We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Good Venue

Packed house for The Proclaimers last night. Lovely venue with a nice relaxed feel. Great views... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
drooguk
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Rebus Long Shadows

A lovely ornate theatre in Manchester. On this occasion we had seats in row F in the stalls and had... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Janet H
,
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Read all 902 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Manchester
from $15.80
More Info
from $46.00
More Info
from $22.40
More Info
from $15.80
More Info
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveler rating
441
260
93
49
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
260
93
49
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock of ages great production last night singing and dancing special effects traditional theatre matinee performance story line interval drinks box office ladies toilets expensive drinks front row great seats great night great atmosphere panto
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to see the Proclaimers on Sunday...Show was fantastic,venue old and full of history.
The bar prices however are nothing short of a disgrace..£6.50 for a bottle of beer....
My advice is use the local pubs and bars near to the venue and rock up at 7.20pm.

Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Packed house for The Proclaimers last night. Lovely venue with a nice relaxed feel. Great views from anywhere and excellent acoustics. Phantom bar very nice but not cheap, plenty of staff but only one of them doing any work (Emily). Front of house staff didn’t seem to be very happy in their work to be honest. Maybe it’s all getting a bit tired and it’s time for a revamp?

Thank drooguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely ornate theatre in Manchester. On this occasion we had seats in row F in the stalls and had a great view of the stage. The seats are reasonably comfy and the legroom is adequate. This play does not come from one of Ian Rankin's books and has been written for the stage and depicts a time after Rebus has retired from the police force. The production was most professional and the acting, particularly by Charles Lawson was very good - he was on stage virtually all the time! There are plenty of twists and turns to keep your attention for the 2 hours. The programme price is comparable with other theatres. My bugbear about this theatre is the ladies facilities which are inadequate. Overall a lovely afternoon.

Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Let it be, the show was a treat for all Beatles fans. Added to the feel of nostalgia with the original news footage and events of the time played on screens in the background.
The theatre is old and the seats are not very comfortable, very small. The bar prices as previously stated are extortionate!.
But the show was brilliant so all in all a very good night.

Thank LindaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival staff were helpful and friendly ordered the blues box but probably wouldn’t have it again as you can get it on site cheaper than pre-order.
Went to the stalls bar and Ray was great very friendly and great to chat too!
Show was brilliant would return if something else was on there we liked

Thank 224Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A tired theatre with small uncomfortable seats.
Having to spend £27 on two glasses of wine, one coke, one beer and a tub of crisps was the final nail in the coffin lid!
Sort your bar prices out please and stop ripping off the public!

Thank lLevidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice central venue, comfortable seating and good acoustics. However the extortionate price of drinks and the unpleasant smell from toilets/sewers really spoils the experience.

1  Thank LisaMc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great gig at the Opera House in Manchester by the great Richard Thompson, lovely ornate theatre with a great view from the circle. Nothing more to add other than my sheer disgust at the £6.50 for a bottle of gas induced bottle of Black Sheep, no price list visible and my sheer dismay when paying. Spoilt a great gig and ensures that I will never be ripped off for beverages at a gig again. Well done Opera House management for spoiling a great evening! I won't mention the £14 charge for a three and a half hour stay for parking! Jubilant but disgusted at an example of rip off Britain in action. Would love a comment from the management but unfortunately that won't happen!

Thank TimeTraveller8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely venue for a gig - not too large and good visibility from all seats, even towards the rear of the stalls. Conveniently situated near Deansgate and plenty of restaurants around. Within walking distance of the Marriott Hotel, so no problems with parking. Very central.

Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to see Paul Smith on Friday night.
The act itself was amazing but my eyes were burning towards the end from trying to watch him on stage.

We were In the Gallery & having never visited the Opera House before I was r sure what to expect. When we arrived we chose to get a drink & a few snacks before we went to our seats. That was quite expensive for the little we had. When we finally found out seats after climbing a million steps I honestly felt like I was on the ceiling. It was so steep !! The seats are very snug indeed , you get very comfortable with whoever your seated next too that’s for sure.

If we were to visit again I’d definitely sit lower down.

1  Thank Becka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews