We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop talking to your friend and get my coffee.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Folk Cafe Bar

Folk Cafe Bar
Ranked #477 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, International, Healthy, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A casual cafe/dinner experience with friendly service, an original interior and a large covered terrace. Food is served all day with a menu ranging from the classics to more globally inspired dishes. If you're thirsty we have award winning coffees, craft beers, specially selected wines, boutique spirits and a range of interesting soft drinks.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stop talking to your friend and get my coffee.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Been several times and not ruling out trying again. I like the location. Two occasions wife ordered coffee. Well. Two girls just carry on gossiping and laughing ignoring me trying to order. Eventually. .
" we'll bring it outside for you"
Yeah right. Wasn't ever so busy. Eventually back In. The manager( I assume he was) saw me at the bar and didn't seem surprised at all it was forgotten by lacklustre staff. I suggest. New staff. He was very good though. I might go back this weekend. Idol curiosity. Just to see if they still there!
Shocking service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hfftgccxxde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    13
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place but not great soft drinks menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went here for a cool drink before wedding dress appointment but there was none of the usual soft drinks on offer e.g. Appeltiser, J2o and we ended up with cranberry and lemonade and orange with lemonade. Did the job but not very inspiring.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“awful service and food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I went to Folk with a friend for a Saturday early lunch. The service was very slow. The food took ages to arrive. My friends fry up was very dry and the bacon and sausage were extremely over cooked. My bread was dry and the butter to go with the pate had melted all over the plate and the pate was grey and not nice at all. We asked for 2 waters from the female waitress but they never came and so we had to go to the bar. Eventually we went up to the bar to pay and the waitress ignored us and carried chatting with her friend. It was very poor and I won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ameliarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great concept, service terrible !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Live locally and have visited 7/8 times for food / coffee etc and has been generally good and nice atmosphere. Went for the first time in the evening last night and had a shocking customer service experience. I bought a round of drinks for approx £30 and was ranted at by the batman for slowing him down and not putting my order in quick enough!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmoinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic bar in West Didsbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We moved to West Didsbury last September and Folk has become one of our favourite haunts. There's a chilled atmosphere and the staff are really friendly. You can have beer, wine or a selection of homemade cakes. The food is great - I would personally recommend the burger and chips. It is heavenly! They often have a DJ at weekends or bank holidays. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 3intrepidtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Folk Cafe Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Folk Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing