We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic, long lunch”
Review of Linda's Pantry

Linda's Pantry
Ranked #14 of 2,420 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A little Gem of a place! A traditional English cafe with a speciality for home-cooked food. Linda's Pantry has been serving hot and cold food to eat in or take away for over 24 years in the last remaining Coaching House in Manchester City Centre, situated on the corner of Ducie Street, the opposite end to Piccadilly Railway Station on the canal side. Food is served from weekdays Mon-Fri 7.00am-4pm and Saturdays 8.00am-1.30pm. Whether you are looking to start the day with a full English breakfast or a couple rounds of toast and a mug of tea or coffee, or you are looking to have a hot cooked meal for lunch or just a sandwich you will have plenty of choice as well as plenty of taste to satisfy the hungriest of customers!
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very busy, had to wait for a table so recommend you book if you can. Good homemade specials, best sautèd potatoes in Manchester

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eatyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear the date went well and even if it wasn't a date we are really pleased to realise that you would be bringing your date here. Hope to see you again soon. Linda, Harry and the girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a cafe serving cooked breakfasts , toasties etc, nothing wrong with that, but Manchesters best resturant ?? Had cup of tea and bacon roll, which was well a cup of tea and a bacon roll. Staff more interested in regulars than an unknown face. Nothing more to add

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks for your review and we are sorry that we didn't meet up to your high restaurant standards in comparison to our home-made food at affordable prices in our little cafe. We do hope you will try us again. Thanks again Linda, Harry and the girls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

very small cafe but well run very friendly staff cant see how its no1 tho had a full english breakfast which was nice the only thing wrong was the sausages cheap

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JILLSHAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments and we are currently looking into changing our sausage supplier, you are not the first customer to have noticed the change and we will be offering a higher quality sausage in the future. Our customers have made their comments and trip advisor in comparison to other cafes and restaurants have worked out we are No.1 and this is something that is causing us to want to improve our service even more and maintain our high standards of a cafe experience. Thanks again, Linda, Harry and the girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Been saying for years that this is the kind of place travellers should know about when they visit Manchester rather than generic restaurants that could be anywhere. This is homemade, down-to-earth, obesity-inducing delicious pie, gravy and chips heaven. It's very close to my office and always busy at lunch time - if you want the best stuff, get there early. You can't argue with it - a gem amongst greasy spoons everywhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank packthesuitcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and by the sounds of it your loyal custom. We really appreciate you taking the time to write down what you really think because we only found out about Trip advisor because my daughter mentioned that she uses it all the time when she travels and we are thankful to trip advisor because they have certainly put us on the map! Thanks again Linda, Harry and the girls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Went due to it being number 1 in Manchester and was expecting a tasty breakfast. Its simply a nice well run cafe. Staff v friendly but thats about it, sausages also tasted v cheap. Will go elsewhere next time, not worth the trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RobWhit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments with the sausages and we are looking into changing the supplier. Sorry that we did not measure up to what has been put into the reviews by customers who simply want quality food at affordable prices and we stand by this ethos because that is exactly what we are and we are not pretending to be a restaurant, we are a cafe and we are aware that some of our customers are expecting a different experience more akin to a restaurant experience which we are not. Linda, Harry and the girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda's Pantry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Linda's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing