We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a cracker!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linda's Pantry

Linda's Pantry
Ranked #138 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: A little Gem of a place! A traditional English cafe with a speciality for home-cooked food. Linda's Pantry has been serving hot and cold food to eat in or take away for over 24 years in the last remaining Coaching House in Manchester City Centre, situated on the corner of Ducie Street, the opposite end to Piccadilly Railway Station on the canal side. Food is served from weekdays Mon-Fri 7.00am-4pm and Saturdays 8.00am-1.30pm. Whether you are looking to start the day with a full English breakfast or a couple rounds of toast and a mug of tea or coffee, or you are looking to have a hot cooked meal for lunch or just a sandwich you will have plenty of choice as well as plenty of taste to satisfy the hungriest of customers!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a cracker!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As a group, we stumbled across this marvellous cafe completely by accident... Certainly a serendipitous event! The greeting was as warm as the tea and the conversation as generous as the helpings. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dc532574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you ever so much for brightening up our Saturday morning with your friendly dispositions. We were very pleased to offer you the finest food that Linda's Pantry offers all its customers and we hope to see you soon also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    30
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant cafe!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Came across this little cafe by accident and couldn't stay away. Great food and so cheap. All cooked to order. Really friendly and helpful staff. We had lunch there and liked it so much we went back for breakfast the following day. We even got REAL chips....delicious and we couldn't eat them all. Well worth a visit!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and glad you enjoyed your experience at our cafe. We appreciate you taking the time to fill in a review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Cheers All the staff at Linda's Pantry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manchester's little gem”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Linda's Pantry is one of the last remaining proper cafes in Manchester's city centre and for me it's the best. The choice is extensive, everything is homemade and the meals are great value. The pies, which are my favourite, are tremendous and the hand cut chips are truly awesome. The staff are all really friendly and the service is spot on and always very quick, no matter how busy they are. It's less than 5 minutes walk from Manchester Piccadilly train station and I always pop in whenever I get the chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bmc1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we are happy you enjoy our food and service. Our homemade pies are a favourite with many and we certainly value your custom. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Wholesome Food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

You can be assured of a wholesome meal, as good and if not better, as home cooked. It is amazing value for money. The staff are also wonderfully friendly, good humoured and make you feel most welcome, almost like family. The only negative point is that the male manager is a Man City supporter and really lets you know this! It is a very small cafe but comfortable and homely. It must be remembered that it is not a cordon bleu restaurant. It has a very regular clientèle. It serves great English food, home made soup and hand cooked chips made from fresh potatoes, not frozen chips.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Linda's Pantry, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your experience. Welook forward to your next visit to Linda's Pantry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda's Pantry also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Linda's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing