We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday surprise ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday surprise ”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

One if the most lovely places I've stayed in, the rooms, service, food was exceptional defiantly will be back soon.
Was very well looked after and the personal touches was fabulous as I arranged a surprise birthday for my partner. Thank you everyone. :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    183
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
179
606
25
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had a wonderful stay here in a beautiful room with excellent service and a peaceful yet central location. The breakfast was extremely good. The room was really hot in the morning and the air conditioning unit was ineffective (essentially not working). It was so hot it was dificult to put make up on without it melting off. Mentioned it to the reception who agreed it gets hot in the rooms but they blanked our comments that the air conditioning was faulty. Obviously it's not the first time they have been told that. I feel sorry for the people who get the room after us as we did try to get it put right so it would not be necessary to stand at the open window gasping for air! Not good for £200 a night. That said it didn't spoil our stay and I would go back - but I would check the air con was working before I accepted the room in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Looking for a night of romantic luxury to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary (and first without our daughter in tow) we booked a Michelin Star restaurant and the Opus Grand Suite at GJS.
We were not disappointed.
Fantastic duplex room, with a bath in the bedroom on the upstairs level, and a large lounge area and beautiful bathroom on the downstairs level.
The whole hotel was beautifully appointed, dominated by original building features, but all with a modern twist. Small touches made all the difference, rose petals on the bed, chocolates with greeting piped in icing, etc.
Roof terrace is stunning - wish we'd used it earlier in our stay, a real haven away from the world.
Staff were similarly outstanding, friendly and attentive but not visible when not 'needed'.
A real and genuine boutique, individual, very personal hotel.
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Take a drink in the top floor lounge AND the outdoor 'playground' roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryC2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

we stay in hotels at least once a month all over the UK, however, we have never stayed in a hotel as fantstaic as The Great John Street.

The staff are fantastic, the food is gorgeous and the room was just incredible. From the second we walked through the front door we were greated with warm, friendly staff who could not do enough for us. The room was just gorgeous, we usually stay in the suites in The Midland, The Hilton or the Crowne Plaza but never have we ever had a room as stunning as this (classical grand suite).

It's the little touches that made it unlike any other, such as the fabulous homemade biscuits.

The room was SPOTLESS and coming from someone who has OCD this is a big compliment.

i just wanted to congratulate you on the fantastic service, staff and food of your hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic apparently, we met a few couples there and everyone raved
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very stylish hotel with beautiful clean rooms.My partner had organised a surprise weekend away which i was very excited about and thanks to this hotel it made our weekend just perfect. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Almost felt at home. Would recommend to anyone for any occasion! Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyFlower2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Really impressed with this quirky, centrally situated, hotel. All the staff were so incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. Room was excellent. Didn't have an evening meal at the hotel only a drink before heading out for the night. Had continental breakfast which really was 'just right'. Not often I would think about going back to a hotel for the second time but I would certainly stay here again. Might be an idea to show all the rooms on the web site (apologies if you are now doing this)

Room Tip: They are all different rooms and when I looked the individual rooms were not shown on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

love this place individual stylish fantastic rooms quality bedding great roof terrace
staff fantastic
had one problem which was sorted by a complimentary stay at Eleven Didbury Park, where once again beautiful warm relaxing extremely comfortable beds spotless fabulous breakfast and lovely friendly staff
We would highly recommnend both these hotels pure class

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so its a treat each time you stay a grat hot tub on the roof also
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabarker34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing