We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, staff need more training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #43 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, staff need more training”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A very good apartment hotel close to the main Piccadilly station. Two bedroom apartment with a living room and two bathrooms was very good and good vaue for two or more or family guests. Expensive if you are alone.
I was not told the restaurant would be closed for the evening I was staying in the hotel which I think I should have been.
Staff were not as friendly as they should have been and the breakfast host had difficulty understanding and speaking english. She also removed something from a milk jug on the next table with her finger!
The quality of the hotel was let down by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have taken your comments into account and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    390
    153
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Place in a two bedrooms apartment.We were a family and some friends in another apartment. Service is good and very clean. Apartments are HUGE and you can find all you need for a stay. Location is good . They serve tasty food at the restaurant and you can also have your dinner at the lobbybar. Only negative I want to tell you is the soundproofing. You can hear your neighbours talking at the hallway/rooms. During evening/nights it was a bit disturbing when others return to their apartments.. There sound be some signs reminding that be quiet :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annika m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have taken your comments into account and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked The Place - 2 bedroom apartment for a girlie weekend trip at end of March. The first apartment we were shown to was on the 5th Floor and although wonderfully spacious there was a distinct 'sewerage' type smell coming from the main bathroom, after speaking to the reception desk she told me they would move us to another apartment and would send someine up with a new key and to help us move. We were amazed and even more delighted to be moved to a Penthouse apartment which was over 2 floors and had its own glass lift which only went to the 7th floor. The apartment was outstanding with a luxurious patio from the bedrooms and an upstairs lounge and kitchen. Overall experience fantastic customer service and very delighted guests. Would definately recommend The Place and will be booking again soon, all upgrades make your stay that much more special, thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed staying in one of our Penthouses and I am looking forward to welcome come you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A friend and I traveled to Manchester to see Pink in April 2013. We had been to Manchester before but made the mistake of staying in a Premier Inn. However, I found this hotel at a very reduced rate online and decided we'd give it a go - being so close to the train station it was incredibly handy for the morning we left.
The apartments were the perfect size for having a few drinks in before going out - which was great as we were on a budget for the weekend. Staff were great - we ordered food from the kitchen one night which arrived quickly and was lovely.
The only reason I give them 4 stars is the rooms are a little dark, so if you are away for a weekend and plan on going out later in the evening, getting ready in the dark bathrooms isn't ideal (in fact anywhere there was a mirror seemed darker!?).

Overall it was a brilliant hotel/apartment and fantastic find online - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Place. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken your comments into account. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Place in Manchester is excellent,it is by some distance the best of the Apartment Hotels in Manchester and would,without doubt,be my first choice each time i stay overnight in Manchester but there is one thing that prevents me staying there........the hotel doesn't want me,or rather they only want guests who stay for two nights.

The hotel increasingly is imposing a two night minimum stay which appears to be becoming the norm and this policy appears to be directly linked to anyone who is going to Manchester to watch Manchester United play football.The policy is unfair,nobody travelling from within the UK and not withtanding the delights of the city of Manchester,will want to stay for or pay for two nights.

It seems strange that even great hotels in Paris like the Ritz do not impose a minimum stay even at the height of the Paris Fashion shows or the fabulous Raphael in Paris do not do so even on the Prix De L'Arc de Triomphe.

The conclusion has to be that the Place grudgingly receives football supporters and openly admits to not applying the minimum stay for regular guests,in other words those staying in Manchester on business.How an earth can people like me become regular guests when the hotel puts up barriers to prevent me becoming one.

Putting all that to one side the Place is stylish,well located,the apartments are very large,the staff generally good.I would encourage anyone looking for an apartment in Mancheter to choose the Place.

I still take breakfast at the hotel,even though i can't stay there.Usually the breakfast is excellent but on Tuesday morning it was very poor indeed but i will not dwell upon that as it was clearly an "off day"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fgtyuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and most of all, thank you for your considerate review about The Place facilities and staff.
As discuss with you, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify the points you’ve raised in order to inform other Trip Advisor reviewers of our booking policy.

Firstly, a minimum 2 nights stay restriction may apply throughout the year when punctual events take place in Manchester i.e. Premier league or Champions League games, festivals or conventions. Minimum length-of-stay requirements as well as rates vary depending on occupancy and are part of our revenue management systems. As a busy city centre venue, we operate at full capacity on week-ends. Thus, even if a 2 bedroom apartment is advertised as available online, it is very likely that it will be sold on the night. Consequently, we wouldn’t accept bookings for 1 night only when there is a 2 nights minimum stay restriction.

Regarding cheaper online rates, please note that we allocate a specific number of rooms to booking agencies and other online partners. Advertised rates are set by these third parties and you might find that they are sometimes cheaper than ours on specific dates. However terms and conditions apply i.e. 1 bedroom apartments only are available.

I am glad to hear that The Place is your first choice when visiting Manchester and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed as part of 2 groups of 4 in one of the deluxe 2 bed apartments and it was excellent.We had an open plan kitchen, dining space and living room which allowed us to interact with the group rather than going off to separate rooms and having to arrange meeting points and times. This made the stay more enjoyable as we were away for a 40th birthday celebration so could have some drinks in one of the apartments before we went out. You also have the privacy of your own double room and bathroom plus robes and slippers!
The check in/out was pretty painless and efficient and they were very helpful on Reception when we had any queries.
I would recommend staying here as really is a convenient location and the price paid is very comparable with other hotels and even some budget places. Am planning a return trip to Manchester for November and have already booked in again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am looking forward to welcome again in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent a lovely stay again, this time it was to celebrate the wedding of friends. This is our second stay and have recommended it to many others. We had breakfast this time and although we had to wait for it to be restocked it was good when it came. Keep up,the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#42 of 116 in Manchester
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#36 of 116 in Manchester
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing