We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great John Street Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pad Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,402 results
Traveler rating
1,048
202
67
48
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,048
202
67
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracehot tubafternoon teagrand roommezzanine flooroyster barroll top bathbathroom upstairslate availabilitysplit levelcoronation street setboutique hotelwedding venuegranada studiosbeautiful hotelsmall hotelmain bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,248 - 1,253 of 1,402 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of February. It had been recommended to me by a friend but when I looked at rates for the Saturday night it was very expensive, they had 50% off on the Friday though so we went for that instead. We paid 125 for room only but I checked again just before we went and it had gone down to 110 so it's definately worth checking for deals. The room was gorgeous. We stayed in one of the Baby Grand rooms. There was a living room area downstairs then stairs up to the bedroom which overlooked the living room and the bathroom was joined to the bedroom. The decor was lovely and there was loads of space. The highlight for us was the hot tub on the roof which you are free to use at any time. Bathrobes are provided in your room and we used it twice and were the only guests up there. We didn't visit the oyster bar or have breakfast at the hotel but it looked very nice. We would definately visit again, it was a lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Great John Street is a real find. A small boutique hotel where they treat you superbly. The rooms are all beautifully styled - worth a stay just to get ideas for decorating your own place. It's out of the way a little, but once you're there you'll be happy to stay in.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoulOnFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I stayed here with my wife (then fiancée) after her work ball. The reception is small to say the least are guests were stumbling over each other (+luggage) a little while waiting to be checked in. We were lucky and received a free upgrade to a Boudoir Grand room. Still I felt that £165 for a room was a little steep outside of London.

The room itself was lovely: very comfortable bed. Fantastic duplex aspect. View from the window was of Great John Street which is not the most inspiring place.

Bathroom was very nice with roll top bath on the mezzanine and separate shower room. Toiletries were of poor quality given the hotel - smelt of washing up liquid.

The cd player was a bit cheap with a 'tinny' sound.

Next day breakfast (incl in the price) was hearty. Checkout was swift.

Overall:
A nice hotel with great and unique rooms. Bit pricey but worth it for a splurge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr_rushLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We got married in December and hired Great John Street Hotel for our wedding reception. What amazing memories we have of the place. The rooms were beautiful and everyone loved the eclectic style running throughout the hotel (we stayed in room 30 with the huge carved French-style white bed and double freestanding roll top baths on the upstairs mezzanine - perfect for the bridal suite!). The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and everyone went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our day was perfect. The venue is an absolute gem, hidden away in Castlefield. Our family and friends are still talking about how wonderful it was even now! Can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sweetsandsweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This hotel is beautifully designed, comfortable and luxurious without being pretentiously posh. The things that stuck out for me: really comfy beds (actually comfier than home which is rare as we have a fab bed), bags already in the room when we checked in (we'd left our luggage in the hotel while we shopped), free DVD hire (current titles), 'real' i.e. pasturised milk for the tea and coffee making facilities, a teapot and mugs (rather than thimbles) and more than one teabag per person, lovely thick carpets. We did stay on an exceptionally cold night (-17) and the room was a little chilly but I think this was circumstance rather than the norm. There was only one minor niggle with the room which was that the iron and board we borrowed from reception were a bit crap and therefore not easy to use. We found the staff to be really helpful and the roof terrace was a nice touch (with plenty glasses available for you to use without having to ask). It felt like they were trying to create a feeling of you being at a home from home, with public spaces open all day so you could use them whenever you wanted.

The only thing that gave the stay a rather surreal edge was that we arrived back at the hotel at 1am and thought we'd have a drink on the roof before going to bed. It was a bit of a shock to find two guests having sex in the hot tub and sufficiently inebriated not to care that four people had just walked in on them. The staff dealt with this promptly (there is a HUGE CCTV camera just above the hot tub!). Needless to say, we weren't tempted to use the hot tub after that! It wouldn't put me off staying there again but I was thankful that it wasn't my mother who walked in on them!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlashJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews