We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, but felt overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of All Star Lanes Manchester

All Star Lanes Manchester
Ranked #108 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine, but felt overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I visited with friends recently for the second time, booking with a 'bowling and a burger for £15' offer. As it transpired, on our second visit, the burgers no longer come with an accompaniment, making it less of a deal - especially given weekday bookings for bowling are cheaper anyway. The burger was good, but nothing spectacular. By the time a pint and a half of lager and some chips were added, my share of the bill was £34, which definitely didn't feel like a deal when there are much better burgers to be had in Manchester.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheese_fancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    172
    60
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Why don't they say more about their milkshakes? Awesome!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went on for lunch as, surprisingly for Manchester, it was throwing it down with rain!! We didn't bowl, so can't comment on that side of things, but 4 of us had a meal. The burger was really good - good meat and Monterrey Jack and a good sauce. The sweet potato fries were tasty and made a nice change from normal fries. The chicken was fine but the burgers were of a price where you would hope to get fries with them. Portion sizes were good. But the main event was the shakes! And I don't understand why they don't make a big thing of them. They are just with all the other drinks on the menu and simply called "milkshakes." We had 2 chocolate shakes, one Oreo and one disgusting sounding peanut butter and jelly milkshake with bacon (yes, bacon) on top. My son figured it had to be tried. And it was good! They were all good. The chocolate shakes had lots of real lumps of chocolate and were so thick they came with a straw and a long spoon. The most chocolatey milkshake any of us have ever had. The Oreo shake was equally excellent. Service was attentive and the atmosphere was good. The shakes kind of took the place of any need for a dessert - so for the four of us the bill was £60 which i would have said was on the steep side for the food - but I'm not complaining as the drinks made up for it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

it was a while ago i visited but i dont think id go back. There wasnt much of a selection of food to choose from. What i did order was really nice and the service wasnt bad either but its not somewhere id eat again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went here for lunch and bowling. Three adults and two kids.The bowling area is great, nice and clean, plenty of bowling balls and a nice seating area.The food was really good although personally i think at £13 for a burger that it should come with fries, not an additional £3 charge for them. Nice selection of drinks. The kids deal is very good bowling and a meal for £10. A great experience and we would return for special occasions...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hirst4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“'Kingpin' burger is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a must visit for anyone looking for great food with fantastic staff and atmosphere in Manchester city centre.

Me and my fiance decided to visit her on a Sunday as we were eligible to grab a '2 for 1' meal offer using our Tastecard. The restaurant and bar area were not very busy which was nice.

We decided to go for the whole 'shabang' and have 3 courses each... Why not..

I had the wings to start, hot with blue cheese dip and they were AMAZING! I had plenty of wings and they had plenty of meat on them and were very tasty. My fiance had the Salt Beef Croquettes and said they were delicious! For mains I had the NYC Salt Beef Reuben, I love Ruebens and this was huge. There was so much saklt beef I juts couldn't finish it! My fiance went for the 'Kingpin' burger (see picture) this was a monster, (in good nature) this things was massive and eating it in a polite manner was just impossible! My fiance said this was one of the best burger he had eaten so it must have been good..

Once we had a breather we went for dessert, Rum and raisin brownie & pecan pie. These were both divine!

I know we will definitely be back and brining more people so they can experience who great this place is. Bowling seems a good shout toO! Thanks again to our servers as they were all friendly and went above and beyond with regard to customer service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahhLavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Star Lanes Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to All Star Lanes Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing