We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wonderful wedding day at the Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“My wonderful wedding day at the Place”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I love the Place! I got married here in September and cannot rate the staff highly enough. Jade my wedding coordinator was brilliant, she was always available to speak to and sat through countless meetings whilst I tried to make my mind up about food or seating plans etc. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food, the decor, the way the staff liaised with us during our day I could not have asked for better.

Our penthouse was bright, spacious and clean and when we returned to our room as man and wife we found a bouquet of flowers and champagne on ice as a wedding present from the hotel.

I had many comments from my guests about how much they enjoyed our wedding breakfast. If you are looking for a modern wedding venue in the heart of the City Centre then this is the Place to be!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It's been a great pleasure to host your wedding. Congratulations and best wishes from all of us at The Place! We wish you great happiness and joy as you and Paul begin your new life together.
All our best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    390
    154
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Really enjoyed the spacious layout of the rooms here. They are self contained apartments with bedrooms, kitchen/diner and living room area. Would make perfect sense for families or groups as there is plenty of room. Our room overlooked the canal wharf so there was a bit of a view. The building is an old victorian warehouse and has been tastefully modernised. There is on site parking which is a big bonus. The location is close to the railway and pretty central for nightlife.
Would recommend this place highly and will use it again if I go to Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope we become your hotel of choice in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Impressed with location and size of apt...loved the rooms.but maintenance and cleanliness poor....there were dishes on a tray outside that remained all weekend...from previous occupants I think..the cleaner ignored them! I dont know what actual cleaning they do but in a 4* hotel beds should be made, dishes done etc...the clock didn't work, there was no remote control for one tv , some of the dishes were cracked...the rooms should be thoroughly checked after each guest..plus everyone comments on the heating...turn off some radiators!! And why not provide earplugs for guests and let them know people may party! I would stay again BUT there needs to be more attention to detail that would make this the best place to stay..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered. It seems that our standards slipped on this occasion and I have spoken to my team to investigate these issues and find solutions.

I am glad to hear you will return and I can assure you your comments have been taken seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here with my sister, daughter and her 2 best friend for 2 nights. In Manchester for my daughter to try on wedding dresses. We were all impressed with the apartment. Comfortable sofas in lounge, good kitchen and the 2 bedrooms each had a bathroom. Shared king size bed with my sister while the girls had a triple room. Much, much better than being stuck in hotel room.Staff friendly and exceptionally helpful. Ate in the bar and the food was excellent. Stay quite often in Manchester and this will now be the first place I look to stay. Convenient location, not far from Piccadilly station or the Arndale centre, yet in a quiet location. The 5 of us agree it was a brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the great review. It is always gratifying to read such positive comments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are huge, with lots of space to move about allowing you to feel like you're in a home away from home, rather than a cramped hotel room. Great to have kitchen and laundry facilities. Can get noisy when there are parties downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Place is in a terrific location. Only a few minutes walk from Piccadilly Station, close to other transport links & the main shopping area only around the corner. What adds value is that it is in a much quieter position than other accomodation only a few minutes away. The staff were always friendly, helpful & quick to respond when asked. The apartment was roomy, light & well stocked & furnished.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley1-1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

From arrival onwards the staff here were excellent, although the breakfast staff deserve a 'double excellent' rating, very accomodating, helpful and polite. Management definitely need to single breakfast staff out for the 'employees of the month bonus'!

The whole style and ambience of this location was stunning, the conversion and preservation of this very historical warehouse simply added to the enjoyment. Take a moment to stand in the atrium and enjoy the structure.

We had an apartment on the second floor and this was very spacious, very comfortable, had everything advertised including a i-phone dock that charged my newer i-phone, fab as I forgot my charger. The kitchen facilities were great, bedroom very quiet and plush (we were at the front of the building and experienced no noise whatsoever), the living area was comfortable and spacious.

The location is ideal, basically a short walk to shops, nightlife etc.. Car parking, very easy to find, straight in with no problems.

Unlike many city hotels the Place charges a very fair price for breakfast and evening meals which are a good standard. You actually don't feel you have to be cautious when purchasing extras at the hotel facilities which is quite rare nowadays. I can't recommend this aparthotel
enough, a thoroughly enjoyable stay with very nice people looking after us.

Only dislike was we didn't like having to leave!!

Room Tip: From what I saw of other rooms they're all a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clin_Hoolihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your superb review. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoy staying with us. I have past your comments on to my team, my breakfast staff are especially pleased by your comments and agree with you that they should be employees of the month!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 118 in Manchester
1,682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 118 in Manchester
2,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#61 of 118 in Manchester
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing