We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cocktail bar, brilliant food, quality service, great bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arora Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2007

**********************************************************************

Quick Summary :

Staff are incredibly helpful, the customer was always right in this case.
Bar area and Restaurant are of the highest quality, food presentation is second to none.
Live music all night.
Get ready to do some serious cocktail drinking!
Room was clean, tidy, very comfortable.
Don't worry about soaking it all up, the breakfast is amazing!
Great location for walking to places.
Check Hotel website for package deals!

Full Review below.....

**********************************************************************

Well, what can I say ?

My lovely wife managed to get 2 tickets to see Man U v Aston Villa on Sunday 7th Jan as my Christmas pressie, so after visiting TripAdvisor as normal to check on the hotels available and their ratings, we were pleasantly surprised to see this Hotel at No. 1 and the rates that were being offered were incredibly good value.

We booked about 3 weeks in advance, through the Hotel's own website. We were taken aback, we managed to get an Executive King Size Bed room, for £99, and that was INCLUDING a 2 course meal AND Full English Breakfast the next day.

Too good to be true we thought, so we rung up the Hotel directly, and were told that if the rate/package was on the website, then that's what was being offered. This was strange as just below, the room-only rate, was £30 more, and DIDN'T include any dinner ?!

When we arrived we were pleased to see that the Hotel was only a short ride from Manchester Picadilly train station, cost about £4 by taxi. It's location was very good, right next to ChinaTown, with the Manchester Library 2 mins up the road, which we used to get our MetroLink tram up to Old Trafford.

After some initial confusion as to what room we had, which I can say was sorted out very promptly by the receptionist, we made our way to a lovely room, with great decor, some nice leather seats, some nice artwork and a HUGE super-king bed.

The room was spotless, the only thing we could fault was that the mini-bar was not stocked, but I can only imagine this was due to the initial confusion over the room. This was no biggie to us as we planned, and I say PLANNED, so go out into town later in the evening.

Dinner time came and we weren't expecting all that much. Most of the hotels we've been to have been the standard fare, a room which is usually used for conferencing or meetings, converted with a few tables and chairs into an eating area. Well this was NOTHING like that!

We made our way downstairs and were confronted by a beautifully lit, beautifully long cocktail bar. It had some great ambient lighting, and had some great music being pumped out by the live DJ who was already into his set for the night. Well that was our first surprise!

We sat down at the lovely bar area and were greeted by some incredibly friendly bar staff, who after we requested a bog-standard cocktail, suggested we went through their menu! We did this and ordered a couple from the menu and had the pleasure of watching them being expertly made up in front of us. These guys were real pros, Tom Cruise out of Cocktail eat your heart out! No need for gimmicky bottle-throwing here, besides, it was probably a bit dark for that!

I found a waiter and explained we were having a drink at the bar, and if we could go to our table in a little while, and he was more than happy to call us over in a bit.

After a while we got the call that our table was ready and were escorted to a lovely table in a booth-area, with high-leather-backed chairs in a romantic corner of the room, very nice. Our drinks were brought over for us to finish at our leisure and our waiter introduced himself as a qualified Sommelier!

Now we were expecting some sort of Express menu with a limited choice to be presented to us as the dinner was inclusive in the room rate, but oh no. We were presented with the full a la carte menu, which had a huge variety of choices in it. We ordered our food and enjoyed an exquisite crab salad, dark and rich duck pate, followed by sumptuous chicken breast and a gorgeously-cooked steak. Topped off with an incredible chocolate tart and a lovely apple pie with custard. The food tasted awesome, and the presentation was of the HIGHEST standard.

We finished our meal, charged it to our room then headed back to the bar before we had a few more cocktails and retired for the evening.

In the morning we headed down to breakfast, and wanting to stock up on something substantial due to a day in the terraces looming we were not disappointed. Loads of good food on offer, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, beans, pastries, all manner of healthier options, toast, cereals, dried fruits, fresh fruits, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, grapefruit juice. So many options and it all looked good, the cooked meats were not dripping in the usual pools of fat that you get at most other hotel breakfasts!

Then came checkout time and we just knew there was going to be some sort of issue, mainly due to the fact we were given the wrong room to start with. Well we got the bill, and they had indeed charged us for breakfast and dinner, so we pointed out that they were both meant to be included in the meal. The woman disappeared for a moment, to check our initial booking, and then reappeared confirming we were correct and proceeded to remove the WHOLE dinner and breakfast cost from the bill. So all in all, our night in a plush room, an amazing dinner and evening of drinks in a lovely vibrant bar (which people obviously go to as a night out in itself as there were LOTS of people there), live music, a good nights sleep, and a great breakfast, came to a grand total of £130. This was made even more astonishing when we looked to the right of the reception area, and glanced at their 2006 room rates, and ours was listed as £205 per night!!!

So this was indeed a terrific bargain, and we would not hesitate in going back there, if it was just for an evening even, the bar is that good!

Thanks Arora, you made our weekend a fantastic one with your level of service, and it was made all the more incredible by the fact we beat Villa 2-1 in the final minutes to go through to the 4th round!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Axum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,447 - 2,453 of 2,647 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2007

nice clean hotel. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast was tasty. Good selection of healthy and fried food. Room was nice. It's not flashy. If you want opulence this isn't the hotel for you. The bath was a good size. SHower was working well. The lights beside the bed were a bit of a mystery..6 switches. I haven't a clue what four of them did. Anyway not that it matters really. Nice looking cocktail bar downstairs. Staff friendly. All in all a nice hotel that more than served it's purpose for a one night stay.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank mark_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December.
A great location just near St Peters Square metro halt with good pubs & restaurants in the close vicinity. Chinatown is just across the road.
Rooms were of a good size, modern & clean. My first floor room with a taxi rank opposite threatened to be noisy, but wasn't at all even on a Saturday night.
TV was good with SKY channels as well as mainstream.
The restaurant & bar was closed on my first night due to a Christmas booking, which wasn't great. But the hotel did excellent room service for meals and breakfast both served promptly.
An excellent hotel for anyone staying in Manchester either on business or leisure.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Stayed here for 5 nights over the New Year and wasn't dissappointed. The rooms were modern and comfertable, the welcome was like staying at my Mum's house and the cocktails were expertly made.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshman2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2006

Quite dissapointed.

Reception very bland.

Staff nice enough.

Breakfast very poor choice. No eggs or mushrooms ???

Expensive choice.

Would nopt recommend.


Try the nearby Novotel or Ibis at half the price.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NorthWalesCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

Lou, N.Ireland.

Spent 3 nights at this hotel over the Derby weekend, for my boyfriends 30th birthday! Booked it having read previous reviews. The hotel was everything i hoped it would be, modern and of a high standard. On arrival staff very friendly, helpful, quick at check-in. I had arranged in advance for our room to be decorated with balloons etc on arrival and to also have cocktails sent up to our room, all of which was no problem at all, well worth it.
We stayed in room 606, which was peaceful, spotlessly clean with all appliances working. Great bathroom, beds are so comfy!
We can't cannot on breakfast as we were on a room only basis.
The cocktail bar is fab well worth several visits! The best cocktails, pricey but worth it.
The hotel is in a great location, right next to china town. Recommend the Royal Orchid thai, aswell as the Gaucho Grill on deansgate.
There is a metroshuttle bus that runs every ten minutes which is free. The bus stand (purple no.3) is right opposite the hotel and takes you to various parts of the city including piccadily train station.
I would really recommend this hotel, especially to couples. If we are staying in manchester again we will certaintly be paying another visit.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindseyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

My wife and I stayed for three nights over a weekend and coincidentally we stayed in room 513, same as a previous reviewer. Much of his thoughts echo our own. Lots of switches which didn't do anything, a/c not very effective and quite noisy (when we left a key card in the 'power slot' to keep the a/c on whilst we were out, the cleaner removed it and took it away) - we had to request another from reception. The bed was brilliantly comfortable, the bathroom fine, though interestingly the water never got very hot and the shower took a bit of study before we could translate the instructions in to actions. There wasn't much of a hospitality tray so we bought biscuits and brought them back to the hotel - no mini bar contents (you could have it stocked on demand but we found it easier to bring our own from a shop nearby). Breakfast was poorly serviced. Staff didn't seem to have much enthusiasm for their job. They would bring tea and not notice that there were no teacups or spoons on the table - indeed on two mornings most if not all of the tables were not fully set and we had to raid other tables - some had butter and no jam - and vice versa - and so on and so on. One morning I waited twenty five minutes for some grossly undercooked poached eggs. The last down side was being unable to eat in the hotel because they were fully booked in the restaurant - should they advertise a restaurant if residents can't use it.

That all seems pretty damning but - the hotel is very well appointed - very clean - as I have remarked a very comfortable bed and two easy chairs, so often one of you ends up sitting on the edge of the bed. All furnishings are immaculate.

The location of the hotel is perfect - about ten minutes walk from pretty well anywhere in the centre and there is a metro stop just about fifty metres away. I booked through an agent and got a very good deal.

The staff moved this up from a three to a four - generally young and enthusiastic - apart from the older doorman who was similarly enthusiastic and eager to help. However when I left I was not offered a confirmatory 'nothing to pay' receipt to show that there was nothing outstanding.

All in all, despite what may appear to be a bit of a scathing review, I do recommend this hotel to you - I will certainly use it again when I next visit Manchester - and I definitely will want to visit Manchester again - I hadn't been before and loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bjh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 120 in Manchester
1,385 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Manchester

Address: 18-24 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Manchester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $89 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arora Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Hotel Manchester
Manchester Arora International Hotel
Arora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing