We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food with a play area”
Review of Monolos Diner

Monolos Diner
Ranked #896 of 2,295 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Monolos strive to be the premier family restaurant in the local marketplace. We want our guests to have the total experience when visiting Monolos. Not only will our guests receive a great meal, they will also be provided with a fun atmosphere. Children will get to enjoy an exclusive play area and gaming zone specifically for restaurant users. Monolos aims to be a trendy up market restaurant allowing parents to enjoy a dining experience whilst children get to have fun too. We will want the dining experience to be as pleasing to the senses as it is to the palate and at the same time offering the children and even the adults a place to play on the soft play structure and gaming zone without the usual hustle and bustle of the typical softplay centres.We will combine a gourmet menu variety with a healthy exciting kids menu as well as a mouth watering adult menu. Monolos atmosphere, ambiance, and friendly staff aim to please al our customers, in order to reach our goal of over-all value in the dining/entertainment experience
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food with a play area”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Having frequented many play areas with my kids it's refreshing to find one that takes the food seriously instead of the usual paninis, sandwiches and jacket potatoes. The menu is American diner inspired, the burgers are good, the pulled beef sub is fab as are the lamb chops. Portions plentiful, good value and all food is well seasoned. I have been to better play areas, it is fairly small, but none with better food. My experience of the service is also good, you don't expect silver service in a diner/playarea but I have always found the staff friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
2 Thank ennjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    11
    7
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service - Words can't describe how bad it was ridiculous”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Here goes I will try and describe it, walked in not knowing if I sit down at a table myself or go to the till, all staff standing around not acknowledging anyone and then no one comes to
You to take the order either once u finally find a menu. The food took over a hour to show up, for fast food that's ridiculous. The food itself... Well may Aswel stay at home

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Saidrahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food & Service ”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a really good experience here, would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Great place for kids and adults.

One thing I must say is try the waffle it's the best you've ever had!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bilal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“monolos chaos”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

we took our grandaughter here for her birthday, the food was ok but service was chaotic to say the least. if feel that if the management trained the waiting on staff to clear the tables as soon as they came empty the experiance could improve . the music is far too loud and staff just seemed to stand around ignoring the tables full of used plates and only geared themselves into action when a person sat at the table . also the access to manolos is up some steps hand rails on both sides of steps would be safer

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 263val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After reading all the good reviews was looking forward was really looking forward to trying this place out, but was left really disappointed.

Food: Pretty bland, the portion size was big but it was warm at best when served, the coleslaw was probably in it's prime around two weeks ago, the steamed vegetables were completely over-seasoned, the flavour on the Monolos chicken was nice, but my steak was a big pink in sections. The food is over priced compared to similar venues (MyLahore, Archies, etc.)

Service: Nod bad, but nothing special either, considering you're aiming the experience at kids with the play area, the staff don't really engage with the kids or even smile. Most places like this tend to talk to the kids and ignore the parents (the way it should be!), and engaging with the kids will make them mither their parents to go back again!

Play area: Fairly small compared to most other places, but it was very clean, but it did smell pretty musty, obviously a need for some better ventilation around this area. Not all the XBox consoles were on, not sure if they're broken or it wasn't that busy. It was nice to see they had a separate play area for toddlers too.

Venue: The venue does have a lot of seating, but the layout is a little cramped, especially near the play area, and the counter for ordering is a tad high and doesn't make the process as smooth as it should be as you're stood in the walkway.

A few changes here and there and the place would offer a much better experience all round, but as it is, I doubt I would visit again, if I wanted to eat this type of cuisine I would unfortunately go elsewhere, and if I wanted a play area I would pick another.

Hope they take some of the feedback on and it is just early days problems...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fatboyonadiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monolos Diner also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Monolos Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing