We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment hotel, central location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great apartment hotel, central location!”
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed at this hotel 3 times and would recommend it to anyone, its quiet, modern and spacious in a great location (5 min walk to the main shopping area) with a good carpark around the back. Has a fully equipted kitchen for making that all important breakfast, large tv, dvd player and nice comfy beds. The interior is a loft apartment style with red brick walls and the building itself is a unique old factory, which gives the hotel alot of charm and character. The prices for a stay here have gone up dramaticaly in the last few years, im not sure how happy id be paying full price, as i'v always managed to book it cheaper on lastminute etc. Def worth a visit though.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazyvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    390
    153
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Had a fantastic stay at The Place. It was so convenient having our own kitchen and dining space.It meant that we managed to save stress and money by not dining out with the children (9months and 3years) for the whole of our stay. We stayed in one of the standard apartments which was very spacious with two good sized double bedrooms and a kitchen / dining and living area. Also two good sized bathrooms.

Its location in the city is perfect- just a couple of minutes walk from picadilly station and a short walk to the shops.

I would definately use The Place again as a base for our city break and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy6220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

The customer serveice we recieved from start to finish for this stay was appaling. Firstly a key card wouldn't work which took several phone calls and trips to reception to resolve. Worst of all was after our night out, returning to the hotel to be confroned by a security gaurd armed with a guest list. Our group were either not on the list, or he couldn't read? When I asked whay should I do - sleep in my car, he replied you better had, hadn't you (I couldn'y my car keys were in my room!) After around 15 mins of getting no where my friend managed to make it to reception who reluctanlty let us through. Once in the room, a receptionist then proceeded to come and check each of our rooms incase we had smuggled intruders in. We were made to feel like crimnals. This hotel obviously has problems with guests coming to party, but if they are going to operate such a strict poilcy they should ensure that their guest list is correct. As for the hotel, great concept, great location just all a bit tired. We had a very dirty ironing board, which you wouldn't want to put any of your clothes on. We then struggled to get out of the hotel the next day as their coin operated barrier failed, which took further two trips to reception to sort - by that time all we wanted to do was get out of the place!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

A sympathetic conversion of a huge building from Manchesters past industrial glory.
True 'loft style' apartments on 6 floors around a vast floor to roof central atrium - unfortunately a bit prison- like but the uniqueness of the style appealed to us. The 2 of us were allocated a vacant 2 bedroom unit - plenty of space, 2 bathrooms, thro lounge/diner/kitchen. Typical loft style features- high ceilings, exposed brickwork & girders & lots of space.
Apart from cooking our own breakfast the comprehensive kitchen equipment remained unused as there is such an infinite & varied choice of cafes & restaurants within the city (& The Place has its own restaurant & bar).
The bed was comfy with only minimal disturbance from traffic noise on Ducie street but general soundproofing in the building is poor & we could hear the' thump-thump' from a party in the basement & doors banging well into the early hours. Also the internal facing bedrooms might also suffer from noises/ footsteps/ intoxicated youthful exuberance reverberating thro the central atrium.
All in all we were very happy with our 2 night stay - a tad pricey but very clean & well organised, a short walk from Picaddily train station & 10 minute walk to the city centre. Reception staff efficient & friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didsdaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Myself, my husband and two daughters aged 6 and 4 came to this hotel apartment complex for a shopping trip. The actual exterior of the building was impressive as was the reception area. However, our two bedroom apartment lacked the same wow factor. We had a very strange layout in the lounge area as the table and chairs were squeezed into a small space so we had to pull them in and out every time we wanted to used them. All the internal doors are on springs therefore self closing which was terribly dangerous for the two children. In the main bathroom there was a heated towel rail which never turned off and was situated right next to the toilet so it was dangerous for the children as it was scalding hot. Conversely the towel rail in the ensuite never turned on. The windows which were in the bedrooms were lovely to look at but very, very draughty and definitely not sound proof. In the lounge there were wires lying on the floors and the dishwasher did not work properly as the spring on the dishwasher tablet door was broken and therefore did not open - I dread to think when the dishes in this particular apartment were last properly cleaned.
The apartment could definitely do with an update as there were very bad scuff marks on the floor and the grout was lifting from the bathroom floor tiles. The housekeeping was basic at best, floors were still dirty and there were balls of dust behind doors, towels which were left to be changed were taken away but not replaced and the bedroom windows were left wide open all day while we were out and when we returned in the evening the apartment was freezing and took three hours to heat properly because the heater in the lounge did not work!
I have stayed in similar apartments in Belfast and Glasgow and can accept that these types of apartments can be quirky in shape and basic in their fixtures and fittings, but cleanliness and safety are non negotiable! I would definitely not recommend these apartments to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyroneHuggybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Well located, comfortable and convenient for a weekend away with the family. Starting with the negatives, the hotel itself and the parking are not pram/pushchair friendly. There's no lift from the underground car park, so you have to either carry your baby up the stairs and go back for the pushchair, or push the pushchair up the one-way blind bend car ramp - NOT ideal (especially if you arrive on your own and have to do this without help from the family!). Once you're on ground level you're faced with carrying the push chair up the outside steps to get in to reception, or going in the back door and using the disabled wheelchair lift to get the pushchair up to reception, and then using the wheelchair lift again to get back down to the main lifts in order to get up to your apartment! This is not helped by the fact that if you're on your own you need to shout up to reception to get them to come and operate the wheelchair lift (or of course, you can do what I did, and ask a kindly stranger to alert reception that someone needs to use the wheelchair lift). So, not a great start to the stay.If you don't have young children/babies the above won't pose a problem, and once we'd finally got to the apartment we forgot all about it. The apartments are clean, warm and well equipped. They're also well laid out and perfect for a stay with the family (we had a deluxe corner aprtment, which i'd recommend unless you want your aprtment windows looking out in to the atrium). Bedrooms/bathrooms are just as you would expect and find in an everyday hotel; the sitting/dining/kitchen open living area is light and perfect for a lazy cuppa after a hard days shopping/sight seeing. All the pans/utensils/etc. you could need are there, just take the essentials. Or, alternatively, there's a late opening Tesco Metro just round the corner for all the bits you need (milk, bread, sausages, bacon etc.).
I'd stay there again, but perhaps not until my son's walking and we can manage without the pushchair.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We stayed here for a night at the end of May as part of my Hen Weekend with 3 friends. The apartment itself was spacious, contemporary and very comfortable. The building was also to the same standards. Great location too, exactly where you need to be. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area and would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefaz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#40 of 118 in Manchester
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing