We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding package” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Place Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #35 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wedding package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner and I had our Civil Partnership at the Place in September 2013, it was simply amazing. The service, staff and environment were exemplary and outstanding. We had the first floor atrium as our ceremony venue, and it was perfect and beautifully laid out. The meal was sumptuous, and all our guests commented on how delicious the food was, including a top chef! It was efficient, friendly, they couldn't do enough for you and everything was a pleasure. I didn't worry one bit knowing we were in the best, safest and professional hands.
Our honeymoon suite was breathtaking, with red rose petals scattered as you walked in to the bed, along with a bottle of champagne, flowers, and bathrobes/slippers. We sat on the balcony with our fizz reflecting on the best day ever with a beautiful Manchester skyline view.
I highly recommend The Place, simply brilliant to work with and they made our day.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the penthouses on the 7th floor, you won't be dissapointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjleslie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and I am glad we helped make it a fantastic day for you and your partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    384
    152
    63
    39
See reviews for
262
213
22
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had two apartments both 2 bedroom on the 4th and 6th floors. It was in July and it was hot. Thank goodness we did have outside windows,these we had had open all the time so it was a bit noisy on a night. The apartments are a great size, would be quite happy to live in one full time, they were well equipped in the kitchen. We ate lunch in the bar area on our first day and it was lovely, great value for money and the girl who waited on us was really nice. Breakfasts were good with lots of choice,the service here was good on some mornings and so so on others depending on the staff members who were working . The apartment is in a great position, very easy to walk around the city and access the tram system. The only downside we felt was that the apartments were not as clean (bathrooms and bedding) as they could be and that the staircase has never seen a hoover in a long time! All in all though we had a great stay and would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with external windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28970Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here last night. Very central, at the side of the rail station, a serviced apartment. Very modern loved the central atrium and the atmosphere. Smallish room, and the bathroom/shower facilities were almost built in a corridor style. |There was only 1 external window in the apartment, which meant it was very dark. The real problem was the heat.......no air con, only a fan provided in the bedroom. Thank God I wasnt here during the hot summer. It was so uncomfortable. The breakfast was fine ,good selection and well served. Lovely place, and so central..... but would only visit again in the cooler months, a shame air con wasnt installed in the renovation !!!

Room Tip: too hot for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katcar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went to a conference here and while you couldn't fault the hotel it had no outstanding features and nothing which makes it stand out. Refreshments and food was ok. Great location to hop on train .everything was reasonably clean sand everything worked

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry you did not enjoy our open plan interior showcasing original Victorian features: cast iron columns and barrel ceilings with exposed brickwork, and hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on my Niece's hen do and thought this was a fab place for a big party. We used one of the apartments to have a get together on the first night and had no problem bringing in food ordered from outside the hotel. On the 2nd night we were out until the early hours and on return to the hotel were impressed by the level of security questions asked to gain access beyond the foyer. Our apartment slept 5 and the lounge diner and kitchen area was a really good size. The top of the headboards in our bedroom were thick with dust as was the fan in the room but after a quick call to reception a cleaner appeared within 5 minutes to resolve that situation. We later removed the cushions from the suite to take to another apartment and found lots of bits underneath, peanuts etc!! Its in a super location, virtually next door to Picadilly train station and within easy walking distance of the main shopping area. The only downside to our stay was the heat in the bedroom, although it had a huge opening window, almost floor to ceiling, it opened onto the inner atrium floor so anyone walking by could step into the room and when we did have it open there was not much air movement. Reception told us aircon wasn't an option due to the listed status of the building, they provided another fan for the 2nd night, which helped a little, but we got the last one so others in our party weren't so lucky. The breakfast was really good and with plenty of choice, full English or continental, with the option of ordering other items, for instance eggs benedict or american style waffles. Would definately stay here again but ensure I had a bedroom at the back of the apartment with an outside window.

Room Tip: Some bedrooms are very hot and don't have an outside opening window so best to check availabilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibby-the-Tabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at The Place for our annual conference last year and had a great service. Following this I decided to organise my sister's hen weekend in Manchester and stay at The Place.
Firstly this is a great location for anyone travelling as it is a 2 minute walk from Picadilly station. With a cool décor and vibe -the exposed brickwork and Atrium in the reception - made this an ideal place for our weekend stay.
The staff could not do enough for us and not only provided an early check in as requested but they also unpacked the shopping we had pre-delivered to the apartment! The porter carried all of our bags in (and there was a lot!). The apartments have everything you need in terms of space and facilities.
We hired 2 standard rooms, one family room and one deluxe room , all of which were immaculate.
If I could add some constructive feedback for the hotel, the only thing I would recommend is to have one hairdryer per room rather than one per apartment. I also thought the breakfast could have been better stocked but the food was delicious and worth the wait.
I would definitely recommend these apartments for anyone staying in Manchester and I am sure I will return in the future.

Room Tip: If there are a large party of you staying at the apartments, I would definitely recommend getting on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thak you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again when you return to manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for my birthday on the basis we have stayed at other Apartment Hotels before and have enjoyed the experience. When we arrived, we were allocated a room, 107, where a wedding was taking place right outside our apartment. We could actually see the wedding party from the windows looking out of the living room, which meant we had to have the blinds down the whole time. The floors were dirty and the bathroom must have been recently resealed and smelt very strongly of sealant. The information advised we would have bathrobes however they were no where to be seen, the whole apartment was dated and was in need of re-painting.
The absolute worst part was having another guest enter our apartment at 1:30am advising he had been allocated our room. We had all our personal belongings, phones, cards, cash in the apartment which clearly could have been stolen. Receptions answer to this was that a booking error had been made and the person originally had our room but had been moved and the system wasn't updated. The person was very drunk and the situation could have easily turned nasty. We couldn't sleep for the rest of the night wondering who was going to turn up next. We were offered a 10% discount on our next stay as compensation. Needless to say, I wouldn't stay again if you paid me. We went to breakfast the next morning and found we had been locked out of our room upon our return. One disappointment after another. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and would like to apologise for the mistake on our side. We have been in contact and hope to find a satisfactory solution so we can regain your faith in The Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#48 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing