for your lovely review. We are all very pleased to read how much you enjoyed Tea 42, thank you.
We really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards The Team at Tea 42
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cafe”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am a coeliac and given up on real food when I eat out but was told about this cafe and was not disappointed it was excellent food and service. I will be back next week.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaffneycarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea42Manager, Owner at Tea 42 Restaurants, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Gaffneycarmel,

Thank you for visiting Tea 42 and for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed Tea 42 and its also great to read that as a coeliac you enjoyed being able to have the choice that is often not available.

We very much look forward to seeing again when you next visit Tea 42.

Kind regards The Team at Tea 42
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Already recommended to many of our friends”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

It was busy when we went but we were met warmly by a very friendly waiter and given the menus. As a coeliac I usually struggle and worry about eating out but I was in gluten free heaven. We only wanted coffee but after browsing the menu (all of which was gluten free) we decided to try the cakes. A lovely waitress showed us the great display and I was so spoiled for choice, I chose 3 different ones...chocolate, carrot and red velvet. They were wonderful (and my husband is a baker). The coffee was real coffee instead of instant and was offered with normal milks as well as lactofree, soya or almond. The place was very clean and friendly. Definately going to return to try the lunch menu and we have already recommended it to the 'coeliac uk society'. Well worth a visit!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaznian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea42Manager, Owner at Tea 42 Restaurants, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Kaznian,

Thank you for choosing to visit Tea 42 and for writing your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed Tea 42 and what we have to offer. Its very kind of you to recommend us to your friends and the coeliac UK society, thank you.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your friends back very soon.

Kind regards The Team at Tea 42
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gluten Free Food and the City”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

GFF (Girl-Friend Forever/Gluten Free Food) and the City

On a dismal weeknight, two girlfriends walk through the dark streets exchanging stories about their latest trials and tribulations of life in the city. When they come across a flood of warm light, cascading onto the street in front of them. They turn to see where the light is coming from and find themselves staring at the most exquisite piece of art in the form of a cake! The 3 tire masterpiece displayed so simply but yet so beautifully, with the light that had caught their eye glowing and illuminating the room behind it.

So struck by the cake they immediately enter the establishment. They enter the most striking room of impeccable white decor, aromatic lighting, soft music and warmth emanating from every corner of the room. They are greeted by agree an immaculately dressed man, with the most amazingly friendly smile and are invited in and show to seats in seconds. Still in awe of the room, the two girls take in the atmosphere with its perfectly polished attention to detail.
Moments later another man appears with menus and ready to take their order. Full of excitement the girlfriends being to discuss what to order. The first order of business on night after a long trying day is of course cocktails! So they order what else, a cosmopolitan and mojito. Then resume to scan the menu of the most delicious assortment of food, drink and most importantly of course cake!

All thoughts of negativity vanish and talk turns to reminiscing about holidays, random nights out and laughter so hard their sides hurt. The food and drinks arrive and the most orgasmic assault on the senses begins. The food is out of this world! When the first man appears and asks the girls how their getting on and beings to explain how everything on the menu is gluten free! Jackpot!!! One of the girlfriends had been for years suffering from this and felt banished to the barren lands of food blandness. Finally she could eat the most exquisite food and not be in pain! So excited she orders cake and with the first bite is transported to food heaven!!! With the amazing combination of flavours from skittles to strawberries with every bite.

So after all the hells of heartbreaks, horrible bosses, drama from friends and family and everything else that goes with life in the city, the girls find a place so perfect it felt like their safe haven. So where is this place? Something from the scenes of Carrie Bradshaw’s life in New York? The world of Bridget Jones in London? No, this place is in the very real world of Manchester and can be found hidden away on High Street. So what’s it called? Tea42 of course!

Dedicated to the staff and geniuses behind Tea42. We are in love with this place and will most defiantly be coming back soon!!!

Love

Miss Cosmopolitan and Miss Passion- Fruit Mojito
aka
The Girlfriends from Manchester

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nafeesa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea42Manager, Owner at Tea 42 Restaurants, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Miss Cosmopolitan and Miss Passion- Fruit Mojito,

Thank you for taking the time to review Tea 42. All of us at Tea 42 are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience and that you love what we have created as much as we do!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards The Tea 42 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea 42 Restaurants also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing