We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot, great food but needs a freshen up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great spot, great food but needs a freshen up”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for a second time for 10 nights whilst I was racing at the Manchester Velodrome. The service is generally good. The location is great and easy to get to public transport and shopping. The restaurant food has definitely improved from 2 years ago, really nice and well presented with good options. The apartments are spacious, great for families, however they are starting to look tired. The bath had signs of mould, there were no shower caps or face washers, and the pressure in the bath/shower was poor as well as the tap function broken.Housekeeping was inconsistent, sometimes dirty towels were left in the rooms, and little things like teabags and sugar were not restocked. These are all little things but added together made a difference to our stay. Be aware that there are often conferences and weddings, parties etc going on especially on the weekends, but this didn't effect us much.

Room Tip: Ask to go to the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food service. We have taken your comments into consideration and hope to see you again when you return to manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    389
    153
    63
    39
See reviews for
263
214
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a wonderful short stay here with 2 children. The hotel is just around the corner from Picadillly station which was great for us as we arrived by train. It is also well located for exploring Manchester. The room/apartment was large, clean, and well equipped. There was a dishwasher and washing machine/dryer and complimentary tea and coffee. There were also robes and slippers (which delighted our children). The staff were friendly and helpful. We had asked for an early check-in and this went smoothly. We also had a DVD player which refused to work and this was replaced quickly and without fuss. I can't comment on the restaurant as we prepared food in our well equipped kitchen. There are also numerous restaurants and convenience stores nearby. We had a great time and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highland_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is gratifying to know that our apartments offer the flexibility to ensure that family stays are so enjoyable. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for five nights at the start of our trip around England. Our stay in Manchester was very comfortable thanks to the Place. Our two bedroom apartment was very spacious and clean with all the needed amenities. Staff and service were impeccable and promptly addressed our concerns. We noticed the Place attracted a lot of hen and stag party guests but this did not negatively impact on our stay. The location of the Place is also superb. We were able to walk to Manchester Piccadilly and the Chorlton Street Coach station with no difficulty, enabling us to comfortably explore the Peak District. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_npear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and you were not disturbed during your stay. I hope you plan a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Eight of us stayed in The Place apartments for my birthday as we came to Manchester for the weekend. As usual the apartments were spotless, very high spec and perfect location. The girls all enjoyed our weekend but said it was made more special by the accommodation. Reception staff were brilliant as was security early in the morning. Thanks again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Usually stay at the Double Day Inn just off Piccadilly Station but with a party conference going on in Manchester the prices doubled!

First time stay in the Place Apartment Hotel, a very short walk from Piccadilly Station, five minutes walk off Piccadilly Gardens.

One bedroom apartment was ideal, apartment clean and homely for a three night stay.

Had breakfast each morning, used gym.

Will stop there again on next trip to Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLAJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again on your next business trip to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for the 3rd year running the hotel was really clean and couldn't be better site being a short walk from the railway station and half a mile from the shopping centre. The reception staff couldn't be more friendly and price wise accommodation was really reasonable. The bar area did lack a little something in atmosphere but overall excellent value for money

Room Tip: There is parking at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCCantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just got back from our mini honeymoon where we stayed at The Place. When we arrives on Tuesday I was struck by how lovely it looked. A proper old factory building. When we checked in the staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was explained well and we were offered various options for dinner and breakfast. There was also a porter service but we declined this. We found our apartment very easily. And it was gorgeous! ! A lovely spaced living room, well equipped kitchen, bathroom was nice and clean. The bedroom was nicely decorated although a little small when we had to fit a cot in there too but adequate enough after a little moving around. I would say the only thing I would suggest is slightly more comfortable sofas.
We had breakfast on the first morning and the selection was huge. Service was good too. We had dinner on the Wednesday and there were several different menus with plenty of choice and the food was exceptional.
The hotel surrounding was lovely amd it was very peaceful even with weddings and hen parties in full swing.
I would definitely go back again if we go back to Manchester.
And finally a big thank you to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable and helped us with anything that we needed

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicityj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your superb review and great comments about the team. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and food service and hope to see you soon when you return to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
1,561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 116 in Manchester
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing