We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but no kettle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #65 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room was spotless, but rather stark in design.
The only thing missing was a kettle!
The shower was in the room, but powerful and spacious.
Handy for the station, but the area around the hotel is a work in progress.
All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay. Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms are not included in the budget package, but are available 24 hours from the lounge area downstairs.
I am very pleased you felt your overall stay was value for money and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

When you book an Ibis or Ibis Budget you know what to expect and most times you won't be dissapointed. But there is one that messes with my head: why their rules regarding internet and lockers change so often? Been to there hotels in UK, FR, BR and sometimes the internet is free, sometimes not, sometimes the lockers are free, sometimes they aren't.
But ok, we can deal with that. Regarding this specific hotel now. New and quite interesting building, rooms as expected and hey, a CHROMOTHERAPY shower! It looked quite cheesy to have colour LEDs on your shower but they actually are relaxing and fun. Try it with the lights out.
The bad part of this hotel is the location. As a budget traveller who will do anything but get in a cab, I walked with my girlfriend from the coach station to the hotel at around 19 pm in the summer. It was an AWKWARD ride through Adair St. where we saw prostitutes, possible clients and nothing else - other than us with our cabin sized luggage. So the tip is: either get the Metrolink, a cab or if you wanna walk, head to Great Ancoats St. with any street other than Adair.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuilhermeAppolinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

As with any big city, there will be some streets/routes that are deemed less attractive.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the centre, but offers a number of direct routes to chose from.
The reception team will happily provide you with a city map, and/or route maps for the direct transport available from the door step of the hotel into the heart of the centre.

I'm very pleased you enjoyed the mood lighting in the showers and hope that you will consider us for future visits to Manchester.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

If you can find a fault with this hotel you need your head checking, I paid £42 a night for city centre accommodation inc breakfast, per room an absolute bargain!

The rooms are clean and spacious, and have everything you'd want inc air con and an ace shower that glows bright green (the shower is in the room with the bedroom) plenty of plus sockets and comfy but firm beds!

The hotel itself is spacious, modern and clean

The breakfast is continental with a vast selection plus all the hot drinks & fruit juices you can drink!

The manager Frederic (I think that's his name) is a credit to the hotel, he's friendly, funny and helped me learn French :D

I could not find one fault, this is described as a budget hotel but I genuinely don't think it is, it's better than Travelodges & Premier Inns!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dothecharchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and features within the room.
I'm also glad you were pleased with the unlimited buffet breakfast and would recommend us as a 'good value' choice. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

(Heureux d'avoir ete votre source d'inspiration francaise durant votre sejour!)

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank lisacresswell2003
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect for such a low price (53e for a 3 night stay) but was pleasantly surprised. Room is basic and very small but the location is great, 10 mins from the city centre would defo recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AoifeT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving a review and for recommending us to others. It's great to hear you were pleasantly surprised with the hotel and felt we were in a good location.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Resa91
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is not much to say other than it was a wonderful stay. The reason I chose the budget hotel was that I was not intending spending much time there and therefore only needed the very basics. And that's what we had. The room was more than adequate for what we needed (two beds, a shower and lavatory).
Perhaps they could have more options for breakfast such as soya milk (I'm a vegan) etc but I'm sure if I were to have asked beforehand they would have supplied it.. Also the shower tended to flood the floor by its door but nothing more than a used towel to deal with.
The service was friendly and informative and the atmosphere was one of general pleasantness/calmness. All in all it was a very good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AJScouting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and compliments. I'm delighted to hear you felt the hotel catered for eveything you needed and you were happy with the service you received.

I'm sorry the breakfast did not meet your requirements; all items delivered to us are standard throughout the Ibis Budget brand. Should you chose to stay with us again and would like to keep any special dietary products refrigerated, we will more than happy to do that for you.

Once again, I'm happy you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 121 in Manchester
1,765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
#64 of 121 in Manchester
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#28 of 121 in Manchester
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $38 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing