We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a taste of sicily” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veeno

Veeno
Ranked #5 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Veeno is an Italian Wine Café based in the UK serving our family produced Sicilian wines & authentic Italian spuntini. All of our wines come from our award-winning family vineyard in Sicily where 3 generations of our family have produced wine. This allows us to ensure the highest quality from the grape to the glass. We source all our cold meat cuts, breads and cheeses from Italy too.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“a taste of sicily”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you find yourself in the centre of Manchester I recommend that you try veeno.The wine from their own Sicilian vineyard is lovely.The atmosphere is relaxed and civilised. The lady from Sardinia behind the bar was friendly and informative.I will return to sample the food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joseph850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    93
    17
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had purchased an Amazon Local voucher for a free glass of Prosecco and a choice of a few dishes from a limited menu. The food, when it eventually arrived, was absolutely awful! My husband's lasagne was so over- microwaved it was inedible and my aubergine bake wasn't much better. He complained and another, very small dish, arrived. Again, virtually inedible and smothered in olive oil! This place should not be advertised as a restaurant as it clearly has a long way to go before allowing the slop it calls food out to the general public.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ebclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Voucher deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is our second visit to Veeno in as many months
Veeno doesn't advertise itself as a restaurant (it's a wine bar) and Veeno fits this description perfectly
The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming the food authentic and the wine excellent ...A hidden gem in a busy city
We will be back ...soon I hope

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely wine but the food didn't match”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We used a voucher to book what we thought was a meal. The wine was lovely and it was disappointing that the food did not match. The sharing starter was nice with a range of cheese and meats. Quickly we were served with what we though was the main element of the meal but this turned out to be a small potion of reheated lasagne and the thinnest flatbread I have seen. Once it came we didn't speak to anyone again till we got up to leave. The concept is good but the quality left me disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinoFrancesco, Owner at Veeno, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Andbain,
first of all thanks for your feedback that we appreciate as tool to improve our service and offer.
I am just keen to clarify a couple of points: one is that we are a wine cafe, not a restaurant, and we offer our wines, that we produce back in Italy, to go with a few platters and "piattini" as complement.
Second, we do not have service at the table, obviously we try to make as much contact as we can our customers but when busy it can be more complex. Said so, we will look into that as well and make it clearer.
We are sorry if the offer on the voucher somehow mislead you and would appreciate to know which voucher you had and when you came, so that we can really improve!
Regards
Nino Caruso
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Finally i can drink some good wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

In manchester there are few spots where you can feel yourself at home...veeno is one of them. Good food, better sicilian wine, what else somebody can ask for? Price are decent and the quality is very good. I am not sure you can get better value for this kind of quality in the greater manchester area

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veeno also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Veeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing