We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Place Aparthotel
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Excellent hotel...well eqipped apartments. Ideal for all areas of Manchester. Good for families, groups and couples etc. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior suite, was ample space and excellent facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    390
    154
    63
    41
See reviews for
264
215
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I recently stayed as part of my friends birthday celebrations and would definitely be back again.
From booking to leaving nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff- I must have called the hotel 15 times in the week prior to our stay to change numbers and room types, Emma and wendy in reservations were so helpful each time I made a request.
When we arrived at the hotel reception was so busy but the staff were very helpful, we were able to store our bags as we arrived early.
We did eat in the bar one of the nights and the food was amazing- far better than most hotels I have stayed in previously!! Again, the staff were amazing.
There was a wedding happening in another room at the hotel and some of the guests were speaking to us at the bar, they said it was the best wedding they had been to! So, well done The Place- winners all round!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzielou2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your excellent review and your comments regarding the staff that you dealt with both prior to your visit and during your stay, I will ensure that your comments are passed on to them. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

these apartments are great for a long or short stay in manchester city centre - a real home from home. There is everything you could need, we had 2 delux two bedroomed apartments, which consisted of a double bedroom with en-suite bathroom, a double bedroom with seperate bathroom, a huge living room / dinning room / kitchen which is open plan and has a dinning table and four chairs and 2 x two seater sofas. There is a flat screen tv in the lounge and both bedrooms, with sky and a dvd player and hi-fi in the lounge (there is no ipod docking station). the kitchen was great, with a full fridge and freezer, a dishwasher, a washing machine and a dryer, and had complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the fridge ! there were even dressing gowns and slippers provided, and full stocked toiletries in the bathrooms. the space in the apartments was great, there were 8 of us who spent one morning having breakfast togehter in one apartment, and there was plenty of room for more. only 1 minute from picadilly station, 3 mintues walk from the central shopping street, and 20 mins walk to the MEN arena. perfect lcoation, with parking avaialbe for £9 per 24hrs, which is much cheaper than the NCP's. There was a 24 hr reception, a bar and restauarnat available too, with a free gym - great value for money. would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: worth upgrading to a delux room - you get one in the corner of the building, where no-one can see in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the facilities in your rooms during your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

recently stayed at The Place, found reception staff helpful,Marzena from the reservation team was paticularly helpful, apartments were clean tidy and very comfortable, beds were comfortable and bathrooms were great, couldn't find any room for complaint

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCCantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and I will be sure to pass your comments on to Marzena, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Redbrick industrial building turned to lofts with beautiful and spacious rooms. The breakfast buffet was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karhuherra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed breakfast and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Many people have rated these apartments very highly, however, I am unable to do so.
On the positive side our two bedroomed apartment was clean and spacious .
Negatitve points were the apartment was very warm and had no air conditioning, as the apartment was on the road side this made it very noisy at night and the alternatives were either a hot stuffy room or a very noisy cooler one. ---- ask to book a room away from the road

The main reason for no sleep over 3 nights was the appalling mattress, we had two and they were both as bad, really cheap and lumpy and I woke up after a couple of hours in pain , after 3 nights of no sleep I felt ill.
Perhaps the other reviewers had better beds? who can say.

Room Tip: away from the noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. I was sorry to hear that you you found the beds uncomfortable. Customer feedback is vitally important as it enables us to identify areas where we can improve our level of service. Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Place Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed at The Place Apartment Hotel, reception staff not too welcoming, a smile and welcome greeting would have been good. Totally ignored us when passing reception each day. I think you either have it or you don't, you can't be trained to be nice to clients if you are not that way inclined. For check in you have to wait if you are a bit too early, yet they want you out of the room by 12.00.
The weekend we stayed there were a couple of groups of ladies on hen nights, very loud, drunk and inconsiderate to others when they returned 3pm in the morning, and you could hear them talking through the walls. We had a one bedroom apartment that faced the Atrium and unless you wanted the world to see you we had to have the roller blind down at all times which was a bit depressing as the sitting room did not have an outside window.
The apartment was a bit shabby. Pillows were not soft, and felt like old hard polyester pillows, new feather ones would be good.
The only thing that was good was the breakfast, however if you are a vegan soya milk was not offered as in my case.
Room services waiter excellent (very young foreign lad, polite and friendly).
May try the Place one more time, if we get can get a bargain rate like some else above.

Room Tip: Maybe not to choose rooms towards Atrium as not private and people getting in very late in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanHard, General Manager at The Place Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. I have discussed the matters you raised regarding check in and that you were ignored whilst passing with the Reception Manager. I was pleased to read your comments regarding room service and breakfast. Customer feedback is vitally important as it enables us to identify areas where we can improve our level of service. Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Place Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 118 in Manchester
1,680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 118 in Manchester
2,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#61 of 118 in Manchester
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Aparthotel

Property: The Place Aparthotel
Address: Ducie Street, Manchester M1 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Aparthotel is a stunning, grade 2 listed Manchester apartment hotel, offering luxury 4 star hotel apartments in Manchester city centre. 100 metres from Manchester Piccadilly Station, close to shops, restaurants, northern quarter and Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Apartment Manchester
Hotel Place Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing