We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Birthday Party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Recently held a party at GJS. The staff were all brilliant and made sure the party was a success. Everyone had a great time and feedback from our guests has been very complimentary. Lots of comments about the venue and made particular reference to the staff and how great they all were. You've got a fantastic team there and that makes all the difference. Nothing we asked them was too much. They were all very obliging and made sure all our guests were very comfortable. Our room was lovely and after breakfast we did take advantage of a "double bath" - very luxurious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for Great John Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Beautifully fitted out in a relaxed style with great attention to detail. The service is superb, the staff blend in to the backdrop and are not intrusive. Would highly recommend and look forward to returning time and time again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybaris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I went for Champagne Afternoon tea with my Mum and Aunty on Sunday afternoon.....What an afternoon! The staff made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble! The afternoon tea arrived, it was beautifully presented, the sandwiches were super soft, gorgeous bread and gorgeous fillings! Then for the cakes and scones, wow! The scones were still warm, there was a wonderful selection of cakes, and they were all a perfect size! The hotel is such a lovely place to be, so all in all a very special afternoon, thank you to all who made our Afternoon amazing! My Mum and Aunty loved it and so did I!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I took my friend here for afternoon tea as a birthday treat and we were really disappointed. The afternoon tea was served in their hotel bar and it lacked any atmosphere with hardly any other people in there (we went on a late Friday afternoon). The scones and cakes didn't taste fresh at all and we left disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Albie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

I am sorry you were disappointed by your afternoon tea. I note that you visited in April and would like to point out that we are significantly busier now than we were then, however Friday afternoon does continue to be our quietest time. Our Patissiere bakes cakes and scones daily and so I am at a loss as to why they would taste anything less than fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I took my Mum for champagne afternoon tea for her 60th birthday and was very impressed. My Mum also got a nice little surprise as I had mentioned when booking it was for her special birthday. The service was great they asked if we wanted more tea/coffee, sandwiches etc and that everything was ok with the food. Lovely setting very relaxed and comfortable and the food selection was fab. Would like to return and try an overnight stay and will certainly be returning for afternoon tea as we both enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claremchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked a Grand Boudoir room for Tuesday 3 September for my partner's 40th birthday and so were delighted to be upgraded on arrival to a larger suite - The Opus suite, I believe. Checking in was seamless and friendly.

The champagne I'd ordered on arrival was delivered as soon as we'd settled in and the room was beautiful. Classic FM, nice touch ;) We ordered wine to be sent to the hot tub and drank this as the sun went down. Staff were attentive and friendly at all times.

The converted school house makes for an interesting stay with features of its original purpose used within the interiors of the hotel. This is both nostalgic and warming.

The location is perfect, close enough to nightlife whilst still feeling 'off the beaten track'.

As there are several bars and a restaurant on site, along with the sumptuous setting of your room and the hot tub, there's actually no need to venture out!

Breakfast, eggs benedict, was perfect. A luxurious and welcoming stay. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for work for a night and really enjoyed my stay. The room was spacious and well decorated. The rooftop garden was lovely and even managed to take a dip in the hot tub!

Didn't use the restaurant but had a cheeseboard and wine after dinner out, thought the service and ambience was lovely. Breakfast was very nice too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulberry32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 119 in Manchester
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 119 in Manchester
1,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 119 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 119 in Manchester
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $214 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing