We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, would not come again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Twenty One - CLOSED

3 Twenty One
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing, would not come again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I came on a saturday afternoon and were the only ones in the restaurant. We thought this wouldn't be a bad thing as we would get served quicker etc. However these are the problems we encountered:

1. We were sat waiting at our table for quite a while before anyone came over to get us some drinks. The chef noticed we hadn't been seen to and went to get the waitress. Now this isnt a problem for us at all as we dont mind waiting, but I am only including this as it added to the overall negative experience.

2. The food we ordered was the box with chicken wings and ribs (£15) and the burger with beef brisket on top. When the food arrived the ribs were so tough my partner couldn't rip them apart properly. We were expecting them to fall off the bone, but no such luck. The burger was ok but the beef brisket lacked flavour. The bottom of the bun was dry and broke as i was trying to eat it. The fries on the side weren't very nice either and its hard to make bad fries!

3. The waitress didnt return to us at all throughout the meal. When she did come over at the end, my partner made a comment about how tough the ribs were and he'd had to leave some of them, which he would never normally do. She apologised, however didnt seem that interested. Now we are not normally the sort of people that complain so felt uncomfortable doing so, hence the comment at the end when she asked.
We were not by any means expecting her to take the food off the bill as we had eaten most of it, however we thought it would have been polite to offer us a drink by way of an apology.

It is a shame as the interior is lovely and clearly there has been a lot of attention to detail. Before our food arrived we were talking about coming back when its warmer with our friends to sit on the outdide terrace, but this wont be happening now.

The chef who saw to us at the beginning was very polite so its a shame we have to leave a negative review.

Basically the bill came to £30 for food we didnt like and both left the place feeling annoyed. We had come out of our way to eat there and were extremely disappointed that we didnt go elsewhere.

We both said it was the worst meal out we'd ever had, due to the cost, poor food and uninterested service. Its not often we leave a place feeling irritated and on our day off.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Severus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    5
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everyone must try 3 twenty one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited the restaurant recently after hearing fantastic reviews from friends and I have to say I was not disappointed.
We didn't book but we're welcomed into the restaurant by the warm, friendly staff. We were seated immediately and struggled to choose which meal to have as everything sounded so good.
Our food arrived within 15 minutes and oh my gosh it was delicious! Even though my stomach was full I couldn't resist the tempting desserts.
The food was very reasonably priced and the portion size fantastic. The staff were friendly and chatty and made you feel very welcome. The decor was beautiful and the atmosphere was vibrant.
I will definitely be returning very soon and encouraging everyone else to make a visit here also. 10 out of 10!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph151185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Didn't match up to the first time... Disappointing....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited last night, had booked a table! None of the tables were reserved for us! Sat us at a high table more like being in a pub than a restaurant!! But was told that was my own fault for not requesting to not sit at a high table! Anyway we ordered drinks and once another table had finished we moved. My mum got the hanger steak as this is what she'd had when we visited in July.. It was not the same and was very fatty!!!! ( bad when you consider they've put their prices up) dad had rib eye on the bone.. This was ok but not worth £22!!! I ordered a chicken burger with goats cheese and red pepper( which turned out to be cooked in breadcrumbs and fried.. Didn't go with the burger at all) all meals come with a side... The chunky chips were soggy, the onion rings were ok, the sweet potato fries were the best part of the meal:) then they tried to charge us for one of the sides even though its included in the price!! So check your bill....
Really enjoyed this in July, but after last night would not go back....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blondiexx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went into the Deansgate pub just for a drink with friends and noticed they have an upstairs restaurant. The pub itself is very traditional and a lot of time has been spent keeping it that way, it is spotlessly clean and a credit to the staff. After spending a while there hunger struck and having seen the menu for the 3 twenty one restaurant upstairs thought we would give it a try. When we did go upstairs the change was amazing. The restaurant looked newly refurbished, was very comfortable and modern in contrast to the pub downstairs. There is an outside terrace which looked lovely with twinkling lights but in November we decided to stay indoors. We had a lovely window table overlooking Deansgate and the staff were welcoming. There is a well stocked bar in the restaurant with all manner of strange bottles on display. The drinks came quickly and after spending some time looking at the extensive menu the food was very well presented. The homemade soup and smoked chicken a particular favorite with the steaks cooked to perfection. The Manchester egg is particularly good and not what you would expect. Leave room for desert, the chocolate slice is particularly good as long as you are not driving as it does have a kick. Overall the food is presented with a twist and best experienced by seeing it when it is put in front of you so i wont go into to much detail. What i would say is that its a pleasant surprise.
I fully expect we will be going back and so glad we gave it a try on the day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank forgetfull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great experience from start to finish. Food was fab and can highly recommend the ribs and hanger steak cooked to perfection. Staff very helpful and cheery nothing too much trouble and very attentive. Would deffo pay another vist when visting manchester.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenys2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Twenty One also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing