We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Apartment Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Place Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #35 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great Apartment Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Literally 1 minute away from the Picadilly Train Station. Great service, highly recommended. The apartment was huge, and very warm. Good for business travellers that need to stay near the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dspiliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    384
    152
    62
    39
See reviews for
262
213
22
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

On arrival check-in was great, and we were located one of the penthouse suites. On arrival to the suite I was horrified to find it was filthy - leaflets on the floor, used sponge and wrappers in the bathroom, oven covered with butter and crumbs, dirty teacups everywhere. I was gutted!

However, on complaining I was very quickly moved into another penthouse, which was much cleaner, although not perfect! There was a half pint of milk in the fridge and cigerette butts all over our balcony. I was promised that I woudl get a visit from the management, but this didn't happen. However, when I re-visited reception this was recognised and I was given complimentary breakfasts for us all, which we were happy with.

The sad thing is that these apartments are fantastic - they are gorgeous and spacious, and perfect for staying in Manchester. We would stay here again but the cleaning has to be sorted, as first impressions count, and our wasn't great.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the penthouse - the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleboxofchocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. The room you checked-in was mistakenly showing as ready in our system. We corrected our mistake straight away when brought to our attention. We will be more vigilant in the future and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned home following 4 nights stay at The Place, Manchester. It was an excellent place to stay, easy to find, secure parking and very centrally located. 3 of us shared a 2 bedroomed suite. It was very spacious and comfortable with fantastic views of the city. The staff could not be more helpful, friendly and welcoming. All in all, The Place Hotel could not be better. Thank you all and special thanks to Wendy. We will be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade is well worth the extra cost and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for you wonderful review and your warm words about the team. I have passed on your comments and look forward to make your next stay as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for the weekend. Cracking apartment, very clean and comfortable and staff first class. Great option instead of a hotel and would thoroughly recommend The Place. Fantastic location near to Piccadilly Train Station and reasonably priced secure car parking at £9.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richspedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and your kind words about the staff. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked out a 2 room apartment for the weekend. It was very spacious and well appointed. two good sized bedrooms, one en suite, large living room/kitchen. The kitchen was well equipped, although a little eratic in terms of the numbers of each item. Some dirty trays in the oven and dishwasher not empty, and the only downside for us was the cleaning. It wasn't bad, especially given the size of the apartment, but don't have black bedside lamps when there is so much else to clean......

The location is good, very close to the station and shops. A bit noisy during Saturday night but havent stayed anywhere in central Manchester that isn't.

Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your honest and friendly review. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked The Place, mainly due to it's proximity to Piccadilly station and a good price, via one of the booking sites. Very impressive building from the outside and reception is bright and spacious.
I'll get to the main point, as to why I give it such a high rating....the staff !! Check in was faultless, I arrived early and was facilitated with an early check in and given an upgrade to a 2 bedroom Apartment. The receptionist was very friendly and I got the feeling that nothing would have been too much trouble for her.
The apartment itself was on the 5th floor and it was HUGE. Now it was not without fault, it did have minor signs of wear and tear but was clean and well equipped, right down to a Sony iPod dock, DVD player and 3 televisions. Fully equipped kitchen, with Fridge, Freezer, Diswasher, everything you could need and plenty of tea/coffee/sugar and a small bottle of milk to welcome you. The beds in both bedrooms were also huge and so comfortable, the bedding was like new and I had 2 great nights sleep. Plenty of storage too, Laptop size Electronic safe and hairdryer, also a utility cupboard with washer/dryer and iron/ironing board, it really did have everything you could need. It had a Bathroom and shower room, with plenty of toiletries and loads of very soft and luxurious towels, great pressure on the shower too.
Back to the staff, I had cause to ring reception as I had an error code on the safe. I had hardly set the phone down and the doorbell rang, with the maintenance man there to sort it for me. Excellent. The staff again in the Bar, were very welcoming and attentive. Same guy, on both evenings I stayed there, was so attentive and never stopped running about, cleaning, checking people were ok.........management, if you read this, a total asset to your business. I sampled the Food at the Bar and it was excellent quality and very reasonably priced indeed, for a City Centre establishment.
The excellent service continued with checkout, when I availed of the use of the Luggage room, as my flight was late afternoon, faultless and the friendliness of the staff alone, let alone the great accomodation, would lead me to come back.
All in all, great location, great accomodation and brilliant staff, along with excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_K1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review. It is extremely gratifying to recieve such fulsome praise and I have passed it on to my team. I look forward to you using us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We (5 friends) stayed in one of the de luxe apartments. There were two very comfortable king size beds and we ordered a fold away bed for the 5th person - a little steep at £25 per night. The building was very interesting - it was an old railway warehouse I believe - and there was a lot of exposed brick work and pipes which added to the character. Our apartment was huge with an open plan living room, dining area and kitchen. We cooked breakfast every morning and we had all the equipment we needed. The two bathrooms were nice with powerful showers and toiletries. The location was perfect - literally 2 min walk from the railway station. The only small criticism I'd have is we asked the receptionist if she had a recommendation for somewhere to eat dinner and she recommended an all you can eat buffet - and that's the only idea she had. A few more recommendations would have been useful.

Room Tip: De luxe apartment was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineJ_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#48 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#23 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing