We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hangover food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Burton Road Bakery

Burton Road Bakery
Ranked #250 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Café, Coffee Shop, Bakery
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hangover food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I've lived round the corner from Burton Rd Bakery for over a year and it has got me through some terrible hangovers.

You can sit in or take out (they get busy on Saturday mornings) and service is generally pretty speedy. The breakfasts are really filling, good traditional English breakfasts with all the trimmings. They also have less greasy food in the form of sandwiches and a hot lunch style menu.

The staff are always really friendly and make you feel welcome.

My only criticism is that it looks like it could do with a bit of decorating inside, particularly near the back tables but it serves a purpose and the people are great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FelicityR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Burton Road Cafe is a definitely worth a visit. It is a lovely cafe with a great atmosphere. Good menu with a variety of choice. Some brilliant veggie options (lasagna was great!). Staff are very friendly even when they are busy. The sandwiches are also very good, served on freshly baked bread and fresh ingredients! It offers classics which can be quite hard to find on Burton Road with all its quirky cafes and menus!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quick and very tasty lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a great first visit to Burton Rd Bakery , I enjoyed my black pudding and bacon salad( and the fish cake thatI sneaked off my husbands plate ) it was well presented and tasted just as I hoped it would . Coffee was great too, next time I will treat myself to on of the fab cakes on display inside.Give it a try

Helpful?
Thank julie_topiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stopped here on the way to Parklife festival to fuel up. Surprised how busy it was first thing in the morning on a Sunday. Weather was good so a few people were sat on the few seats outside. Inside, about four people sat at a waiting bar opposite the counter, whilst we were seated on one of the cute little tables. All the comforts of a cafe but with an obvious following from the locals who were tucking into full breakfasts. We opted for teacakes and tea, cheap and cheerful, but served with a smile. Bit slow on the service but probably because it was so busy.
Would definitely go back down the Burton Road to grab a cake and tea during the winter months.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pbolamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing cakes and sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This bakery has built up an almost legendary fan base at my work place in Northenden (about 1 mile away) and there are often regular trips with many orders taken as it's such a treat. It's inexpensive and the cakes are to die for.

It does get very busy but the staff are very helpful and do their best given that it's always heaving! They have outside seating which is nice for people watching too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank North_South_EAT_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burton Road Bakery also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Burton Road Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing