We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, good food.”
Review of Artisan

Artisan
Ranked #150 of 2,295 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place, good food.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The artisan was an interesting building. The booths were nice to sit in and the lighting gave it a really calming and private atmosphere. The food was different and nice. Good sized meal. A little over priced. Wouldn't recommend the pork crackling. The leg of lamb and chicken mains were lovely and the orange chocolate moose made the evening. Lovely cocktails! Ladies toilets are great.

Helpful?
Thank RosieMKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    389
    181
    82
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Restaurant has a real buzz and great night out , menu is eclectic and it's possible that some people will struggle to find something that excites them, our group had no such problem though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went on a Wednesday evening for the first time and it all started off pretty well - we got a great welcome upon arrival and I was impressed by the decor and atmosphere as it was lovely.

However, their food was such a big letdown and certainly not worth it's pricetag (and we had 20% discount too!).

To start off with we ordered scallops - these were the tiniest scallops I had ever seen and the dish was barely lukewarm. Also we had mackerel pâté which was served with something that looked like a toasted naan bread which was stale.

For mains, my friends gammon was so incredibly salty - she gave me a piece to try and I couldn't even finish that off because it was so salty.

The dessert and cocktails were nice (although it was served with wilting stalks of mint!!)

Would I bother again? Probably not - it's a shame as the restaurant itself has a lot of potential but really needs to sort out its standard of food which I believe is below par from what I would normally expect from a Living Ventures chain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimishmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancs UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The noise is enough to send you mad!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I went on a Sunday evening at about 6.30 p.m.so the restaurant was far from full. The very strange music that was played was so loud it hurt your ears and though I complained nothing was done. I also had to complain about the fact that my beef burger was raw oozing blood when I had ordered it medium to well done. The manager did deduct it from the bill but that's not the point. I felt for the staff who did everything they could to to make our visit a success but were let down by the kitchen and the people who select the music and determine the volume it is played at

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kenbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing special ”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Artisan last night with friends. The welcome was warm, if not a little pretentious. The food was quite filling and heavy, nice but not brilliant. The atmosphere was good, quite upbeat. All in all we enjoyed it, but wouldn't rush back.

Helpful?
Thank Kirstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Artisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing