We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of December when we were in Manchester for a show. By the time we were looking for somewhere to stay, most hotels were fully booked apart from very expensive suites for £200+. This was the only hotel we could find with any rooms for a cheap price. It was very cheap and we knew we weren't expecting anything special. Firstly we found it hard to find on foot, it's a bit of a walk away from the centre. When we checked in, we had to go back to reception as the key cards we were given didn't work. The room is incredibly basic, more like a hostel than a hotel with a toilet with a door but the shower and sink in the room itself. The beds were comfy and overall we were satisfied with our stay. I would book again under the same circumstances but would much prefer to stay somewhere a little more central and nicer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gratedunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit.
It is unfortunate you had difficulty in finding the hotel, please feel free to call reception and we'll be happy to advise you on a quicker alternative for the future.
Being part of the Ibis Budget family, our facilities are designed in line with our budget rates.
I’m glad you were satisfied with your stay overall and that you would chose to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    469
    251
    94
    68
See reviews for
185
315
143
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We like other recent reviews stayed here as the hotel had just opened so it was very clean but our room was freezing when we first arrived and the heating took a while to work which of course we put down to the fact it hadn't previously been used. Once turned on for a while it heated our room well.

The room was cheap and well located as far as the city centre is concerned.

Despite being on a main road, we weren't disturbed by the noise from traffic at all.

We had deliberatley booked a family room as it was advertised as having a double bed, a bunk bed and a sofa bed; ideal for us, a group of 3 friends one of who was heavily pregnant. This is not what we got; there was no sofa bed and none of the rooms have sofa beds (we were told) so don't be fooled by the quite frankly false description of the room as we were!

The shower is effectively in the room itself with a partially frosted glass door so if you're not "that" close to the person you're sharing with, this may not be an ideal situation.

If you are looking for practicality over luxury this is the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernmonkey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for posting your feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
I have taken note of your comments regarding the Sofa Bed. Unfortunately, they were not available at the opening of the Hotel but the Sofa Beds should be added in our Family Rooms Rooms very soon.
I hope we can welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel opened on Monday and we checked in on Saturday. On arrival check in was quick and we were given keys to the rooms in the brand new hotel. Once inside the room everything was brand new and shining. The rooms were moderate size, very clean, good bed and with free WiFi. Hotel is a 10min walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station. The staff were friendly and very helpful. There are no ironing or kettle facilities in the room. I knew this beforehand and carried my own tea bags (specific brand) the reception staff were more than happy to boil me a cup of water to take away in the room. They have a ironing room next to the reception where you can iron your clothes. We did not try the breakfast at the hotel but it seemed good value for all you can eat. Instead we went to Vivid Lounge across the road and they did good quality full english. If you are on a budget and all you need is a good quality,clean accommodation. This hotel is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Carry your own toiletries as you will only be supplied with a small bar of soap in the room. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theflyingsikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Hotel.
As mentionned, we do not have Tea/Coffee facilities in our Rooms but you can purchase Hot Drinks from Reception at any time as we are open 24 hours.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Bartolomea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

A purpose built, new hotel with (almost) everything you need for a simple low cost stay very near the centre of Manchester. We enjoyed the banter with the staff, who did everything they could to help even when the car parking arrangements didn't work out, and we ended up with a fine of £100, which the hotel sorted out for us.
The only problem was the sign in the shower saying bathmats could be had from reception and be careful not to slip. We thought this was entertaining (we had already asked for a bathmat as we obviously needed one), but when the next guest came down to complain that she had fallen in the shower, it wasn't so funny. They definitely need to change their policy on this.
Anyway at £28 for 2 (or even 3) it was great value. Breakfast was extra obviously and good value at £4.?? - the coffee was better than in many more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a bathmat when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valpolicella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Dumont_6943, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am happy to hear that the Team did help you as much as they could with the issue regarding the Car Park and that the situation was sorted quickly.
I have also taken note of your feedback regarding the Bath Mats. Please note that an extra sign will be added in order to inform guests better.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street

Property: Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Address: 2 Pollard Street, Manchester M4 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing