We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #47 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed July 13, 2006

My wife, two adult daughters and I occupied a de-luxe two bedroom apartment at The Place in Ducie Street Manchester on 2, 3 & 4 June 2006. And we were delighted with all aspects of our accommodation. We arrived at The Place at about 8.30am on 2nd. June, tired after a long flight from Australia, expecting to have to leave our luggage and wander the city until about 2.00pm. But we were pleasantly surprised to find that at such an early hour our apartment was immediately available. That was brilliant. At 200 Pounds a night (booked by internet from Australia) our apartment was not cheap, but it was worth every English penny. Formerly a cotton warehouse built in the 1800's the 7 storey building has been gutted and rebuilt as an apartment hotel. But inside the building it retains its original iron columns and wrought iron box girders with concave brick ceilings as an attractive feature of its original history. We had very spacious accommodation, including an open lounge room and kitchen in addition to our two bedrooms. Each bedroom had its own bathroom. The lounge contained TV, CD and other audio-visual gear and the kitchen was fitted with all manner of electrical equipment, including a large refridgerator, microwave, hotplates, oven, sink, dishwasher, etc. and there was even a small laundry equipped with a clothes washer/drier. There were electric convector and storage heaters in all rooms, but as our arrival had coincided with an English heatwave these were not required. Maintenance levels were good in all rooms. The windows which opened to the outside kept the apartment at a nice temperature. Reception and house-keeping staff were pleasant and efficient, and the reception desk was staffed 24/7. Our apartment had windows which overlooked the Ashton Canal. The apartments are only 200 metres or so from the Picadilly railway station, the terminus for local trains, trams and buses and is ideally situated. Security was excellent, with an electronic fob system, allowing only guests to access main entrances and the elevators. There was no internet lounge (our only disappointment), although internet facilities are available in each apartment for guests with their own lap-tops. We stayed on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday. On the Saturday night there was a large "party" population in residence, but our apartment remained ultra quiet through the night. We didn't dine at the Cotton House restaurant on the ground floor of the building, nor did we use the building's car park facilities. As this was our first trip to Manchester we were most impressed by this outstanding level of accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wasamaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2006

Our second stay at the Place after a gap of two years. We came back because we enjoyed it last time. We would perhaps not have paid the full list price, but the Place often appears on late booking sites that make it a real bargain at weekends (if there are no big events on in Manchester) and we picked up a good price for the weekend we needed.

The location is very good. Next to Piccadilly station (trains to the East, South, and airport, trams to Lowry and War Museums, and free buses all over the city centre), and two big, cheap car parks (one outdoor, one indoor and very secure) - and very close to the Northern Quarter (zillion good old real ale pubs, and trendy bars as well) / Canal Street (gay village) / Piccadilly Gardens (city centre) areas. The building is a conversion of a very big and impressive canalside warehouse.

The reception staff were very efficient and polite, and we were checked very quickly. We were on the first floor, which is the base of the atrium externding up through all the other six floors - very impressive. Our apartment was the "standard type", with L-shaped living room/kitchen, and separate bedroom and bathroom. Very attractive and modern - with an odd "gimmick": the living rooms windows faced INSIDE (to the atrium). Strange! But once you are used to it, it's good fun to see people coming and going in the day (there are blinds if you want privacy). The kitchen was well-fitted out, the bathroom very warm, with enough room, a bath, and a powerful, copious hot shower, and good quality towels. The bed was conforatble, in a big- enough room, with a small outside window.

THE PROBLEM
... was noise from the restaurant directly under our room. We were told it was a private party, finishing at 1am. When it didn't, we rang reception again. This time they apologsed, and immediately brought us a key so we could move to a different apartment. Fair enough, nice of them to respond, but a bit of a pain to move.

Our new apartment was on the 7th floor. It turned out to be a penthouse apartment - on two levels - with two bedrooms - both ensuite - and two balconies (one on either side, with fantastic views over Manchester). The bedrooms and bathrooms were very good, but the top-floor living room and kitchen (and city views) were excellent. I hate to think what this apartment would have cost at full price - but at the rate of a cut-price standard apartment it was wonderful (our stay was for three nights).

So - a great place to stay. If you are not in Manchester to party all night (and lots of people are, including us on other occasions) , then you might want to avoid the first floor immediately over the restaurant. Or perhaps to be sure of a good sleep in the summer (when you might have a window open), it would be best to be on another SIDE of the bulding (our second apartment was, ad there was no noise whatsoever from the party). With a window open, the restaurant might be intrusive on any floor on that side. Or you could always complain....

Although we were near the station, the Place is at the other end from where the trains go in and out, so the train noise was not intrusive at all. Also, the Place is not on a "pubs and clubs" street, OR a major road, so there is no "party animal noise" or significant car engine noise from the streets.

The response of the staff to our problem indicates that they would be quick to sort out any issues that arose. (I have more confidence in a place that has proved it responds well, than in a place where nothing has gone wrong!).

The restaurant is useful during the day, will send food up to your room, and does breakfast (not included in our room rate).

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank ChrisTheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2006

I first stayed at The Place almost exactly a year ago - and back then i found the staff surly, the rooms dirty and the bill very inaccurate. What a difference a year makes. The location could never be faulted - less than a 5 minute walk from Picadilly Station, but now the staff were friendly and my room was spotless. It was also a bargain - £85/night including breakfast and I got a free upgrade to a 2 bed apartment without even asking for one, just because they were practically empty.
If you need to stay in Manchester for more than a night then this is perfect for you with a fully equipped kitchen. And it has a restaurant next door which is good as well.
The only drawback is the building work currently happening opposite, but i stayed there for a few nights and the work finished promptly at 5pm and didnt start before 8.30 in the morning.
You are minutes from the shops, the city centre offices, good bars and, if it's your thing, the city's gay quarter and Chinatown.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

I recently spent a night at the Place with my daughter and sister in law when we travelled to Manchester for the Take That concert.
We booked a 2 bed luxury apartment which was brilliant. Everything we needed was there including complimentary toileteries, tea, coffee etc and fresh milk in the fridge.
The staff were excellent and more than helpful as regards taxi and restaurant info.
There is an excellent bar and restaurant (The Cotton House) situated on the ground floor.
I would definitely choose this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denny54Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Keswick
28
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Lovely friendly polite staff on reception, fantastic apartment which wanted for nothing. Spotlessly clean all mod cons, towels linen, soaps etc., carnt wait to go again on my next shopping trip. Cotton club very very nice, lovely friendly staff nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2006

After reading a number of the recent reviews on this site, I was a bit apprehensive about booking a recent 3 night stay in the Place. However I have to say that I liked it alot. I stayed in a one bedroom room which was spotless with all the facilities that a person needs. The staff I found to be friendly with some of the reception staff being very helpful and went to great lenghts to recommend places to see and things to do. The Place is not a cheap option when staying in Manchester, but if you like the freedom of 4* self catering in the heart of Manchester, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ger75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2006

Myself and three friends visited The Place for a Birthday celebration on 7 Jan so we decided to splash out on one of the Penthouse suites for a special treat. This cost £320 for one night so we were expecting something pretty special. I have stayed at The Place several times and would always recommend it to friends visiting Manchester for shopping/concerts/nights out as the whole idea of having your own apartment as opposed to a small crowded hotel room has always appealed. We have always enjoyed previous stays. However, this was the first time in the Penthouse so expectations were prety high! First impressions of the Penthouse were great, it pretty much looked like I expected it to...

Nice spacious rooms, minimalistic furnishings, lots of windows and some french doors which lead out on to a kind of shared (with all the other guests!) terrace area. Lovely trendy bathrooms. Great safe and easy parking. Nice pictures on the walls, comfy beds and nice bedding, a robe and slippers on the bed. Trendy, fairly well equipped kitchen. Ironing board, washing machine...pretty much everything you need. Nice efficient, friendly staff too. We were quite excited when we saw our rooms.

I'd like to start by saying that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and don't want to totally slag off the place but just want to warn people that if they are expecting perfection, then think again. Here are a few of the bad bits....

1. Only enough hot water in the morning for ONE of our party of four to have a bath!
2. Windows and glass areas looked grubby i.e. finger prints all over them.
3. Window ledge areas had not been cleaned. We actually saw a toe nail on there! Ewghhh!!
4. Ash tray FULL of cigarettes outside our patio door.... that area obviously had not been cleaned at all.
5. Grout on bathroom floor tiles loose and dusty. No toilet roll holders in there either.
6. Blinds damaged and looked old. Definitely need replacing, they looked tatty.
7. Downstairs bedrooms' "private terraces" a bit boring. It's just a concrete square...not very inviting at all. Could do with maybe a couple of plant pots out there to make it a bit more cheerful (like the picture on their web site perhaps!) and say some chairs and a parasol for the summer so you would actualy WANT to sit out there.
8. Patio doors leading to the shared "smoking area" outside were unlocked on arrival....ANYONE could have crept in there! Made me feel a little uneasy.
9. Sofas nice and comfy but a bit tired looking.
10. Wooden floors clearly hadn't been cleaned as there were still little sparkly confetti stars all over it from what was probably a New Years eve party!
11. No instructions in the room regarding how to use the cooker etc (we have always has a "welcome pack") in the past giving all this information.

I could probably carry on nit-picking for a week but those are just a few of my concerns about these rooms. I woulld like to end though by saying that i WOULD stay here again because I love the concept and feel of the place as it's a much more sociable way to enjoy a break with friends. The staff are very friendly and I dare say that if we complained, they probably would have given us a discount on the room (even just for the lack of hot water) but to be honest, we were tired and hung over when we left and just wanted to get to Primark before we went home!! ha ha! I just hope The Place can get their act together and act upon the complaints because it's a lovely building with lots of plus points and has the potential to become one of THE top places to stay in Manchester.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mrswilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 120 in Manchester
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 120 in Manchester
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $937 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing