We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rump'n'Ribs

Rump'n'Ribs
Ranked #60 of 2,245 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We visited here early on a Saturday evening having planned to go elsewhere, so had no reservation.

When we entered asking for a table for 6, we were quickly shown to a large table set for 8 and the other 2 place settings were removed. By the time we left, the restaurant was full and it was probably a good job that we called in early.

Our very nice waitress came and introduced herself and took our drinks order (they don't serve any alcohol) and £2.50 for a bottle of coke is not good value for money but tap water (served nicely in a bottle) is free.

We eventually chose our meals and after a little wait, which indicated everything was being freshly prepared (and you could see the food being cooked anyway) our meals arrived and all agreed that the steaks were prepared as requested and the other dishes, (burger, salmon and chicken) were very nice.

The sides are a little pricey but overall our bill, with a reasonable tip, came to £135 so not ridiculous but this was just for a main course, side and drinks each.

Our waitress was very helpful and charming without being at all pushy and this was a pleasant start to our evening at the theatre.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prefdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    241
    103
    52
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth A Try..!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

A group of us decided to dine here on a whim following an afternoon of retail therapy. Having been courteously greeted at the door, our wait wasn't lengthy considering we hadn't booked a table. Not the set up expected (considering the prices) as it was a tight squeeze & having been seated at the table in the centre, there was a huge reluctance to use the ladies room as not to inconvenience neighbouring customers! Although the steaks are averagely priced, the sides on offer are unfairly costly but being based in central Manchester, I'm assuming the overheads are extortionate and somebody has to cover them! For those of you who aren't accustomed to seeing steak sauce as an optional on the menu, be prepared to dip deep into your pockets! On the contrary, the T-Bone steak was a substantial size and just about worth the £18, with a meal for 4 costing us over £120 in total. Please note, alcohol is not available on the premises as there were many disappointed customers making their way out having waited half an hour for a table! Also note, with it being central Manchester be prepared to experience the turmoil of finding a parking spot without adding another £20 to your bill! The service nevertheless was excellent so we had no qualms on that front. I wouldn't rush back for a second experience but it's worth a try for those of you feeling adventurous!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globe_Trotters9612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Went twice in 1 week and each time the food and service was brilliant. Who needs alcohol to enjoy food? Just silly for

Helpful?
1 Thank SHAHAAB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Steak & Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

It is not very often that I leave reviews, however I decided to make an exception on this occasion. We were in Manchester for a few days and found this place, it can be a nightmare driving around in city centres trying to find a good restaurant or parking but with a valet service outside the restaurant it proved to be a great start to the evening.

The service was exceptional and the food was fantastic! Personally I recommend the ribs and T-Bone, the quality was amazing and we will certainly be back in the near future. Keep up the good work and thank you for making it an enjoyable evening with some great cuts off meat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank localchap293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“!st time was god but 2 time not as good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Me and my mate eat here in the first week of it opening and we love it :) we had a nice talk with the the people that own it. We went back on Wed 9/10/2013 and we both think it as gone down hall. First the the staff was on there phone. We told the staff what we would like and he was very nice. When are food come the meat come to the table first and we was waiting 4-5 minuses for the chips to come by they come the meat was half cold. We was hoping the chips was going to come in a chip buckets like last time it was nice but no we didn't have that. Also it was like eating like a kid with the plastic tablecloths it dint feel nice and dint look nice. Also the plastic tablecloths was to big and didn't look very nice.After the first time eating there we was telling everyone about it but after this time we don't think we will. But we was talking to a nice man that work there and he said we was going to work on it. My mate work next door the Rump and Ribs so we will see if it get any better.
For what we paid we was hope for the litter bit more

PLEASE BIN THE PLASTIC TABLECLOTHS AND GET THE CHIP BUCKETS BACK!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rump'n'Ribs also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Rump'n'Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing