We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #43 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Dubai
Level Contributor
217 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Convenient but basic”
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Hotel is conveneint if you want to be in town and close to train station. The rooms are large though the planning of the apartmenst were odd. The furnishing needs to be updated and for the time we were there, I thought the price was expensive

Not bad , though Im sure there are better at the same price

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room layout
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    390
    153
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

There is still a significant niche in the British hotel market, with boutique style aprtment hotels, in the style of the Place

Huge open plan apartment, very modern decor - open bricked walls, neutral colours etc, adds to the contemporary feel

Apartment consisted of Lounge, kitchen/diner, bedroom, en suite & huge hallway

Paid £130 for one night, once you are inside the atrium, you wont want to leave ;)

All mod cons available - CD player, tv etc etc

Cannot fault to be honest - looked for an age for a hotel in this style, and this is up there with Residence 6 in Leeds for standard - but not quite

Good location in the city, everything within (short) walking distance

Once downside, is the lack of natural light within the aprtmnt

Overall, definately would recommend

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
Thank Blades4768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Satyed here with a couple of friends after a concert at the MEN arena, only 5 minutes by taxi from the arena. We had a two bedroom apartment which was huge with a bathroom plus and on suite, large kitchen and living/dining area. Very modern.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank becky_bourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

This hotel is a converted mill, all the room are mini apartments and come with full kitchens, it’s a great place to stay if there is a group of people and you want the space. I’ve stayed around 5 times now using it as a base for going to Old Trafford to watch the football (Soccer). This is also a great location in Manchester for going out on the town as you may find if you use it.

However you do need to be careful with which rooms you have. There are some great apartments on the top floor, they have views of the city and the hills to the east of the city. But at night on the weekend (Friday, Saturday) you may end up with a party next door and the sound proofing does not work, if there is any sound proofing. The hotel is booked at the weekend by groups of women and men as a base to go partying in Manchester, so it can be hit and miss re the noise level, strictly its against the rules but it happens.

Rooms on the lower floors especially the two bedroom apartments are ok the noise is blocked out by the thick brick walls of the original mill.

  • Liked — Space and location
  • Disliked — Can be noisy on a Friday and Saturday night
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviesukmkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

Stayed at The Place for 1 night at the weekend, as anyone with a family will know it's not easy to find a hotel that will accommodate 4 guests in a room so this place sounded ideal. I was a little apprehensive because of previous reviews, some very good and some very bad! I have to say our apartment was huge, not luxurious but comfortable and very well equipped. It wasn't in pristine condition but it was perfectly acceptable - and I'm fussy. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, all in all had a great stay. The only downside is that the central atrium that the rooms surround carries sound so that if you are unfortunate to have inconsiderate guests staying the same night as you you are going to hear them (and we did!) Not the hotels fault and they did their best to sort the problem out when wee reported it, unfortunately some people are just completely ignorant of anyone else that might be trying to sleep. The Place is good value for money and I wouldn't let bad residents put me off staying there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy guests
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLWMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

I just want to warn anyone thinking about booking this hotel that the the walls are paper thin. If you're not interested in actually sleeping here, then you've got no problems. It's a perfectly located hotel with a wonderfully friendly (*day*) front desk staff with rooms big enough to party all night in. Unfortunately for me, I was not looking to party all night, but was looking for a place to sleep.

We booked the 2 room apartment. The couple in the back bedroom farthest from the front door was able to sleep through the night without any problems. Unfortunately, for us in the front bedroom, we were right up against both the doorway of the unit next door and as well as right next to the front hallway that overlooks the atrium. We could hear everyone coming and going to the party in the room next door all night long as well as their music and laughing. Our room's window which looks onto the main hallway/atrium wasn't any better. Through it, we could hear people arriving back to their rooms on our floor and people arriving back to their rooms on several *other* floors all night long. Clack Clack Clack of high heels all night long. Knocking on doors, unlocking doors, people talking on their mobiles, security talking on their walky talkys, people talking to each other/yelling at each other. And, it's an atrium, so add in the Echoing of all those sounds. All Night Long. Good times!

Oh, and it took 2 chats with the night staff to make any headway with the 3 am party going next door. (The hotel's own literature forbids parties, so I'm not sure why it took 2 tries over a few hours with the hotel staff to get this taken care of. We weren't being unreasonable. It was against the rules and it was 3 in the morning!)

On another note - not too big a deal to me, but could be a big deal to some travelers - it was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but our bedroom smelled like someone had just smoked a full pack of reds in there before we arrived.

The hotel didn't offer any kind of a refund or even something simple like a free breakfast after our sleepless night. They just said they were sympathetic and took our info and said a manager would be in touch to talk about it, but 2 months on and nothing.

  • Liked — Proximity to Manchester Picadilly
  • Disliked — NOISE
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eton_Rifles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2008

I have just spent 4 nights at "The Place" in Manchester, I have spent many months up here and was getting fed up with the hotel living.
I found a fab deal online with expedia. I checked in on Sunday night and the receptionist was pleasent, but did not ask me to complete car registration even though she knew I was in the car park as she let me in. I recieved a letter on my windscreen the next morning warning that if I park there again I will be removed/clamped etc.
I was given a 1 bedroom apartment. It is spacious, however it was very tired looking. All the apartments look on to the atrium and you get a good view into the other rooms. The furniture in the other rooms (2 Bed apartments) looked newer. When I mentioned this on my 2nd night I was moved to another 1 bed apartment, which was the same quality as the previous one. Both rooms I was in were tired looking and quite dirty. The Kitchen had sticky grime patches on the bread bin, the unit tops and drawers. There were nasty looking stains on the sofa and the carpet in the bedroom. The floor tiles in the bathroom were loose and the shower (in the bath) leaked onto the floor, due to the poorly fitted divider. There was mold forming in the shower. The floors and paintwork were in dire need of renewal.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
1,749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#42 of 116 in Manchester
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#36 of 116 in Manchester
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing