We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a special occasion although it is pricey....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Birkenshaw
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for a special occasion although it is pricey....”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here for a cheeky overnight date night and really enjoyed our stay. Location is good with easy walking distance to bars, shops and restaurants. Although a pricey place we did manage to get a deal on a late room which made it a little more reasonable. Room was good size with the bathroom upstairs and very nicely decorated. Bar staff also made great cocktails. Would recommend if you are looking for somewhere a little special but you do pay for it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paulstevo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    178
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
173
597
25
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Great John Street on the 9th August 2014 - the hotel is nice but I have to say for the money we have stayed in much better. We stayed in the Boudoir Grand, room sixteen, the romm was how I would describe as 'OK' a few stains on the carpet stairs, no milk in the fridge for tea and coffee, air conditioning was et so you were unable to manually change it. The room was so hot in the middle of the night. This room is a very noisy room to stay in - Sunday morning they were emptying the bottle bins around 7am, the hotel failed to advise us there was a wedding party staying so the noise levels on Sunday morning actually ruined our trip. They were up and talking loudly directly outside our room form 6.30am and continued to open and shut doors constantly until 9.30am. The housekeepers radio was also extremely loud. No peace and quiet at this hotel - and isn't that we we all go away? a good nights sleep and to feel relaxed? The room we stayed in over looked Coronation Street set (the old one) so coaches arrive with noisy diesel engine running outside the room at just before 8am. Unfortunately what should have been a nice relaxing break was not - we had barley any sleep in a hot and over priced room. Average

Room Tip: I would advise NOT to stay in a room at the front of this hotel - way too noisy, we were really disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJSManager, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was not as you anticipated nor as we intended.

We have earned our reputation for a service and environment that is second to none, however it is apparent we let ourselves down on this occasion and I am sorry this is your lasting impression of our hotel. I will address your feedback with the team at GJS in order to ensure this level of service is not repeated. I was surprised that you didn't give your full feedback to the reception team on departure. The manager on duty would have been more than happy to help you and discuss your issues.

I have also contacted the General Manager Coronation Street, The Tour to discuss your feedback relating the buses running noisy diesel engine outside the room.

Once again please accept my apologies for the service that you have encountered
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We got married at the GJS Hotel on Saturday 2nd August and it was quite simply fantastic. The whole day was exactly what we hoped for and more. We hired out downstairs (The Oyster Bar area and adjacent rooms) which worked fantastically for what we wanted; great space in the bar for the drink reception, meal on the mezzanine, then speeches on the beautiful stairs followed by a night of dancing and chatting in the bar area and library. Bronwen, the wedding coordinator who we were in touch with from our first meeting up to the actual day was very efficient, really helpful and extremely professional from the start which we thank her for. Always offered us complimentary drinks when we met with her which was a nice touch. On the day, Michael and his team were superb. He worked for hours in the morning setting out all of the centre pieces, favours and decor which we had collected over time superbly (there were quite a few nick-knacks so not an easy task) and the whole place looked magical - nothing was too much trouble and he really is a perfectionist when laying out decor. All the staff were more than helpful; incredibly friendly and went above and beyond to ensure all our guests were having a good time. Myself, bridesmaids and family stayed on the Friday and Saturday night and it was a real treat! The rooms are incredible; exceptionally clean and beautifully designed with a 'city loft meets vintage chic feel'. The breakfast was delicious and you could choose your order for a menu Saturday morning, with Sunday morning being buffet style as our guests had booked out the majority of the rooms so there were quite a few guests to feed. All in all, a superb day which we will remember forever... Our only wish it hadn't gone as quickly. Many thanks to all at GJS Hotel once again, Adam and Jenny.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyBethWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The staff at GJS, on the day of our wedding were absolutely professional and totally great. The venue, food, corkage charges; they aren't cheap. I wanted to be honest. Do enquire about corkage exp if you are buying a lot of wine and champagne for guests.
The food was very, very good. The ingredients were locally sourced and good quality. Everyone commented on the foods quality.
A special mention to Michael, our co-ordinator. He was almost like a power house, working flat out robotically. He was our lynch-pin.

The evening before, we had been at the venue till quite late preparing. Michael offered us champagne,coffee's, biscuits and a room to help us lay everything out. We hadn't left till after 10pm and had been there since before 9am. Bronwen too, although quietly professional, was lovely and warm to our guests as they made their way to the venue. She was fantastic.
We had a meeting with them both a few days previously. When I look back at guest photo's, they had placed things exactly where I had asked. I had
a chance to do the venue up exactly as I wanted. We took the (expensive!) flowers from the church and these were placed in little areas with the flowers we had already placed there.
Michael introduced us into the room, he was at our top table asking us if we were alright, he never stopped being really, really great. We felt it was the staff who made everyone feel comfortable, not just us.
The hotel is lovely. Our suite was huge, beautiful. We had chocolates on arrival, petals and a safe for our belongings like the rings! Every item I had lovingly bought for the table displays, every vase, every flower stem; were all lovingly packed on trollies to be taken away the following morning.
They stored the cake, let me pop in and decorate it throughout the week. There was also a young girl who worked the evening shift with Michael. She was professional, warm and all the staff, exp Bronwen and Mike really were exemplary and a credit to the hotel. You made our wedding, so thank you both.

Lastly, we had a white,themed post box we had hired for cards. We had two separate couples who were not at the wedding party try to take the lift from the ground floor to the roof terrace, then walk through the lift doors directly into the venue were presents and cards with money were held. We were grateful we had the secure, locked area for cards but as the bride, I did have to ask these people to leave twice. Michael was also there to assist, as was one of my uncles. It would be in the hotels interest to place a clear sign on the lift door such as, 'Only wedding parties of...... are permitted to the.....floor'. It is understandable however, that a five star hotel like GJS does have a lot of guests who need to use the lift. Sadly, the strangers were drunk and wanting to 'look around' and did not leave until I had to be very firm with them both. For security, this might be a problem if cards are lying around but because we chose a Saturday and it was busy below, perhaps this was only a small gripe.

It isn't cheap. Does cost equal quality? In out personal experience it actually does. We've both travelled quite a bit and have experienced good hotels around the world. The price does reflect the service and I am glad I chose it as a venue (after narrowly booking to only use it for an evening reception only until the last minute as we planned to marry in Goa)!

Thank you Michael and Bronwen. You were kind, considerate to us and we would recommend you to anyone.

Love,

Dan and Victoria (Joyce-Clarke)
x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria3180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked in here for a birthday treat for me. We were particularly looking forward to trying out the roof top playground bar & hot tub. On checking in we were advised the bar was shut off due to a private function, I was very disappointed as we were only staying for one night. The hotel staff were very helpful & refunded the cost of our breakfasts for the following day to make up for this disappointment.

On checking in we found a stunning room, with a mezzanine level bathroom. It was very luxurious. The hotel had also kindly left me a happy birthday message along with chocolates which was a nice touch.

That evening after a meal out in Manchester we returned to the hotel to use the roof top hot tub. We sat in the hot tub, overlooking Manchester skyline & drinking cocktails. It really was a very special experience.

Breakfast the next morning was a huge disappointment, the waitress was very rude & made us feel that we had over stayed our welcome by coming down to breakfast half an hour before the last serving. She took my husband's plate away before he'd finished eating & couldn't have been less helpful if she'd tried. On check out we mentioned this to the reception staff who were wonderful, very apologetic & offered us a refund on our valet parking to make up for her rudeness. This was very generous & made some way to make up for the bad experience at breakfast.

This hotel isn't cheap & food/drink is pricey but you get what you pay for. A luxurious treat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meiklen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJSManager, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies for the shortfall in communication at breakfast.

I will be investigating your comments in relation to the breakfast team member and will be dealing with the person accordingly and internally.

I was delighted to read that you have found our bedrooms stunning and luxurious and also our hotel staff helpful,

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON,UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We hosted a lunch in the "headmaster's office" & found the food,service & ambience to be fantastic. The hostess was very helpful & friendly. The quality of the food was excellent and also very generous portions!
Our 3 children were well catered for and would absolutely recommend this venue for hosting a private event. The service was efficient and unobtrusive. Amazing venue and wonderful staff. Thank you for making it such a special day for our mum!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellow009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

On Sunday, we had our wedding at Great John Street Hotel. The service from both event managers and all staff was outstanding! The food was fantastic and the whole operation was totally faultless. I'm a demanding consumer but I cannot complain about a single thing. The room we stayed in was one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in and breakfast the following morning was amazing!! Great John Street is worth every penny and I cannot wait to go back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 31EST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing