We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegan, like no other.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of V Rev Vegan Diner

V Rev Vegan Diner
Ranked #461 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vegan, like no other.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I didn't become a vegan for health reasons, so it frustrates me when I find a vegetarian/vegan restaurant and the menu is all nuts, I just want to eat junk food that tastes amazing and is completely animal free, and V Revolution is the perfect place! There is a selection of both hot and cold food, available to eat in or take away, including a selection of sandwiches. My favourite is their "Mini Mac", a vegan version of the famous McDonald's "big mac", complete with gherkins (that I use to love so much when I was a child!). The menu is fairly small, but whatever you pick on there, you're in for a treat. They do daily "specials" as well, which usually consists of an excessive amount of food, and that is not a bad thing. Hot and cold drinks are available, so whatever your fancy, there's something for you. Finally, the thing that tops V Revolution is their selection of sweets and cakes, again, I didn't become vegan for the health, so I love me a good cake, and their cakes are great! That's all without mentioning the atmosphere and friendly staff, a lovely 50's style diner with a record section in the back, a mixture of food and music, I can't imagine anything better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lizkeekoparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    53
    35
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've popped into V Rev a few times over the last year or two and each time they've made big leaps.

It was great when it launched but now it has an authentic American diner feel offering tasty burgers, piled high with all the toppings you might miss if you were previously a meat eater! But trust me, this stuff is so much nicer (and cruelty-free to boot)!

They also offer hot dogs, toasties and milkshakes and have excellent burgers 'of the day' (check out their instagram, 'vrevolutionyeah' for pictures).

As well as the cafe service they also have a few well-stocked fridges of vegan delicacies - cheeses, mock meats, ice cream, soya milks, soft drinks.

One of the great quirks they have is that they also double as a record store - you'll find some shelves of excellently selected hardcore punk/post-hardcore near the back (opposite the counter) and the staff know their stuff if you want some recommendations. Their stock is mostly vinyl with some cassettes. Pretty hip!

The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and I'll definitely be giving them a visit next time I'm back in Manchester.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SteeboJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pushing the UK vegan scene forward”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place is brilliant, and has brought a much needed vegan junk food offering to the UK which the USA has been ahead of the game on for a few years now.
The staff are friendly and helpful, and obviously eat the great vegan brands they stock as they're able to recommend Vegusto cheese types like fine wines!
The 50s diner style is great - not too over the top - and mixes well with their punk and DIY influences with a community notice board and space for people to leave flyers for local gigs / animal rights activity.
Definitely my favourite restaurant, thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank veganconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful burger”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have never been to a vegan cafe before and will never do so again. We liked the look of the cafe from the outside so thought it was worth a try. The burger came with onions Flakes, cheese and sauce and tasted worse than it smelt which is pretty awful. None of our party managed to eat more than one mouthful. I have eaten good vegetarian food before and this was not it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegan Junk Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Has for a while now been a proper cafe and sells things like (all vegan btw) cheese toasties, MASSIVE cheesy greasy looking 'chicken' and BBQ burgers with guacamole and mayonnaise and the like, tofu hotdogs and cakes/ice cream floats. Also has the shop to pick up the best vegan cheese ever (vegusto), lots of odd vegan things and hardcore records, nicer ice cream than Swedish Glace and ploughman's/'chicken' etc sandwiches that you can take away with you and savour. It's not badly priced for what it's selling (the cheese and ice cream are originally pretty pricey) as burgers will cost around £4-8 (and that's without chips or salad that isn't already in the burger) but still very recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V Rev Vegan Diner also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to V Rev Vegan Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing