We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“F A B U L O U S”
Review of Al Bacio

Al Bacio
Ranked #152 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Manchester's Newest Italian Restaurant/Pizzeria/Bar, Al Bacio, located on South King Street, Manchester City Center. Authentic cuisine prepared with fresh ingredients and Italian passion. Al Bacio offers some of the finest Italian food in the heart of Manchester City Centre. Offering an abundance of friendly atmosphere and hospitality. With Fresh, Rustic Italian dishes to die for, Al Bacio is perfect for all occasions such as Birthdays, Anniversaries, Business Lunches, Private Functions, Pre- Theatre Dinners, Group bookings, a relaxed drink at our bar, or simply a coffee break from your busy shopping schedule.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“F A B U L O U S”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Also found this little gem by accident after wandering the streets to find somewhere for lunch whilst visiting the Christmas Markets. Had tried a few places before which were all full but I'm sure we ended up at the best place. The staff were really welcoming, genuinely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was devine - I had the spinach and ricotta cannelloni which I can honestly say is the best I have ever had. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Manchester. Will be returning to this fabulous place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WestYorkshireMrsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    120
    42
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We found this by chance after wandering around the Christmas markets on a wet and miserable day. It is slightly off the beaten track up an unprepossessing side street off Deansgate. However, It looked nicely laid out with crisp white table linen as we peered in through the window so thought we would give it a try. Glad we did!
Excellent friendly service and the menu choices are wide and varied. Our meals were great quality and amply sufficient. We will certainly revisit on our next trip to Manchester.
I would have rated this establishment as excellent but for the fact that the bar prices are a bit OTT.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peeceecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We walked in here on Saturday night having not booked, we had been to Xmas markets & everywhere was booked up, the manager said he would find us a table if we didn't mind waiting 15 mins, there were 5 of us. Lovely authentic food served quickly, great steak, homemade deserts , overall very very nice, will be going back .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much better than many restaurants in Italy”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was here with some friends last Thursday. We booked a table online and when we got there, everything was ready and waiting for us.
We definitely had fabulous italian food cooked with love and served with care. a complete delight and memorable food.
Looking forward to come back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Welcome Return to a Classic Italian in Central Manchester”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We visited early for lunch in this newly-opened restaurant which was the San Rocco. The staff are charming and helpful and the menu wide and classic. Starters of melenzane alla parmigiana and tonno e fagioli were perfect.The veal dishes, vitello all limone and saltimbocca alla Romana were excellent with either a good salad or varied vegetables served with them. The zucchini fritti were lightly battered and excellent. The creme brulle was very good too. One of us had a pizza which was a major disappointment being over cooked and with too little tomato and too much cheese. He was not charged for it. This alone prevents a 5 * rating from us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agrestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bacio also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Al Bacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing