We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place for sweets and savouries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dehli Sweet Centre and Restaurant

Dehli Sweet Centre and Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 45 Dessert in Manchester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
545 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for sweets and savouries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The best place for Indian sweets n snacks in Manchester. The sweets are amazing and fresh the favourites being gulab jamun and moti choor laddoos..the hot jalebis are worth waiting for. The samosas veg and non veg and pasties are great too. Till mid day they serve great chana puri for breakfast and well worth it to wake up and get there. Always friendly and good service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PavRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great always...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

A nice place. Fresh Jalaibees made to order and the rest is good too. This shop is a lot cheaper than Sanam Sweet House. I always go here for chicken patties & jalaibees.

Helpful?
1 Thank EffJayHaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“jalebi jubilee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been coming to Delhi all my life. They make the jalebi when u order it- takes a few minutes.. but trust me when i say it is worth the wait. ... hot crisp sweet jalebi that you have to eat immediately!!! Dont save for later as its eaten best fresh.... better than even the middle east jalebis!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank babarboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Jalaibi Heaven Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Located on the Famous Curry Mile, Manchester, United Kingdom the Dehli Sweet Centre and Restaurant produce the finest Jalaibi's (Pakistani and Indian Sweets) you could possibly eat. I was introduced to this restaurant at a tender age and could never imagine my birthday without a box of mitaai (sweets and Jalabi) from The Dehli Sweet Centre.

The Dehli Sweet Centre and Restaurant was established 1975 by Mr. Haji Iqbal Hussain.
Now semi retired can be seen front of shop during the week engaging in quality control (basically tasting the sweets) and serving his loyal customers. I managed to speak with him on my last visit and asked him what his favourite sweet was he coyly smiled and said all of them. :)

If you happen to be in the area you must go and try their extensive range of Pakistani desserts and take time to watch the specially trained staff fry a fresh batch of Jalaibi's especially for you.

What are Jalaibi's are I hear you say?

Jalebi's sometimes spelt Jalaibi's are sweets made of a coil of batter fried and steeped in syrup.
The Dehli Sweet Centre's Jalaibi's are made from a secret family recipe.

http://www.delhisweetcentre.co.uk/
If you click on the link above you will be able to visit the page where all the sweets are listed.

If Pakistani sweets are not for you then I recommend the Puree and Choley (small fried Roti's and Chick Peas) during the weekend. Vegetarian and non Veg Samosa's, Namak Parey, Nihari or Lamb Shanks is another favourite. The management also specialise in speciality cakes and diabetic sweets.

The restaurant caters for weddings, functions and special parties. Please call in for a menu and ask the experienced friendly staff for their recommendations.

Please remember to take cash with you as sometimes I have found their chip and pin machine has been out of use. Expect to pay 4-5 pounds for a kilo of Jalaibi's and between 5.50-9.00 pounds for larger boxes and quantities of half a kilo or more.

Open daily from around 11pm to 8pm.
Avoid Eid festivals, Eid ul Fitr celebrated after the month of Ramadhan and Eid ul Adha
are fashionably chaotic and Wilmslow Road is cordoned by Police and public transport is limited.
Parking is challenging any time of year as there are no parking bays or disabled facilities near the restaurant.
Wheelchair and pushchair access is limited.
There are no toilets.

This is an authentic family owned business who take pride in the quality and presentation of their food and business.

For more information email sales@dehlisweetcentre.org.uk

137, Wilmslow Rd, Rusholme,
Manchester M14 5AW.
Tel: 0161 257 2893

Simply the best Jalaibi's and Namak Parey I have ever eaten although I do believe their a certain sweet shop in Birmingham that specialises in Jalaibi's too.

Strictly not for diabetics or those who watch their figures.
I on the other hand am a Jalabi fan for life!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil_Miss_Sunshine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dehli Sweet Centre and Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Dehli Sweet Centre and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing