We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
brummie
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last night. Very spacious for a budget hotel. it's a new hotel for the brand and they have made lots of amendments. Thick comfortable mattresses. Touch button lighting over the bed etc. The walls seem thicker than in other ibis budget (formerly Etap) and this hotel room very quiet. Good welcome on reception.

Room Tip: Large family rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummieGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to feed back.. I'm very pleased that you were impressed with the design features in your room and had a comfortable stay. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Frederic Dumont
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    543
    307
    123
    86
See reviews for
224
373
164
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stay at the new Hotel Ibis over the Christmas period (six nights)and had a excellent experience.
The hotel is easy enough to find and if you know the area will realise that you are just 10 Min's walk from Manchester city centre or Piccadilly train station.
The hotel is obviously the budget version of the Ibis group and you pay for what you get. But saying that I found the decor of the rooms and of the hotel pleasing and comfortable.
I would wholeheartedly recommend staying here if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head but as long as your of a practical type, who can do without luxuries and room service.
Be aware though that the hotel has a policy of no parking and expect you to park your car for any length of time at a pay and display car park (£2 for 12 hours currently) which I find ridiculas for a hotel not slap bang in the city centre. I however knew the area and found spaces further up Pollard street to park. Also the rooms do not have tea making facilities you can purchase this kind of stuff in the lobby. So if you can, play it smart and bring your own kettle as i did. Those two items are the only things I will grumble about as my experience overall was a pleasant one.
There is a newly opened Costa coffee establishment very close by which a god send really because despite the reception selling a small selection of items its just not enough.
I never had the breakfast so I cannot comment.
So if your looking for a place to stay to visit the Man City stadium this location is perfect, or if your in town for shopping or a night out you could do a lot worse than stay here.

PS please bare in mind that this hotel is great while its new, I cannot however guarantee its cleanlness or quality in a year from now!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for leaving feed back on your stay with us. I am really pleased the facilities met your expectations and you would recommend the hotel to others.
It is great to hear that we were a good choice for access to the Ethiad Stadium and the City Centre.
We can assure you that although the building will inevitably age, it is of prime importance to us that the standard of the hotel is maintained.
The team and I look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here the weekend the hotel opened. The room was basic, with the shower opening into the room and the toilet basically being in a cupboard, but for the price you cannot go wrong. The hotel is a bit out of the city centre but we walked it all bar two of the nights in our four night stay and whilst the area is not great we never felt unsafe. Even if you got taxis everywhere you would probably still be saving money. Room was cleaned every day and the staff were super helpful, there were a few teething problems with our room which were all sorted quickly and with a cheery smile. Because the hotel is cheap and cheerful it does attract quite a rowdy crowd but our room was quiet and the staff seemed prepared for to deal with anyone who took it too far. We parked down the road in some free parking but there were plenty of pay per day car parks in the vicinity. When the Metrolink right outside opens this hotel will be even better value. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: If there are only two of you book a double room - the triples may be bigger but you might start to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beer_Girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. My team and I very much appreciate your kind words and I'm extremely pleased to hear you were happy with the service you received.
We are looking forward to the metrolink opening very shortly, it will be great to offer you and our guests an extra means of transport. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Frederic Dumont
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Didnt expect much. Stayed in an etap before and expected the same. This brand new hotel is soooo much better. More modern, nice decor, bigger shower. Ideal for a "get your head down" after a night out! Will be stopping there again!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments, we appreciate all feedback. I'm very pleased the hotel exceeded your expectations. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Frederic Dumont
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of December when we were in Manchester for a show. By the time we were looking for somewhere to stay, most hotels were fully booked apart from very expensive suites for £200+. This was the only hotel we could find with any rooms for a cheap price. It was very cheap and we knew we weren't expecting anything special. Firstly we found it hard to find on foot, it's a bit of a walk away from the centre. When we checked in, we had to go back to reception as the key cards we were given didn't work. The room is incredibly basic, more like a hostel than a hotel with a toilet with a door but the shower and sink in the room itself. The beds were comfy and overall we were satisfied with our stay. I would book again under the same circumstances but would much prefer to stay somewhere a little more central and nicer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gratedunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit.
It is unfortunate you had difficulty in finding the hotel, please feel free to call reception and we'll be happy to advise you on a quicker alternative for the future.
Being part of the Ibis Budget family, our facilities are designed in line with our budget rates.
I’m glad you were satisfied with your stay overall and that you would chose to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We like other recent reviews stayed here as the hotel had just opened so it was very clean but our room was freezing when we first arrived and the heating took a while to work which of course we put down to the fact it hadn't previously been used. Once turned on for a while it heated our room well.

The room was cheap and well located as far as the city centre is concerned.

Despite being on a main road, we weren't disturbed by the noise from traffic at all.

We had deliberatley booked a family room as it was advertised as having a double bed, a bunk bed and a sofa bed; ideal for us, a group of 3 friends one of who was heavily pregnant. This is not what we got; there was no sofa bed and none of the rooms have sofa beds (we were told) so don't be fooled by the quite frankly false description of the room as we were!

The shower is effectively in the room itself with a partially frosted glass door so if you're not "that" close to the person you're sharing with, this may not be an ideal situation.

If you are looking for practicality over luxury this is the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernmonkey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for posting your feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
I have taken note of your comments regarding the Sofa Bed. Unfortunately, they were not available at the opening of the Hotel but the Sofa Beds should be added in our Family Rooms Rooms very soon.
I hope we can welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel opened on Monday and we checked in on Saturday. On arrival check in was quick and we were given keys to the rooms in the brand new hotel. Once inside the room everything was brand new and shining. The rooms were moderate size, very clean, good bed and with free WiFi. Hotel is a 10min walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station. The staff were friendly and very helpful. There are no ironing or kettle facilities in the room. I knew this beforehand and carried my own tea bags (specific brand) the reception staff were more than happy to boil me a cup of water to take away in the room. They have a ironing room next to the reception where you can iron your clothes. We did not try the breakfast at the hotel but it seemed good value for all you can eat. Instead we went to Vivid Lounge across the road and they did good quality full english. If you are on a budget and all you need is a good quality,clean accommodation. This hotel is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Carry your own toiletries as you will only be supplied with a small bar of soap in the room. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theflyingsikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Hotel.
As mentionned, we do not have Tea/Coffee facilities in our Rooms but you can purchase Hot Drinks from Reception at any time as we are open 24 hours.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing