We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Patricks Day night in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arora Hotel Manchester
Ranked #17 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Returned yesterday from an overnight stay in the Aurora. Can only say the whole hotel experience was brilliant. Staff were professional, friendly and extremely helpful. On check in said they would send up more towels etc, and within 5 mins they arrived. We ordered room service just after check in and food arrived when they said it would, and was delicious, and well worth the price. Hotel is spotlessly clean. Arrived back late in evening and bar was just closing, but they kept it open - and what a gem they have in their barman Sam - and also must mention Andy, one of the night staff - both great assets to hotel. In fact all the staff were great, needed to print off some boarding passes, and staff, both on reception and upstairs were so helpful. All in all would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Only sorry we were only staying the one night!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback i am happy you enjoyed your stay and the guys looked after you i will make sure they get the credit deserved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,766 - 1,772 of 2,619 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Only one night here on business. The hotel is centrally located. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. For a city centre hotel the room was perfectly quiet and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The result was an excellent night's sleep.

The place is spotlessly clean and the room modern, really well furnished with lots of little extras.

Very good all round. and thanks to the staff that I dealt with. Great attitude.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your great endorsment of our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have just returned from a girly weekend away staying at the Arora Hotel. There were three of us and we booked a triple room. We were on the fourth floor. It had two double beds which was fine for us as two didn't mind sharing. There was a flat screen tv, mini fridge and safety deposit box and hair dryer.
The room was clean and roomy but the outlook from the window was overlooking a small car park. This wasn't a problem for us. The bathroom was clean and lots of fluffy white bath towels and toiletries although there were only two hand towels. I'm sure if we had asked we would have had another one brought. There was tea/coffee making facilities with three cups but only two glasses. During the night the room did feel very warm but we had the air con on which helped.
The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. I have to mention George who took our luggage to our room. He always had a smile on his face and was friendly and helpful. At one point one of our party asked if reception had any sticking plasters. George came to the rescue.
There was a cocktail bar downstairs with a varied menu and the staff there were friendly. Friday night was a bit quiet but Saturday night the bar was quite busy. They did food but can't comment on that as we ate out each evening.
Breakfast was good but a little overpriced. Plenty of choice from cereals, fresh fruit, juices cooked breakfast etc which was self service, so you could chose how much or how little you wanted. There was also a small menu with choices of smoked salmon with scrambled egg which was prepared fresh which one of our party ordered on Sunday morning. She said it was lovely. There was also kippers or Eggs Benedict but we didn't try these.
The hotel is quite centrally located and very close to many restaurants bars and shopping.
I would use this hotel if coming back to Manchester.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your great comments i am pleased you enjoyed our hotel and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed here several times for business and it should be getting a much better rating. The rooms are fairly nice, the buffet breakfast is better than most and the breakfast staff in particular very welcoming and helpful. I have only eaten in the grill/restaurant in the basement and it was delicious and highly recommended.

But...two flies in the ointment. Firstly, trying to charge for WiFi is so last decade. In a business hotel in 2013, trying t charge extra for WiFi is like trying t charge extra for a TV or for hot water. Not good enough. But, much worse than this, is the constant humming noise, which I suspect is the ventilation system, that is evident in every single room I have been in. The first and most important thing I need from any hotel is a good sleep (well done Premier Inn for that very simple insight!) and the noise frankly ruins the experience in the Arora hotel.

Fix these problems and it's worth at least a 4 rating...

Sort these out

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review your feedback is most important.
I will ensure that the timers on the ventilation system are checked. We do offer free Wi-Fi in our bar and restaurant and a 30 minute complementary voucher to use throughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Booked though booking.com for 2 rooms for 2 nights which when we checked in was not on their system in the hotel, luckily it wasn't busy so we were accommodated. When we checked out hotel charged too high a rate for 1 room than was booked but again it was sorted. Hassle you don't need though.
Very centrally located. Across from Chinatown, and 10 mins walk to the Arndale or Piccadilly Gardens. Our room was a corner one, on the 3rd floor overlooking Princess st with plenty of windows that gave it natural light. It was a good size, clean and "ikea style" modern. Nice that the bathroom also faced outwards with a window and was a good size. Shower was in the bath though and there was no free conditioner.
The room had a flat screen tv, decent hair dryer, fridge and again was a good size. The bed however was far too soft. We had 2 bad night sleeps because of it and yes as others have stated, there is only 1 pillow, though we did request more and got them. Our friends had the same problem with the bed. The bar in the basement was nice for dink before going out. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment.
It's a shame really that the bed made our nights sleep so bad as location wise you can't beat it and the overall impression was good but I guess the main thing about a hotel is sleeping and if that is not good then you might as well be sleeping in a cardboard box!
Sort the beds and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey1UnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments it is always good to receive feedback.
My apologies for the confusion with your reservation I am pleased that you were accommodated.
Our beds usually receive rave reviews so I will check and change following your experience.
Great you enjoyed the bar and our super location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Was not very impressed when we arrived, a few steps to carry the case up. However, staff were very pleasent and we were given a ground floor room. Room very clean, bed a bit soft for us but we do prefer a hard matress, so that's down to choice. Bathroom was very well appointed. Did not use the resteraunt but wished we had as our meal at a local Italian was a disaster. Did use the bar both before and after the show and enjoyed both visits. Would I stay again, that would depent on the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booked as was good value for a business trip so was not expecting too much. Front of hotel and reception is small and plain which does not do hotel justice. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Highlight of trip was the bar and its bar staff. The bar is modern and funky and it does not feel like you are still in hotel, staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable and made many recommendations for beers and cocktails. Breakfast is a buffet style with lots of choice offering both fresh fruit and a full English fry. This hotel is very central, its a five minute walk to Deansgate and to the shops. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_ohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin J, General Manager at Arora Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review i am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and great bar. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 120 in Manchester
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Manchester

Address: 18-24 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Manchester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#15 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $89 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arora Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Hotel Manchester
Manchester Arora International Hotel
Arora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing