We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe good for drinks, not so much food”
Review of Neighbourhood

Neighbourhood
Ranked #237 of 2,252 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An all day New York inspired eatery & bar serving Manhattan's interpretation of international cuisine alongside bespoke cocktails.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe good for drinks, not so much food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I'm interested by the mix of reviews here. Our experience was quite poor.
We arrived without a booking, and were first asked to wait ten minutes; all being very hungry when a table in the bar area was offered we took it. This immediately led to the first issue that, being out of the way, it was nearly impossible to get service. We waited so long trying to flag down a waiter or waitress that eventually we managed to pull over a member of staff lighting candles. I wonder that if she had not passed we wold have been waiting much longer.
There were a couple of issues with our orders (drinks forgotten, main accidentally brought out with the starters), but the larger issue with service was the long periods of waiting. Even when the bill was asked for it was over ten minutes until someone brought it over.
The starters incurred a long wait, and the mains even longer (admittedly this may be because they were re-cooking the sliders they brought out at the wrong time), which particularly seemed strange as it was well after lunchtime and there were few others eating.
This, of course, could all be forgiven if the food was great, but it wasn't. The Chicken Lollipop starter was fine, but the Lobster Tacos wasted a great ingredient by smothering it in a thick batter, meaning they tasted of nothing but grease and a little lime. The Sliders were also fine, but the chips were a little burnt, while the Lobster Mac & Cheese was void of taste. The Boar Ragu, meanwhile, was over-cooked and dry, tasting of tomato and nothing else. Generally ad apparently similar to the decor, style valued over substance.
The bill came to the £70/80 mark; not bad but for the same price or less you can be fed and treated better elsewhere (e.g. almost everywhere in the Northern Quarter). Others who were drinking seemed to be enjoying themselves, so perhaps this is more of a after-work drinks venue. Maybe I would return to try that, but you won't catch us coming here again hungry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    202
    131
    73
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and a nice addition to Spinningfields.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited Neighbourhood for lunch on a Saturday as we'd read good reviews and it was somewhere new to try. We booked a table for lunch without a problem.

We had a warm greeting on arrival and were shown table down some steps towards the back of the restaurant. At 15:30 on a Saturday and there was quite a buzz in the air, and the place was pretty full.

We were requested to be seated in a booth, which was a great spot for people watching out of the large windows. The service was quick and attentive, if not a little pushy at times.

I opted for a club sandwich and my partner opted for a salad, both of our dishes were delicious and will definitely be the main draw for us to return. There looks like there was some delicious cocktails on offer, but we both stuck to Asahi.

The prices were generally fine, and a light lunch for two came to around £35. However, considering it was lunch for a table of two a 10% (discretionary, apparently) service charge was added. Odd.

Overall we had a good experience, the place tries desperately hard to be somewhere and something that it's not- but that's what you expect in Spinningfields.

I would definitely eat at Neighbourhood again and I would recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danhnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosmopolitan venue for food or just drinks”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Vibrant & lively atmosphere. Stylish venue - upmarket/opulent but relaxed feel to the place. We were seated down towards the bottom of the restaurant in a lovely round booth.

Shared the artisan board with friend for starters - would have been too much to have to self - very tasty. Hubbys had the scallops & lobster tacos - both very tasty too.

Main courses - 2 of us went for the fillet steaks - cooked to perfection, one for the hamburger & one for the chicken thighs - all excellent.

Deserts - the crumble & box of donuts - delish !!

Presentation of the food was stunning throughout. Service top notch without being OTT. Cocktails were excellent - different to the norm - but they're happy to make the more traditional favourites if desired.

A tad on the pricey side, but high quality & would definitely return. Only slight spoiler was that the music was bit on the loud side for so early in the evening and hampered conversation slightly. But any venue that plays old school Talking Heads gets a massive thumbs up from me !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TEQUILAMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad Cocktails”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had cocktails at the bar 2 Long Island ice teas and 2 mojito.£30 for 4 glasses of bad ice The bar man even made the mojito a again and still as bad.Total contempt.
Although this is a trendy place at the moment there are lots of better places to go to in Manchester
Leave well alone until they have bar staff that know their trade.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Has potential if loses pretensions”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal here with my partner on Friday evening. Despite pre-booking we were initially seated in the bar area below a loud speaker. Once we requested it, we were relocated although this was below stairs where staff congregated.

Some of the food like the meat ragu tasted mediocre but they were careful on the pass to check they were sending out well presented food.

There seemed too many staff milling around, eg- there were 5 glamourous young women hosting at the door in painful heels wobbling around carrying drinks etc.
I think this place was trying too hard to be cutting edge, the drinks seemed over priced and overall it was pretentious. This place has a lot to learn to secure a vibe like pollen street social.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GFGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neighbourhood also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Neighbourhood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing