We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Penthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #47 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for one night, upgraded to a penthouse room. Worth the upgrade, based over 2 floors, ground floor two bedrooms, both with en suite, leading to a massive outside patio area, with comfy chilling furniture. Upstairs very spacious, open plan fully equipped kitchen, dining area and lounge, Leading out to a shared veranda. The rooms were spotless and the beds were lovely and comfy. Service was good, there does seem to be a lot of weddings going on, but that didn't bother us. Underground park £9 for 24hrs is good value in Manchester. The location is ideal for a night out in the northern quarter. Defo go again. Only slight gripe was that an alarm kept going off in our room, turned out to be the dishwasher door open.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank CHILLOUT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback following your recent stay in our Penthouse Apartment. We hope to extend a warm welcome to you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our visit was part of the birthday celebration for my fiancé and was a surprise. We had a wonderfully relaxing time and an opportunity to look around the city. Thank you to all the staff who were very friendly and most helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and pleased to read that the surprise birthday celebration for your fiancé was a success. We hope to welcome you back to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This must be the worst hotel in the World I have ever stayed at. The staff , mainly reception staff and management are the rudest most unhelpful unfriendly people I have ever encountered in all my life. The manager called Gav in particular had no customer service or people skills whatsoever . After losing our booking we were told a pack of lies time after time and he covered the whole thing up by lying to his manager . We were left stranded at the hotel reception , neArly having to make our Way back home all the way to Scotland until we Were eventually able to book thru late rooms . This was a surprise birthday weekend for one of our friends and she ended up in tears standing in the reception area as the staff did bit have a care in the world. I have never been so mortified and humiliated at a hotel in all my life. There are lots of fab hotels in manchester .. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE O PLEAD WITH U ALL !!!! U will regret it !!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Scotsbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Scotsbro., this review refers to a previous review concerning the same booking issue posted by Ashley N . I would therefore invite you to read the management reply we posted at the time:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please note that friends or relatives bookings must be organised through our Reservations Department and approved by management prior to arrival. Unfortunately there was no record of your booking and no booking confirmation could be produced either. I appreciate how frustrating it was for your plans to be disrupted but I would recommend, however, that you contact Reservations directly in the future in order for your booking to be processed and confirmed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor, very light, spacious and clean ! Great facilities ! We had great views of the city ! The bedrooms were lovely and comfy beds !! Only issue was the main shower was freezing ( not sure why cause everything else had hot water ) not a major issue cause we did have another shower it just meant waiting longer as there was 4 ppl wanting to use it and also there was a glugging sound in the toilet whenever any other apartments flushed the toilet, again not a huge issue as we just closed the doors but was quite annoying during the night when it's quiet ! Breakfast was excellent so much choice and fresh ! All in all a good stay and would return !

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank gemmalou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad your enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again soon when you return to Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Good Points
The apartment size and equipment provided - plenty of tea and coffee, much more than you would get in other hotels
The bedroom was lovely and really enjoyed the window seat!
Very friendly and helpful male receptionist on reception - we didn't catch his name but he was the reception manager
The location - very central and would be good for the train station
The fact that it has its own car park - although for those of us who are not so good at parking - the spaces were very difficult to get in.
The bar - we thought the prices were quite reasonable for a hotel and, although there was a wedding going on, we never had to wait very long

The Bad Points
No bath in the room
Couldn't get the water in the shower to go particularly hot
Maids waiting outside for us to leave despite it being half an hour before check out when we left

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken all your comments into account. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Where do i begin after travelling all the way to manchester we arrive to the most rude reception i have ever experienced the booking is mixed up and her rude response is what do you want me to do oh how proffesional . The staff then ignore us and check other people in as we sit with all our luggage stranded on our phones googling hotels that had availabilty eventualy along comes a manager who basicaly offers another room at a higher cost and its the attitude of the rooms are filling up fast you need to decide what you want to do we show them that we can get the same room on late rooms.com at a lower price could they meet that price response was no go online and book and come back to us and we can check you in by this time the birthday girl just says lets go home the rest refuse to spoil the weekend and go online to book it we then are told to go sit down as it takes fiffteen mins to come through several people in the reception area spoke to us and could not believe how rude and unhelpful the staff where to us we where so embarrased . The next day they found one of the bookings but continued to lie and tell us severeal different things that didnt match up .the hotel is nice but after having to pay out more and the way we where treated i would never stay here again utterly appaling customer service this hotel totaly made us feel unwelcome.The attitude was of a manner of we dont care a guess the sayings true money talks we asked if they could include brakfast and where told no its ten pounds each !!! im sure i will see a reply from the manager on this denying it all and giving me a smart answer but again it will show how rude they are .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please note that friends or relatives bookings must be organised through our Reservations Department and approved by management prior to arrival. Unfortunately there was no record of your booking and no booking confirmation could be produced either. I appreciate how frustrating it was for your plans to be disrupted but I would recommend, however, that you contact Reservations directly in the future in order for your booking to be processed and confirmed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely rooms, well equipped, ideal for family's with children. Great location. The only negative is that we found the breakfast overpriced and felt breakfast should have been included in the room rate. Apart from that - brilliant and would recommend .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Breakfast is included in our bed and breakfast packages and only cost £10 per adult for a full English breakfast with a wide selection of hot and cold options from the buffet and our cooked-to-order menu. Breakfast is £5 for children under 13 and complimentary for children under 5 years old.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#40 of 120 in Manchester
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $937 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing