We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little cafe, breakfast was lovely”
Review of Linda's Pantry

Linda's Pantry
Ranked #147 of 2,326 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A little Gem of a place! A traditional English cafe with a speciality for home-cooked food. Linda's Pantry has been serving hot and cold food to eat in or take away for over 24 years in the last remaining Coaching House in Manchester City Centre, situated on the corner of Ducie Street, the opposite end to Piccadilly Railway Station on the canal side. Food is served from weekdays Mon-Fri 7.00am-4pm and Saturdays 8.00am-1.30pm. Whether you are looking to start the day with a full English breakfast or a couple rounds of toast and a mug of tea or coffee, or you are looking to have a hot cooked meal for lunch or just a sandwich you will have plenty of choice as well as plenty of taste to satisfy the hungriest of customers!
Reviewed November 3, 2013

On a weekend trip to Manchester and popped in here on a Saturday morning and enjoyed the whole small, local, café experience along with our full English breakfast. Found the staff very welcoming, the café was clean, and the breakfast with mug of tea/coffee was delicious. Ordered some take-away sandwiches which were freshly prepared and kept in the fridge until we'd finished our breakfast. The owner chatted to us to ask where we'd come from and recommended some places to visit in Manchester, giving us a map to help us find our way round. Would certainly come here again for breakfast, lunch, take-away sandwich if back in Manchester.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GRFCGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

And they say the Southerners don't get on with the Northerners!

We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend in Manchester despite our weather. Being a family run business for nearly 25 years were very much aware how important it is to provide healthy wholesome hot and cold meals for long journeys as well as providing the same fayre for our local regular customers.

Thank you for taking the time to do a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Linda's Pantry
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 170 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I visited the cafe today with my 13yr old son. We shared a breakfast which was one of the best I've ever had. Mushrooms, egg and hash brown were the highlights! Staff very friendly even after my son dropped his coke on the floor. Can't understand some of the negative reviews about this place.

2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you every so much for your review as you know now from your own experience we cater for all our customers the long the short and the tall and that includes beautiful children who accidentally drop a drink on the floor. Our breakfasts are our speciality along with Homemade Pies, Chips, peas and gravy, Homemade Chilli or Chicken Curry Rice and Chips and Homemade Carrot or Victoria Sponge Cake... So know you know you can have any of the above or you can come back again and have the breakfast you enjoyed last time. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

this is one of the worst unhealthy meals I have ever had. Please canned food is not homecooked unless you are the worst cook possible. went straight from the airport to here because it was number 1. Horrible mistake paid 2 lbs for a parking place for a 3 lb. meal in a grotty area, not at all near the center. Difficult to find even with a sat-nav. I feel like asking trip advisor for my money back. Filled with teenagers whom I am sure wrote the good reviews as a joke.If you make this your first meal in the Uk you will think they are still back in the 1960's. Please put this place in the bottom of your list. In all my travels this is the one time trip advisor failed us and ruined the first morning of our trip. Good place for cheapskates and even then the food is not worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank worldtraveler77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your review despite the fact your experience didn't match your expectation of the cafe based on our customers reviews from all over the world. We have made it clear to Tripadvisor that we feel that we should not be classed as a restaurant as this can mislead customers into believing that they will experience something in their mind that will not match their reality. Tripadvisor did not put us at No.1, our wide ranging customers who come from a variety of different backgrounds Airline Pilots, Police Officers, Taxi Drivers, Plumbers, Heating Engineers, Secretary's, Journalists and the unemployed who keep coming back day after day, we even have Tourists from all over the world and our local regulars, all would disagree with your review which seems to support the argument that you can't argue over taste. Sometimes expectation leads more often than not to disappointment because what is one customers delight can invariable be to another customers distaste and as one famous philosopher said 'you can't argue over taste, taste is a preference not a right of expectation'. none the less we really did appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you really felt. Linda, Harry and the girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We'd had to be up early to drop off a hire van and Linda's was right next door, perfect! All the staff were amazingly friendly and it was refreshing for my friend and me to find somewhere where they were willing and happy to accommodate dietary requirements. Not to mention that the prices are very reasonable too! Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

2  Thank Enna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, but we have to be honest we open at 7am Monday to Friday and 8am on a Saturday morning. We are pleased to learn that we were able to meet your early to rise dietary requirements and we look forward to seeing you again in an afternoon where you can try one of our homemade specials like: lasagne, cheese and onion pie, steak and onion pie, braised steak with mash or chips, chicken curry rice and chips, steak Canadians, hot dogs, tuna and cheese spicey melt, chicken, bacon and cheese spicey melt and much more...many thanks once again Linda, Harry and the girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying in the area and have been here for the last two mornings for a bacon and egg bap. It was good. The service was friendly and the rest of the menu pretty extensive; the daily lunch specials looked pretty enticing and all seemed to be under £5. I think people complaining about Lynda's Pantry's elevated position on Trip Advisor are missing the point. People rate it highly because they enjoy it, not because they are comparing it to James Martin or the Lowry Hotel. I gave it four stars because I like the bacon a bit crispier. That's personal preference but there you are. For a proper cafe of the kind sadly lacking in a lot of city centres it's really good and I'd happily sit there for an hour with a paper and a hot pot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your review it is reassuring to read one of our customer reviews that fully understands what Linda's Pantry is all about. If we wanted one of our customers to write a review for us to clearly explain what we are about we would choose this review because it covers everything and anything there is to understand about our cafe. With love and best wishes Linda, Harry and the girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda's Pantry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Linda's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing