We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great interior design and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great interior design and very comfortable”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

loved the bar and downstairs restaurant - glamorous art deco style. Our room was two floors with a double ended bath and walk in shower on top floor. Very close to the shops as well. We attended a wedding on top floor terrace which has great views and a hot tub, if you fancy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    183
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
179
606
25
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Loved this hotel, its super romantic. Can't fault anything, rooms were beautiful and full of thoughtful details. Staff were great, we even got a upgrade and chocolates in the room as it was my birthday. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juicylucy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here in early May for business, fantastic rate on the room, great location and the rooms were stunning.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for business and leisure stays, one of the best hotels I have stayed in Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked afternoon tea here rather than the usual Harvey Nic's because they have such great reviews and the gentlemens tea sounded ideal for our other halves!!
We were not disappointed and it was worth the money!!!
The food was amazing, the gentlemens afternoon tea is delicious as was our champagne tea! The rose wine served was very nice too!! We could have sat there Ll afternoon!!!
The location of the hotel is off the main drag so its lovely and quiet!
We will defo be back to stay here next time !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank COrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, england
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had booked online for an anniversary treat afternoon tea. We were shown up to the sun terrace on the roof. The Manchester sun was actually shining brightly so it was lovely. The service and food were good. Nice range of sandwiches, cakes, scones and tea. Would recommend. Only downside was the price of cocktails which looked lovely but I declined due to price

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A friend first told me about this fab little hotel hidden away just off Deansgate and it has become a home from home that you must go to and experience. A collection of fantastic rooms, amazing service, decor and moods in this unique building create a fantastic escape from it all - we have become 8 time veterans and have been so impressed I rented the rooftop and took my whole company as a Christmas treat and we are based 200 miles away! More so however this is a romantic hotel for couples so go unwind with a glass of wine and relax relax relax in this little jewel - website does not do it justice. Yours Trueduo

Room Tip: Get the Eclectic Grand room as a treat.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trueduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our second visit to the GJS hotel and it was just as good as the first. Price is very high her but I left it until a couple of week before and got the room for £107. The room was a baby grand which was beautiful. Lovely comfy bed, fantastic bath and shower on the mezzanine,huge fluffy towels, home made cookies in the room and lovely spa toiletries. If i had to grumble I would say that to charge nearly £300 at the normal price for a room i would expect free mineral water in the room not £5.50 in the mini bar. Also the toiletries were lovely but with a freestanding bath in the room why was there no bubble bath/oil.
All in all though we love this hotel, the service was excellent although we did not eat there so cannot comment on the food. We would certainly stay again but only if we could get the discounted rate again as our budget would not stretch to the full prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing