We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - well worth a visit - bring walking shoes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night as a treat when we visited Manchester for a concert.

Hotel Location: As usual, its subjective. If you’re coming to just use the hotel facilities (which would be more than great for an overnight escape) then it’s perfect. If however you intend to be back and forth from the city for shopping, lunches etc, then it’s not the best. A good 15 min walk to and from (and a 20 min walk to the station). Obvs there is always taxis etc . . but . . that could be a costly affair depending on how many trips you make.
That said, there are few, if any, hotels of the same spec in the area, so I think it’s worth the walk personally.

Rooms / Facilities etc: Wow – what a room! Absolutely wonderfully! From the small touches of classic FM playing when we arrived, to the sumptuous furnishings, mezzanine bath, huge comfy bed, really fantastic.
We have to say, we stay in a lot of hotels, but this hotel had the most wonderful and romantic ambience of anywhere we have stayed. Really fantastic.
The only disappointment for us was the roof top Jacuzzi was closed. This is obviously one of the main differentiators for the hotel, so for it to be closed with no explanation is really disappointing,

Food & Drinks: We didn’t eat, but the drinks were pricey (but no more than you should expect in a city centre). Again, the lounges all had a wonderful ambience.

Staff: Faultless. No more to say!

We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsEclectic, Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Daniel C

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Great John Street Hotel

I am glad to hear you thought your bedroom was Absolutely wonderful and I am delighted that you appreciated all the little touches.

We use quality products and furnishings to ensure our beds are all as comfortable as possible so I am very happy to see you thought your bed was huge and comfy and really fantastic.

I am however sorry to hear that you were dissapointed that our hot tub was out of service. Unfortunately we do have to service, maintain and clean the hot tub on a weekly basis to ensure we are adhering to health and safety standards and to ensure it is always available to the best standard to all our guests 24 hours per day.

We appreicate all guest feedback as this enables us to consistantly monitor and review all of our services and procedures.

Thank you for taking the time to both provide us with constructive feedback and also for sharing your lovely comments with others.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Best Regards
Julie Sales
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the Opus Grand suite on Christmas day. It was very luxurious and we wished we were staying more than one night. The suite itself was ultra comfortable, and we especially loved having the bath in the main bedroom upstairs. We had a very restful night sleep. We sat in the lounge for a couple of drinks at the end of our evening and and it was very warm and welcoming and a great way to end the day. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was very good, and we'd definitely recommend staying.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Wylie_Coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in room 18 and were immeriately taken with the decor and mezzanine bathroom. No expense has been spared in creating this hotel from an old victorian building - formerly a school. Service was excellent throughout from the efficient reception and valet parking to the fine and varied breakfast.
The room has a large bed with plenty of storage for clothes and the items bought on the shopping spree! The bathroom had twin baths and sinks with a seperate walk-in shower and toilet.
If you are fed up with the large corporate hotels and want something entirely different with personal service and great design touches then I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuryRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thank you all at the hotel for fantastic service and a memorable stay.

Upon arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade in rooms for my girlfriends 21st birthday. She wanted views of the Coronation Street set and managed to see a few famous faces. We were both extremely pleased with the room and the facilities.

The staff on reception and in the bar were great. Everything was complimented by little special touches which fitted in perfectly.

We will most definitely be stopping again.

Thank you very much

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JordanJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were lucky enough to have our late corporate Christmas evening at Great John Street. We were shown to the roof terrace by an extremely friendly and helpful member of their team and were greeted by hot mulled wine. The bar tender was helpful and knowledgeable, the canapés that were served were varied and all as equally tempting. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean with all the mod cons you could possibly wish for. I would like to say a massive thank you to all the Great John Street team that made our night so special and memorable and very much looking forward to booking again, next time I’m in Manchester!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becks160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here (work related ) on arrival I was charged a further £50 deposit on top of the room charge which I was not made aware of on booking. The whole place is a pricey affair , a simple pure orange with a dash of lemonade at the bar will set you back £4.50 .
To eat your breakfast in the privacy of your room is over £24 as an (optional) £2.50 tip is put on your receipt on top of the £5.00 charge to bring it to your room and of course you don't like to make a fuss so you feel obliged to pay it .
I had equipment in my suitcase which was damaged , I can only presume this was done when bags were taken to the room.
I had no sleep due to the complicated air conditioning/heating set up - 2 options , blazing hot or freezing !
Lastly on departure the hotel sneaks an (optional) charity payment on your bill , which again you feel obliged to pay! The only positive thing I can say about the hotel is that the rooms are lovely and they are clean but on the whole , a very bad experience. I think it's great John street hotel that needs the 'wake up call' of you are a Manchester based hotel , not Mayfair London - price accordingly ! Rant over :/

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rubberducky007uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsEclectic, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Whilst I was pleased to read that you found our rooms to a high standard both in comfort and cleanliness I was disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction with aspects of our pricing. As it is standard practice across almost all hotels in the city we pre-authorise all guest’s payment cards on arrival for the cost of your room and £50 for any extras you may wish to charge to your room. We do not receive this money, it is just held against your available funds and is released by your bank on departure. This is explained in your confirmation letter sent on booking.
Our breakfast price is in line with other city centre hotels and is considered good value for money, testified by many other reviewers on this site and whilst we apply a 10% service charge, this is discretionary and is presented as such, I apologise if you were not fully aware of this.
Our chosen charity, Together for Cambodia (togetherforcambodia.org) is an orphanage which through the generosity of our guests along with our own sponsorship, we are able to contribute to an improved life for many underprivileged children. The donation to the charity by Eclectic Hotels in conjunction with a very much appreciated contribution from our guests covers the annual rental of the orphanage. The £1 donation certainly is optional and again I apologise if we had not made this clear on check out.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent service on a return visit to the hotel after my last visit last year.
We arrived early into Manchester so dropped by hotel to see if we could leave our bags with them. Not a problem , bags were in our room when we arrived back later in the day.

We had received a complimentary upgrade to a lovely suite where the bedroom was on a mezzanine level. The room was very well furnished and spotless. We had drinks in the bar and the barman was friendly and knowledgeable. After having a meal at a very nice restaurant we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was served on the beautifully furnished Mezzanine floor and was excellent with friendly helpful and attentive staff. We hope to return in the summer to take advantage of the roof terrace.

Room Tip: We think first floor rooms are better if there is a function on the rooftop terrace as there can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellybloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $159 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing