We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Opulence & Impeccable Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great John Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly Opulence & Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

I booked the Great John Street Hotel as a surprise birthday present for my partner as I wanted us to have a special night that she would really enjoy.

From the moment that I booked the room the customer service was beyond compare. I booked the gluttony package (champagne, rose petals, chocolates, etc) and was not disappointed. I then made some extra requests, such as leaving some presents to be placed in the room for when we checked in, and the staff were more than happy to help out - a huge thank you on this goes to Julie Sales - remarkable service!

When we arrived at the hotel we were delighted to receive a complimentary upgrade and when we got to the room we were absolutely awe struck. I even went around taking photos to show people (before we ruined the exemplary presentation). The presents were on the bed with the rose petals, the champagne and truffles were waiting in the lounge area with a card wishing Jayne a happy birthday from the staff, the lighting was spot on and the room was finished with lavish furnishings, a fantastic, huge bed, and the mezzanine floor was phenomenal with twin roll top baths, his and her sinks with toiletries, and a walk in show / steam room.

When we managed to drag ourselves away from the room we found the hotel to be within easy walking distance of Deansgate, and when we returned to the hotel we ventured up to the roof top "playground" complete with hot tub. The views were spectacular and we found ourselves coming back to the hot tub again after dinner- you can't beat having the whole terrace to yourself with a star lit night and impressive skyline, whilst relaxing in the hot tub!

After a wonderful night’s sleep (the hotel is extremely quiet at night), we awoke early to make the most of our stay. Breakfast was delivered with the outstanding customer service which abounded during our stay and the food was very well prepared.

When we came to check out we felt like we were leaving something that we loved behind and for once we did not get that "it's nice to be home" feeling when we got back.

Thank you for making my girlfriend’s birthday amazing, we will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TVRCerbera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    174
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
164
592
25
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

We had a private bar in the Roof Top Lounge for clients and colleagues to relax following a Product Launch at the near by Museum of Science and Industry. Our bar staff were Lucas and Tom who looked after us during our stay; They were extremely courteous, helpful and attentive with all of those who attended, showing an interest in what they were doing. A great night was had by everyone of which we are very greatful to Lucas and Tom for. Thank you. I would definately recommend this location again and although I am sure you have other great staff, I would request both Lucas and Tom to look after us again. The ambiance of the hotel is great and the Roof Top Lounge including the Playground with Patio heaters etc created a fantastic environment for everyone to relax even on a chilly November 5th evening. I would also like to thank Ruth Pollitt for her assistance with the organisation of the evening.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

came across this hotel on google under boutique hotel.
waited a few days and then got a discount on the rate,finding the hotel was easy and parking was available just around the corner,but the receptionist did offer the valet parking for 25.00 pounds which was great but we wanted to shop and we would have had to collect the car when we checked out.
the room was fantastic very romantic and immaculate a huge bath on the first floor bedroom and a a double sink and steam shower on the ground floor.
double sets of spa toiletries and two flat screen tvs.the bed was the most comfortable one i have slept in in any hotel.
there was no noise whatsoever from the street and it was in an ideal location.
we opted for breakfast the following morning and it did not dissapoint,very homely and intimate but comfortable too!
this is a beautifull hotel tht has a lot to offer.....stay and you will return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerbell047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

What a beautifully and tastefully decorate hotel! The owners truely have done a great job!!

The hotel is ideally located and although we were near enough to everything it was so quiet and peaceful.

The room we had was on two floors - the bedroom downstairs and the bathroom upstairs on a mezzanine level with bath and separate shower.

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the bedroom - the cleaner did an amazing job and I was very impressed with the attention to detail in the bedroom.

The service at breakfast was a bit hit and miss but the waiting staff were generally very friendly, polite and attentive.

The reception staff were great - they really know how to look after the guests and they make conversation so easy.

If and when we return to Manchester we would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keeley_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthDevon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

Great John Street Hotel was a recommendation from my nephew and what a find!
From the moment we walked in we all knew this was going to be just perfect.
The rooms are fabulous, try and get one with adjoining bath tubs very romantic!!

If you are a Coronation St fan then the location of hotel is fantastic, being right outside entrance to Granada Studios and from roof top Gardens and hot tub you can view into the "Street".

Staff are lovely and friendly, Cocktails sat in the big squashy sofa's in the lounge and although the Gym is small the equipment is modern and great for work out.

Breakfast is served till quite late, a nice touch if you want to have a little longer in your room, and who wouldn't when they are as nice as these!

Location is very quiet considering a two minute walk you are into hustle and bustle of city centre, Valet car parking is another nice touch, although to be asked for extra payment was a surprise and expensive! why don't they just "hide" it in the tariff?

I took opportunity to view my other recommendation the "Lowery" and while it as everything expected from a modern 21st century hotel, for me it had no "Soul" something that Great John St Hotel has in abundance.

Thanks Craig your Uncle Steve owes you one! great shout for superb Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

My husband and I have stayed in many hotels both here and abroad but have seldom found one better than this. The decor in both the public rooms and bedrooms is a wonderfully eclectic mix which really works to give an atmosphere of comfort and luxury. The food is excellent and the service second to none without being overly formal - all this within a short stroll of the centre of Manchester and literally round the corner from the Opera House. We stayed for my husband's birthday and will certainly be returning at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank over50Lincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH YORKSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Superb stay at a Hotel that does not feel like a Hotel at all but totally like a home from home. Untouchable quality of service and accomodation, Fantastic atmosphere, we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BELTON7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing