We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better quality Wetherspoon pub”
Review of The Milson Rhodes

The Milson Rhodes
Ranked #1,181 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: A family friendly Didsbury establishment, good food and great beer. We feature in the Good Beer Guide 2015
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Better quality Wetherspoon pub”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Im a fan of the Wetherspoon pubs all over UK. Mainly for the prices and offers they have on beer and food.
Milson Rhodes is just the same but a bit more up market as you would expect in Didsbury, now known as a posh area!
So, same offer but better than average surroundings.
Makes for a nice cheap night out. I will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank alanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMilsonRhodes, Manager at The Milson Rhodes, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
As i'm sure you know JD Wetherspoon prides itself on giving our customers the best experience for half the price of our competitors. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to your return thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    9
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super fish and chips”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We regulatly visit this Wetherspoon's pub for its steak night [on Tuesdays], however this time I visited on a Friday and in line with western theology JDW have a fish offer, so I ordered it. I was very pleasantly surprised to be served a very large "sustainable" piece of cod, cooked spot on, with the usual chips and peas. The low price included a drink to go with it.

All in all very good, with a food quality comparable to the former Burn's fish restaurant that used to be next door.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMilsonRhodes, Manager at The Milson Rhodes, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
I'm so glad to hear you enjoy both our steak tuesdays and fish fridays, the fish friday is a brilliant addition to the menu in the last few months proving very popular, maybe they will expand the menu for fish friday? Have you also tried our chicken club all day on a wednesday is it also a new addition. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Another South Manchester J D Wetherspoon!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Not much I can write about this pub; I don't usually eat here as my Cineworld Unlimited cards gives me discount on food at the Gateway just down the road but not at this one, however this one is slightly more upmarket than the Gateway and the alcoholic drinks are all the same price,

I would recommend this one to eat especially on the upper level if you don't have the Cineworld card or if the Gateway has run out of something and you are prepared to drive a short distance or walk 15-20 minutes. Beware that the car park next to the pub itself charges 24 hours a day (only very nominally though) however there is on-street parking nearby,

Overall a good addition to the Didsbury night and day scene!

Helpful?
1 Thank robbo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMilsonRhodes, Manager at The Milson Rhodes, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Here at The Milson Rhodes we like to think of ourselves as a hidden gem as we are based just off the hustle and bustle of Didsbury highstreet. We don't as of yet offer discount with cineworld cards but it is a great point to bring up as we can look into starting this in the new year. Thank you for your kind comments and maybe see you in the new year when we get the cineworld discount up and running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A fish and chip lunch”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Following a trip into Manchester, my wife and myself called into
The Milson Rhodes for lunch before going on to do our food
shopping. Having visited a Wetherspoon restaurant many times
previously, we knew that the food whilst not being gourmet fare,
was entirely acceptable, the crispy battered cod and the chips
were crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside, just as they
should be. The service was both friendly and acceptably prompt,
the only minor annoyance was that the drinks which were
ordered with our meal did not arrive without us having to remind
the staff, and finally going to the bar ourselves to secure the
drinks which were then brought to our table. This hiccup didn't
detract from the overall experience, which was as usual with
Wetherspoons, good value, friendly staff, with a generally,
pleasant atmosphere. If you've never tried a Wetherspoons
pub/restaurant before, it's worth trying and is recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidfarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMilsonRhodes, Manager at The Milson Rhodes, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
I'm glad to hear you had a lovely time with us despite a small hiccup, the food we serve here is great pub food which is enjoyed by many and we look forward to seeing you on your next shopping trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good fish and chips”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Came with low expectations and a hangover, left after some really good fish and chips. Crispy batter, decent portion of fish (bit light on chips) and friendly service. Not a gourmet experience but a very decent place to grab a quick bite of pub grub!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMilsonRhodes, Manager at The Milson Rhodes, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Im glad to hear we changed your opinion of us and enjoyed your experience with us, have you tried our fish friday deal? All day on a friday the fish and chips comes with a free drink for less than £6. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Milson Rhodes also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Milson Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing