We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great John Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great John Street”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is an up date on my previous review which I stated was highly disappointed. Firstly let me address the response from the hotel. The miscommunication was the hotels failure to inform us that there would be two venues going on in the hotel. Being a very small boutique hotel and having never stayed there before meant that venues are held in guest areas, therefore guests are restricted from these areas. In most hotels they have a separate function room so as not to impact on what guests have paid for. For the extremely high price paid I would ask about this before you book. Next, the hotel contacted us after I placed my earlier review. Shame it wasn't when I originally complained. Offered a free night, however room only. Arrived and had to queue for over thirty minutes (other people complaining too). Missed our reservations elsewhere. Lovely decor as last time, but again wasn't able to see the much advertised library area, again venue was on, so again no access to this and the bar area downstairs.However upstairs outside terrace was open but didn't venture out there. Put off by the winter weather. My advise if there is a do on, the hotel should offer a discount or free breakfast to reflect the restrictions. Then maybe guests wouldn't feel so let down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsEclectic, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments once again. Our website makes it clear that we hire out all areas of the hotel including the library. It is common practice in most hotels to run events parties weddings and meetings. Being a small hotel it's an essential part of our business model. Larger branded hotels do tend to have more public areas than small hotels like ours and may suit some people's requirements more so than ours. So be it. I am also glad you still feel the hotel offers a lovely decor. Once again thank you

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    177
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
173
593
25
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fantastic suite (we stayed in the Opus Grand Suite) with Temple Spa toiletries, great staff & service, food lovely, location really good for Manchester centre. Would highly recommend this hotel for couples.

Room Tip: Opus Grand Suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becsblunstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton, england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Myself and my fiance visted the GJS hotel on the 17 March (Sunday) just for the one night. We were met by a lovely reception lady who checked us in, showed us around and gave us directions to our room.
The hotel is nestled away and is in a lovely quiet spot in the centre of Manchester, right by Granada Studios.

Our room was amazing! Sumptious bed, huge window which was almost floor to ceiling and an out of this world roll top bath on the mezzanine.

The hotel is an old school and we loved how the owner has kept some of the features such as the sign for the headmasters office and also the photos of the school children from years and years ago

Being parents to a 15 month old, this night away was needed and i can definitely say it did the job. We ate in the bar in the afternoon, lunch was to die for! Breakfast the next day was more luxurious that some hotels ive stayed in abroad and the staff are very attentive

All in all it was a perfect weekend stay which i will hopefully be repeating and definitely recommending to friends :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a Baby Grand which was out of thi world so i would love to see what the other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbers0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night recently. Staff were very friendly, couldn't have been nicer. This hotel is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at. We stayed in the baby grand room and it was amazing. We had a living room area downstairs with tv and couch. Upstairs we had a double bed and bathroom. Felt like our own little apartment in a hotel. They had a roof top bar which was lovely to have a few drinks while looking over Manchester. Would def recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly be returning in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves_to_travel102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having stayed at the Great John Street Hotel a couple of times (& had a great stay each time), I decided to book my parents an afternoon tea there, as a warm up to their anniversary party.

My parents returned home, full from what they described as a fantasic selection of sandwiches & cakes, and they were also full of praise for the staff & the service they'd received - which included a little surprise, as I'd mentioned it was their anniversary when I arranged it!

I couldnt recommend Great John Street more highly! Its the only place to stay if you're visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at this small but perfectly put together boutique hotel in city centre manchester on many occasions. The staff are always keen and willing to help in any way. The rooms are special and worth the slightly expensive nightly rate. The breakfast is worth the extra and parking can be arranged at the hotel so all in all the perfect venue for a weekend treat or a weekday stay over. Business or pleasure, you leave refreshed after a good nights sleep and promising yourself you will return.

Room Tip: All rooms offer something extra, re a special bathroom or bedroom so you can be assured of a good ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my Mum & Sister for a special night away because we were having a girly night in Manchester and seeing a show. From the moment we checked in we were blown away at how beautiful the hotel was. Reception were really helpful. The suite itself was on 2 levels and amazing. We were very impressed. We enjoyed mojitos in the beautiful lounge. The breakfast is the best breakfast I have ever had anywhere. Fantastic bowls of fresh berries and a selection of dried fruits, toast and cereals. The egg benedict with smoked salmon was absolutely delicious. Yes, the hotel is exclusively priced but it was worth every penny and an
experience that I would highly recommend. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakleigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing