We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PLACE IS THE PLACE (!) IF ONLY THEY WOULD LET ME STAY THERE !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #47 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Place in Manchester is excellent,it is by some distance the best of the Apartment Hotels in Manchester and would,without doubt,be my first choice each time i stay overnight in Manchester but there is one thing that prevents me staying there........the hotel doesn't want me,or rather they only want guests who stay for two nights.

The hotel increasingly is imposing a two night minimum stay which appears to be becoming the norm and this policy appears to be directly linked to anyone who is going to Manchester to watch Manchester United play football.The policy is unfair,nobody travelling from within the UK and not withtanding the delights of the city of Manchester,will want to stay for or pay for two nights.

It seems strange that even great hotels in Paris like the Ritz do not impose a minimum stay even at the height of the Paris Fashion shows or the fabulous Raphael in Paris do not do so even on the Prix De L'Arc de Triomphe.

The conclusion has to be that the Place grudgingly receives football supporters and openly admits to not applying the minimum stay for regular guests,in other words those staying in Manchester on business.How an earth can people like me become regular guests when the hotel puts up barriers to prevent me becoming one.

Putting all that to one side the Place is stylish,well located,the apartments are very large,the staff generally good.I would encourage anyone looking for an apartment in Mancheter to choose the Place.

I still take breakfast at the hotel,even though i can't stay there.Usually the breakfast is excellent but on Tuesday morning it was very poor indeed but i will not dwell upon that as it was clearly an "off day"

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fgtyuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and most of all, thank you for your considerate review about The Place facilities and staff.
As discuss with you, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify the points you’ve raised in order to inform other Trip Advisor reviewers of our booking policy.

Firstly, a minimum 2 nights stay restriction may apply throughout the year when punctual events take place in Manchester i.e. Premier league or Champions League games, festivals or conventions. Minimum length-of-stay requirements as well as rates vary depending on occupancy and are part of our revenue management systems. As a busy city centre venue, we operate at full capacity on week-ends. Thus, even if a 2 bedroom apartment is advertised as available online, it is very likely that it will be sold on the night. Consequently, we wouldn’t accept bookings for 1 night only when there is a 2 nights minimum stay restriction.

Regarding cheaper online rates, please note that we allocate a specific number of rooms to booking agencies and other online partners. Advertised rates are set by these third parties and you might find that they are sometimes cheaper than ours on specific dates. However terms and conditions apply i.e. 1 bedroom apartments only are available.

I am glad to hear that The Place is your first choice when visiting Manchester and I am looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed as part of 2 groups of 4 in one of the deluxe 2 bed apartments and it was excellent.We had an open plan kitchen, dining space and living room which allowed us to interact with the group rather than going off to separate rooms and having to arrange meeting points and times. This made the stay more enjoyable as we were away for a 40th birthday celebration so could have some drinks in one of the apartments before we went out. You also have the privacy of your own double room and bathroom plus robes and slippers!
The check in/out was pretty painless and efficient and they were very helpful on Reception when we had any queries.
I would recommend staying here as really is a convenient location and the price paid is very comparable with other hotels and even some budget places. Am planning a return trip to Manchester for November and have already booked in again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am looking forward to welcome again in November!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent a lovely stay again, this time it was to celebrate the wedding of friends. This is our second stay and have recommended it to many others. We had breakfast this time and although we had to wait for it to be restocked it was good when it came. Keep up,the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

If I can I always stay here whether its on business or pleasure. Great location and the staff are fab, especially Lauren. She is very helpful and always has a smile on her face. Looking forward to staying again soon. xx

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoy staying with us when returning to Manchester and have passed your comments to Lauren. We are all looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We found this by chance on the internet and booked a 2 bed apartment for 26th March overnight as we were coming to manchester to see the lion king. What a gem - we had a great stay. All the facilities of a decent hotel but with the luxury of your own flat! We had two bedrooms, one with ensuite, plus a main bathroom. Bedrooms were clean, well furnished,huge comfy bed, flatscreen tvs. The main living area was spacious with decent seating and a dining area. Good kitchen, and nice touch leaving milk in the fridge plus tea, coffee etc. We had sandwiches on room service , which were reasonably priced and tasty. check in was quick, all staff were polite and helpful, explaining how everything worked as it was our first stay, booked us a taxi to take us to the palace thatre and even asked how the show had been when were returned! Our car was safe in the underground carpark,and we loved the way the building has been converted - lovely vaulted ceilings, the steel posts, the glass atrium etc - it was a novel experience for us. We would not hesitate to recommend the place to friends and family and really hope to come back and stay with you a bit longer next time. Five stars from us!

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor and overlooking the city. It was a midweek stay so probably much quieter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked a two bedroom deluxe apartment in The Place for our family trip to Machester to see Lego Discovery. On arrival the staff were very pleasant and surprised us with an upgrade to the Penthouse. This was wonderful, never been upgraded before!
The Penthouse (I think there are 8 of them) is a 2 floor apartment with 2 plush bedrooms and bathrooms on the lower level which leads out onto a massive balcony with lovely rattan garden furniture.There is a good selection of toiletries in both bathrooms along with 4 robes and 4 pairs of slippers.
Upstairs the Huge open plan lounge, diner and kitchen is essentially a glass box with 360 degree views across the cityscape.Breathtaking. A patio door from the kitchen opened out on to another balcony where I enjoyed breakfast in the sunshine.
We ate in the apartment and found the kitchen to be extremely well equipped indeed. There is everything you would expect and more. Tea and coffee is provided and a small milk in the fridge. We had taken a small supply of our own and a couple of dishwasher tabs and a spare bin bag which came in useful. My son loved the coffee machine which served 5 different types of coffee at the touch of a button with no need for pods.
The next day we really didnt want to leave. This type of hotel is fantastic when you have kids so much room to spread out, and there is a glass lift which the kids loved. There is absolutely nothing you can complain about here.
We will DEFINITELY be back! Thankyou for a wonderful 5* Pentouse experience.

Room Tip: We had booked a 2 bedroom deluxe which are on the corners of the building giving good views, but end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent weekend stay at The Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all the facilities. We look forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent one night at The Place. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the apartment was well appointed. The location, decor and design of this old building are lovely. Breakfast was a disappointment. The food was cold and replenishment was slow, despite it being an hour before the end of breakfast service. The service was poor and we had to ask for coffee, as no-one approached us. We would go again, despite the points raised.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chevdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am glad that you find the apartments are well appointed and I can assure you that we will be more vigilant about breakfast service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 120 in Manchester
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 120 in Manchester
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $937 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing