We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 reviews
“Wedding Venue”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at Great John St last weekend for my sons wedding and it was the absolute best. Hotel was amazing, the staff were brilliant and went over and above what would normally be expected,even for a wedding venue. Without disrespecting any other members of staff, must mention Natalie and Phebus for their efforts. All in all a great success, I would recommend this place to anybody.

Room Tip: All rooms re equally great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanForshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    185
    61
    44
    37
See reviews for
184
618
25
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at GJS for my brothers civil ceremony at the weekend and we had the most amazing experience. The night was perfect for everybody and enough could not be done by all to make sure this was achieved. The staff, especially Natalie on reception and Phoebus, the manager for the night were just fantastic. Will definitely be returning to this hotel. Could not fault it! Beautiful rooms, beautiful views, beautiful staff and perfect experience. Thank you all so much!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aislinglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of moving into Great John St for three nights for my brother's wedding and it could not have been more perfect. It was a luxury home from home and the perfect setting for the weekend. The staff could not have done more for our family, the food was outstanding and this exceptional level of service wasn't just on the wedding day itself. It was constant and made us feel very welcome indeed. Extra special mentions go to the formidable Natalie on reception who catered for our every need and on the wedding day itself went over and above her duties. Phoebus too for being the most attentive and fun manager who ensured all guests were looked after on the wedding day and beyond. He is simply the nicest person you could meet. Also the rooms at this hotel are outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've just returned from a one night stay at this fabulous hotel, we were celebrating friends civil ceremony. The staff, especially Natalie on reception and Nicholas were fantastic, very friendly, efficient and welcoming.
Our room was stunning, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food was fantastic during the day and evening reception and there was a huge choice at breakfast.
Can't wait to return, thanks for your hospitality

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed overnight whilst attending a civil ceremony with a reception held on the roof top terrace bar and wow ! The rooms, service and breakfast was wonderful. Thoroughly enjoyed every second spent here at this beautiful hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauljgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a small uniquely decorated, well run boutique hotel adjacent to "Coronation St",or at least the set,which is visible from the Roof Terrace. Standard of cleanliness, friendliness of the staff and attention to detail is next to none. As a business traveller used to top well known hotels this was a joy to stay in as a little different.
It was once a Victorian school and the best architectural features have been kept alongside a very high standard of tasteful interior decor so some areas like the library and roof terrace feel as if you are in a home not a hotel. Ideal for overseas visitors to stay somewhere unique and different and a great location virtually opposite the Opera House in central Manchester. Had a feel of the Soho House in London and Old Parsonage in Oxford. A real Hidden Gem which is the name of a beautiful little church a few minutes walk from the hotel in this amazing historical city. Breakfast and afternoon tea superb, all home made and fresh ingredients and near some of the best restaurants in town so plenty of choice to go out for dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My partner and I both work in city centre hotels, so I decided that as a treat I'd book us a chill out night in this beautiful place. I have to say the building itself is stunning and in a wonderful location. The lady on check in (sorry I never caught her name) was fab and made us feel like we were the only people staying. The decor is quaint and so stylish, I told my partner that I wanted to live there! The room was great, such a good use of double height ceiling with the mez bathroom. A seperate loo, bath and shower was nice too, and the bath was huge!
Then we come to the roof terrace.we had been told we could use the residents side as there was a private party on so up we went. Its nice, especially when the sun is out. What wasn't nice was how short the bar maid was with us or the comment of "I'm not dealing with this" to her colleague. We had gone to the bar assuming that is where we would buy our drinks however we had not been told that the bar itself is not in the residents side, but the function side. There were no barriers or signs up to indicate this. So after being commanded to sit in the rezzies side we waited 15 minutes for someone to take our order and another 20 for it to arrive. After we had finished our drinks we waited around a bit to catch a waitress to pay the bill but one showed. They had taken our room number so assumed it would be added to our room bill.
I wpuld go back to this hotel, I may even give the oyster bar a go, but I certainly wouldn't go back to the terrace, shame!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyjanefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 118 in Manchester
1,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing