We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible staff and atmosphere - completely misses the mark”

Manchester Bierkeller
Ranked #1,421 of 2,252 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: German, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible staff and atmosphere - completely misses the mark”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is awful; I have been once and shall not be returning.

The staff are terrible and do not seem to care about the customers at all. The bar staff underfill the drinks and seem to think it acceptable to do so. The glasses are plastic - not authentic at all!

The place is devoid of any atmosphere and completely sterile, as is so often the case with bars in the printworks.

I have been to many beer halls, both in Germany and the UK, and this is the worst of all of them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    26
    33
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Good!!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Having visited other Bierkellers and found good food but poor service we gave the new Manchester venue a try. Well in understanding it was only a couple of months old we were expecting great service. The experience could not have been worse.

Having waited a couple of minutes near a the seating stand we went to the two bar staff who were stood doing nothing. On being told "just sit anywhere" we did.

Then the fun began, we order a pizza each chips and salad. After 30 minutes my pizza came with the salad then five minutes late the chips still another pizza missing, no reason or apology. After another five minutes when I had finished my pizza my wife received her pizza. No apology or attempt to explain. In short I won't be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Teething problems not an excuse”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Its been open long enough for excuses about teething problems to be valid. 10 minutes to get served on a weeknight with only 1 member of staff who didn't know about the offers or deals. Playing pop music in a Bavarian themed bar makes no sense either-why not have Bavarian music in the background?
As this is a chain, these negatives aren't teething problems. They are fundamental flaws. It had great expectations for me, but they have really disappointed me. Had friends who have had problems with aggressive security staff too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Me_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to go with mates!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is HUGE.. we went as a group of 10 people. we all had the pint and a half jugs of beer. its amazing. i felt like i was in germany having a traditional beer! its a must everyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 684walker1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Visited with friends this week. We had booked a table and arrived and there was nobody to greet us at the restaurant stand. We wandered in and had to ask at the bar and they just let us sit where we wanted. The place is very big. It is surprising that they have a sports bar and a large tv area for sports viewing yet are quite strict on dress codes from what i have read. There were people wearing football shirts so maybe they were allowed that particular evening for the football. We had to pay for the drinks at the table which was a bit surprising, they must think everyone who drinks and dines will run off without paying. Drinks were expensive but the food menu was reasonable. If you are looking for a sit down waited service then don't go here, it was a snack sort of menu with only a few snack choices. I assume the bar had a reasonable selection of German lagers although we only had the 1 drink and the 2-4-1 offer on steins wasnt on because of the football! Great way to draw in customers. I understand the reasons why it was probably not on but still, if you advertise the football and show the football, there should be some sort of deal for people who will be spending their cash drinking your beers. It soon filled up when the football began, lucky we had just finished our meal and drinks and were ready to leave. It was clear that the place is still up and coming, there needs to be a few more offers for people who are going to be in there all night and maybe an area 'sports free'. Overall food was nice, service quick, friendly staff, I just think the areas need to be staffed evenly but I guess that will be organised better soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SPH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Bierkeller also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Bierkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing