We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked on recommendation, as was looking for a central location, close to city centre. This certainly delivered! The best thing about this hotel is the staff - all friendly and very helpful. Liked the well equipped kitchen- perfect for someone like me that doesn't eat a big breakfast. Would definitely stay here again if in Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzzie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    389
    153
    63
    39
See reviews for
263
214
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed at The Place many times and despite the odd thing that's not quite right it's always a been a pleasant and comfortable base for me in central Manchester. The first thing that strikes you is the amazing Victorian warehouse architecture, which has been successfully converted into a modern hotel. The second is the size of the apartments, they are big, good storage and functional kitchens. Furnishing is on the sparse side but quite stylish, the beds are very comfortable. Unlike other Apartment Hotels it's a proper hotel with bar, restaurant and 24h reception. Room service is popular as the dining room can be a bit forlorn; it's more suited to functions really. The staff are great although the housekeeping can be a bit random, but if you need anything just call reception and they'll bring it up. The hotel has been open for several years and is in a need of a bit of TLC. As another reviewer has mentioned some of the bathrooms are a bit musty, but it's not a big deal. The pay car park is underground and easy to get into, slowly, but watch out when it's raining as water seeps through the expansion joints. Avoid parking under the stalagmites.

Room Tip: Ask for an Atrium view, these rooms are nicest, and if you want a bath ask for one. Some rooms only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porpentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your objective and sincere review and also for your loyalty to The Place. I am glad that you enjoy your stays with us and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Literally 1 minute away from the Picadilly Train Station. Great service, highly recommended. The apartment was huge, and very warm. Good for business travellers that need to stay near the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dspiliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

On arrival check-in was great, and we were located one of the penthouse suites. On arrival to the suite I was horrified to find it was filthy - leaflets on the floor, used sponge and wrappers in the bathroom, oven covered with butter and crumbs, dirty teacups everywhere. I was gutted!

However, on complaining I was very quickly moved into another penthouse, which was much cleaner, although not perfect! There was a half pint of milk in the fridge and cigerette butts all over our balcony. I was promised that I woudl get a visit from the management, but this didn't happen. However, when I re-visited reception this was recognised and I was given complimentary breakfasts for us all, which we were happy with.

The sad thing is that these apartments are fantastic - they are gorgeous and spacious, and perfect for staying in Manchester. We would stay here again but the cleaning has to be sorted, as first impressions count, and our wasn't great.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the penthouse - the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleboxofchocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. The room you checked-in was mistakenly showing as ready in our system. We corrected our mistake straight away when brought to our attention. We will be more vigilant in the future and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned home following 4 nights stay at The Place, Manchester. It was an excellent place to stay, easy to find, secure parking and very centrally located. 3 of us shared a 2 bedroomed suite. It was very spacious and comfortable with fantastic views of the city. The staff could not be more helpful, friendly and welcoming. All in all, The Place Hotel could not be better. Thank you all and special thanks to Wendy. We will be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade is well worth the extra cost and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for you wonderful review and your warm words about the team. I have passed on your comments and look forward to make your next stay as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for the weekend. Cracking apartment, very clean and comfortable and staff first class. Great option instead of a hotel and would thoroughly recommend The Place. Fantastic location near to Piccadilly Train Station and reasonably priced secure car parking at £9.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richspedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and your kind words about the staff. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked out a 2 room apartment for the weekend. It was very spacious and well appointed. two good sized bedrooms, one en suite, large living room/kitchen. The kitchen was well equipped, although a little eratic in terms of the numbers of each item. Some dirty trays in the oven and dishwasher not empty, and the only downside for us was the cleaning. It wasn't bad, especially given the size of the apartment, but don't have black bedside lamps when there is so much else to clean......

The location is good, very close to the station and shops. A bit noisy during Saturday night but havent stayed anywhere in central Manchester that isn't.

Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your honest and friendly review. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing