We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #45 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just came back from a weekend stay in Manchester's The Place Aparthotel, where we had a two bedroom apartment that sleeps 6 (three kingsize beds). Our first night was spent in a lovely apartment on the 1st floor, unfortunately due to there being a function on the ground floor which was enjoying the sounds of an extremely loud drum and bass DJ, we were unable to go to sleep until after 1am. After spending the entire day travelling up from Plymouth, our party of three adults and three children were hoping for a good nights sleep, which sadly evaded us. After complaining, we were moved to a much quieter 6th floor apartment in the morning. As compensation for our rubbish first night, we were all given a free breakfast. Apart from this the rest of the stay was great hence the good trip advisor rating, the staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough, especially housekeeping. The apartments were lovely, loads of space and everything you could need for your stay. Fluffy towels, hairdryers, dishwasher, TVs and DVD, docking station etc. Close to city centre shops and Piccadilly station. Will definitely return but will request an apartment on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taradac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Following a previous review, posted on the 1st night of your stay, we are pleased that our actions to rectify the situation resulted in the rest of your stay being 'Great'. We are delighted that you would definitely return to stay with us and look forward to extending a warm welcome when you next visit Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
There are newer reviews for The Place Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed in this great warehouse conversation behind Piccadilly Station for the 3rd time in recent years. Reception friendly, accommodation (1 bed apartment spotless) was top notch! Great venue for all central attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Our greatest pleasure and recommendation is when guests return to stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your experience. We are delighted that your apartment was 'Top Notch' and we hope to extend another warm welcome to you the next time you visit Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I dealt with Hayley Bryce from the start to finish of my booking and her service was fantastic. She responded to every one of my queries immediately and I was so impressed with her service I felt she deserved a mention.
After asking for a combination of rooms to sleep 8 with at least 1 room big enough for us all to gather in for a chat we were advised to book the 2 bedroomed deluxe apartments x 2. They did not disappoint! They were huge. We stayed on a hen weekend and booked to have dance classes in the afternoon so when we got to the apartments we were well impressed that there was enough room to practice our dancing.

When we went to bed on the first night at about 1am we could hear the music from the bar/club as we were on the 2nd floor above the bar (on the ground floor) but it is Manchester city centre and we would completely expect to hear some noise plus it was warm so our window was open.

We found all staff friendly and smiley. The secure parking was excellent and we would recommend this place over and over again.

Forget any review that says this is hen/stag only place. One direction were playing this weekend and the hotel was full of families. It was very refreshing to stay somewhere that catered for everyone.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroomed deluxe rooms are on the corners of the building which means the living rooms look ou...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emlou210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and recommendation. Delighted to read that you all enjoyed your stay and our 2 bedroomed deluxe apartments 'did not disappoint'. We will pass on your kind comments directly to our team and hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Only a few things to say really.
1. You have to pay a £100 deposit for the room. This deposit then takes 3-5 working days to be given back to me! We were not told about this at check in so now I am just waiting to get my money back.

2. They took my card details and took the payment too despite then telling us that we could pay cash in the morning! Just a bit annoying really.

Lovely apartment, clean and huge. We had a room with 2 double rooms, there were four of us. But I think you could easily squeeze 7 in as the beds are huge and the sofa is comfy. Just makes it cheaper.

Annoying about the £100 but hey ho. That's life. Never mind.

There were crisps and snacks in the room but they were mega pricey so we hid them so we weren't tempted.

That is all.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank hannah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience. It is good to read that your apartment was lovely, clean and huge with a comfy sofa. The security deposit is explained on all confirmation letters and we also advertise this online. It is our normal hotel policy to take a swipe of a card as a pre-auth for any incidentals or damages. No money is taken, it is just pre-authorised. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to extend another warm welcome the next time you visit Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We are currently staying at this hotel in room 103. It is now 1am and all three adults and three children are still awake due to the banging music coming from down stairs! Despite booking this room over 6 months ago as a family we were placed in a room right over the venue suit. The base is so loud it is impossible to sleep. We have three young children with us who are also being disturbed. When we complained to reception asking him to ask the DJ to turn the base down they said " I can ask the DJ but he won't be happy" and I can't make him, or words similar. My advice is don't stay. I won't be ever again. There appears to be a very good Premiere Inn close by.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ademorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We would normally allocate families on higher floors to avoid any noise disturbance from functions and we apologise that this didn’t happen in this instance. The following morning we offered a room move to the 6th floor together with complimentary breakfasts. We intend to contact you directly to express our apology and invite you back for a complimentary stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for my birthday with my partner, we booked a 2 bedroom deluxe apartment which we found spacious, the apartment wasn't as clean as you would expect which resulted in us having to do some of a spring clean, which we didn't mind. The hotel is close to all the amenities and within 5 minutes walk to Piccadilly station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiraLuvsDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

We hope that you enjoyed your birthday and are pleased that you found our apartments spacious and conveniently located within minutes from Piccadilly station. We take great pride in providing clean, stylish and well-presented apartments and will pass on your valuable feedback directly to our housekeeping team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you again the next time you visit Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on Friday and Saturday nights 9/10 May for the wedding of our son. Extended family from Devon also stayed. We booked 10 apartments in all. The accommodation was excellent. The staff very helpful and cooperative. The wedding was superb with the food and ambience created, just perfect. A fantastic weekend in all. Thanks.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111 as parents of the groom. The drinks reception was served just outside our doo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arabian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Many thanks for your lovely comments and feedback. We agree, it really was a wonderful weekend and everything went to plan. Delighted that you thought our apartments were excellent and everyone enjoyed the wedding celebrations. Our kindest regards to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 120 in Manchester
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 120 in Manchester
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
La Reserve ApartHotel
La Reserve ApartHotel
#9 of 79 in Manchester
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $90 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing